We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely property, beautiful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Mountshannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely property, beautiful breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Thankyou Vera. Loved our stay with you very much. We stayed the night in Mountshannon on May 4th as I was tracing my Irish Ancestry that had its roots back there, and the revues on Trip Advisor helped me chose this B&B. A good selection. Nice room, and lovely breakfast room and breakfast. Even had my first try of blackpudding. Would love to stay again if passing through

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Julie & Tony, Thanks a million for taking the time to review our B&B. It's good that you were able to trace some of your roots back to this area. Maybe someday you will come back again.
All the best, Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
46
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Happy to highly recommend this B&B. No steps. Our room was clean, comfortable and had good wi-fi access. Service was friendly, helpful, but not intrusive. Very good advice regarding dinner options. Lovely breakfast. Thank you Vera ... hope to return with time to explore the beautiful district:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you were happy staying with us. Some guests do like that we do have downstairs bedrooms. Saves on dragging all the luggage up stairs!
Next time your in this area we would love if you stayed with us again. Thank you, Vera & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Five hundred metres out of the village of Mountshannon is the best B&B breakfast cook we have ever experienced. Vera bakes her own bread, knows how to poach an egg and provides quality muesli. But breakfast isn't everything! The rooms are clean. The house is well located, the family are friendly and informative and the village is central to so much in the area. We loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hi David & Jill, It was a pleasure having you both stay. Thank you for your great review. I hope Jill got a chance to try out making the brown bread recipe that I gave her. I'm sure it will be every bit as nice as the bread I make. All the best, Vera, Joe, Sean & Oisin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Sunrise while visiting relatives nearby. The whole experience was very, very good from the warm welcome by Vera, through the "full Irish" in the morning and the very confortable room for a peaceful night's sleep. Would highly recommend a stay here if you want to visit one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. One tip - if you are intending to walk into the village at night, take a torch. The road is not too long but VERY dark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnH186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time out to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Ireland. Best wishes, Vera & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caledonia, ny
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Has to be the most helpful landlady in Ireland! Helped us arrange boat trip and even though we had checked out came down to the pier to bring us some materials on other attractions we had mentioned. Lovely, quiet facility and outstanding friendly service! Vera's B and B is an ecxcellent place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. I'm sure you also enjoyed the boat trip and tour of Holy Island that you took from Mountshannon Harbour. Best regards, Vera & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Thanks to hard-working Vera and her family, we had a terrific stay at Sunrise B & B. Vera and Family provide their guests with an excellent traditional Irish breakfast served in a warm, well-appointed sun room overlooking a wide green field above the nearby lake. Sunrise offers a suitable amount of clean guest room space and--again thanks mostly to Vera--a hearty measure of good old-fashioned Irish craic. We felt right at home. From here you can easily walk downhill to the the local pubs or to a decent meal at the town's highly rated restaurant. We stayed in Mountshannon in part to attend the nearby Feakle Traditional Irish Music Festival (a genuine regional Irish experience not to be missed) but also to visit some of the nearby villages and sights. Sunrise makes a great home base for travelers with a car who wish to explore East Clare, a region that is somewhat off the usual beaten tourist path (thank goodness). If you want to experience a bit of the "real" Ireland, Sunrise B & B is a great spot to call home for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinnick4Ever64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review. I'm so glad that you both enjoyed your stay here at Sunrise B&B.
We really enjoyed getting to know you both during your few days here. Thank you for emailing the pictures you took of all of us together, they are really nice. Hope next time your back in Ireland you will stay with us again. All the best to you both. Vera, Joe, Sean & Oisin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband, 21-year-old daughter, and I stayed with Vera for two nights and had a lovely stay. We have family in the area, so the location was convenient, but the area was lovely and I would definitely recommend Sunrise to others. Vera was very welcoming and warm, showed us to our room then came back a few minutes later to make sure we had all we needed, and to see what we wanted for breakfast. The B&B was well-marked from the road, a short walk to town, and had wireless. The sunroom and our bedroom were both comfortable and well-appointed. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrisebnb, Owner at Sunrise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was great meeting you all and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Co. Clare. Best wishes, Vera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.5 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glocca Morra B&B
Glocca Morra B&B
#1 of 1 in Ogonnelloe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.6 mi away
East Clare Golf Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Address: Mountshannon | Co. Clare, Mountshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mountshannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning 4 star Bed & Breakfast.Ideally situated a stones throw away from the beautiful lakeside village of Mountshannon, renowned for it's natural beauty and a winner of the National Tidy Town award. Enjoy panoramic views from our family run B&B overlooking Lough Derg and the Arra Mountains.Lough Derg is now the home of White Tailed Sea Eagles who made history in 2013 when their 2 eaglets successfully fledged the nest in the wild for the first time in over 110 years in Ireland. These magnificent birds can be viewed from Mountshannon Harbour/Marina which is a five minute walk from our B&B. Sunrise B&B is located in a peaceful rural setting. Good choice of Restaurants and pubs with traditional music and dancing on chosen nights. Generously sized en-suite bedrooms ensuring a comfortable and relaxing stay. Ground floor bedroom available. A varied choice of breakfast available served in an air conditioned conservatory with unrivaled panoramic views over Lough Derg,the Arra Mountains and the rural Countryside. Coeliac diets catered to along with most dietary needs given prior notice. Located locally is Holy Island one of Irelands most famous monastic sites which has a well preserved round tower.Sunrise B&B is located on-route to the East Clare Way. Base yourself at Sunrise and Vera and her family will help you to plan your day trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunrise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing