We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iontach/Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Ranked #2 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Iontach/Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Áit bheag ghalánta cois Loch Deirgeirte, lán de chroí, cuideachta is cuidiú, gan a lua an fáilte mór cairdiúil atá ag fanacht ar bhur gcuairt.
A lovely little welcoming place on the banks of Loch Derg, full of heart, character & company, not to mention the sincere welcome waiting you on your visit.
Great location & hospitality, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orfhlaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Hi Orthlaith, Thank you so much for your bi lingual great comments, you're very good to take the time to do it. We enjoyed having you stay & hopefully see you again when you're not working so hard the next time!! Best wishes & Slán Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
43
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
monaghan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Me and 6 cyclists friends wanted to stay in Mountshannon for 2 nights so we came across the Hawthorns B&B. From the moment we booked it i looked forward to staying because of the warm friendliness of the B&B owner. We werent dissapointed, when we arrived we were made to feel at home by the warm atmosphere.
Excellent breakfast both mornings, great value as well. We wished we could have stayed longer and are already planning our next stay! We had 2 great nights out in the local pubs which also serve great food and drink at great prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankburkemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Hi Frank, Thanks for the lovely review, we really enjoyed having you all & the lads were great craic for the weekend. I'm glad the weather was good too for your cycle around Lough Derg here. Our pubs always have something lively going on & the grub is good value as you said. Looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future! Ursula & Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at the Hawthorne lodge just for the one night but I wish I had decided to stay longer. It was the warmest and welcoming of B&B's I have ever stayed in and would highly recommend. The breakfast was fantastic, the home made brown bread was yummy and also the local surroundings/countryside are the real Ireland. If you want to get away and relax here is the place to do just that. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10LLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thanks so much for your great review - it was a pleasure having you here and I enjoyed our chat over the breakfast especially - as you said it's lovely to get away even if its just for a night!
Take care of yourself & looking forward to meeting you again!! Ursula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichtrach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Whilst travelling through Ireland we stumbled accross Hawthorn Lodge. This b+b far exceeded any other b+b we visited. In addition to the excellent breakfast, friendly hospitality and cleanliness we had grown used to in other lodgings, Hawthorne Lodge had that extra edge e.g. internet access, hairdryer in the room, space and stylish quality furnishings. We would totally recommend anyone considering visiting this area to plan a stay here. Daniel and Helen (Switzerland)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this glowing review - I couldnt have asked for better.I know your stay was short but I'm so glad that you enjoyed it so much. Best wishes & hope to see you both again in the not to distant future! Ursula & Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Me and my father in law recently stayed at hawthorn lodge on a buisness trip and we was blown away by how friendly and welcoming everybody was. We couldn't fault anything the bedrooms were comfortable,warm,and clean , the breakfast was the best iv'e had egg bacon sausage beans toast you name it it was all there. would recommend anyone to stay here it was lovely and ursla made it feel like home from home keep up the good work ursla . Adam and Iain from england x

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamormy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Hiya, Thanks so much for the great review, it was my pleasure to have met you both - your a tonic in the mornings - always smiling & joking! I look forward to seeing you & your family again in Mountshannon some day! Best wishes, Ursula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Alas, we could stay for one night only in this lovely guest house. Wwarm welcome from Ursula, beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable beds, huge, delicious breakfast. What more could anyone want? Cannot comment on kids as we were adults only. We will certainly recommend it and will return if in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulaCoClare, Owner at Hawthorn Lodge B & B, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi. Thank you both for the great & very detailed review. We're so glad that you really enjoyed your stay with us as we enjoyed having you here. We look forward to seeing you again next year or whenever you will be returning to Mountshannon. Best wishes & take care, Ursula & Noel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

arrived very late and still made feel very welcome. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Food was lovely and lots of it. thanx for a lovely stay. couldn't have got a better service in a 5 star hotel!! John & Mary

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhegDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.9 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glocca Morra B&B
Glocca Morra B&B
#1 of 1 in Ogonnelloe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.2 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
15.5 mi away
Hillview House Bed & Breakfast Clare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Lodge B & B

Property: Hawthorn Lodge B & B
Address: R352, Mountshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4*Failte Irl Approved & TripAdvisor Excellence 2016 Awarded, family run child & pet friendly B&B with 3 spacious bedrooms (all en-suite), free WiFi, TVs, tea/coffee/biscuits, power showers & hairdryers, etc. Private car park & large garden area. Only 1 km from Mountshannon with a great variety of restaurants & good value lively pubs. There's a bird's eye view of the rare White Tailed Sea Eagles at our harbour! Fishing, sailing, golfing, East Clare walkways, horse riding, pitch & putt & heritage investigation also available. An ideal base for touring East/West Clare, Galway, Limerick or Tippearary. Only 40 minutes from Shannon Airport & 2 hrs from Dublin or Cork. Looking forward to showing you what a real Irish welcome is like. Best value around - ring or email for quote! Ursula ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hawthorn Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing