We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountshannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Holiday Park
Sneem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for a week in August and had an incredible time. Our party consisted of many kids and adults alike. There were ages ranging from 85 down to 10 weeks and there was something for everyone. The accomodation is top class, clean and cosy, the amenities (toilets, showers etc) are second to none and the staff were the most friendly and helpful people you could meet. Toilets and showers were cleaned about 4 times a day! :)

The location and views on Lough Derg are stunning and you're only a short walk, cycle or canoe ride from the lovely village of Mountshannon. The lake is also excellent for swimming and there's even a diving board which the kids (and myself) loved!

The tent pitches were lovely and spacious with alot of shelter and ample lighting for getting around at night, campfires were allowed with permission.

Mobile homes are luxurious and spacious, better than any hotel in my opinion. They were well equipped with oven, fridge, TV, sink, shower and toilet. Also, a large lounge area for entertaining!

The camper van spots are nicely dotted around the park, the one we were using was right on the lakeshore and it was lovely to see the lake in the morning and hear the waves lapping gently on the shore at night. There are some midges but as long as you light a fire or candle they shouldnt be a problem.

Great walkways and forest paths for the kids to cycle, also a tennis court and soccer pitch. Motor boats, row boats and canoes for rental on the lake.

This was our second extended family holiday there and we'll definately be back next year.

Thank you to Thomas and all the staff for their hospitality which was second to none as always.

Monica O Shea

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSneem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    15
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
488 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed here for one night during a cycling trip i was doing and it was amazing.
The staff at the reception were really helpful and friendly. I was camped down by the lake and the view across Lough Derg was incredible, especially at sunset.
The toilets were all very clean, as were the showers. There was free use of a campers kitchen which had hobs and an oven. There were also a building for doing washing and also another building for washing up dishes etc.
You could rent rowing boats, canoes, motor boats from the campsite for very reasonable prices.
I recommend swimming in the lake, it is really nice and not too cold surprisingly. Also there are lots of ladders and steps into the water making it a perfect swimming location for all ages.
There are a lot of midges in the area so make sure to pack insect repellent.
Overall i loved this campsite and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Arrived on a Friday afternoon and was surprised to see alot of tents / caravans were already there. I was very surprised to see so many Irish campers. We drove around to find the right spot and picked a good spot. The campsites were plentiful even though alot of tents were up by the time we got there. The facilities were great, toilets, showers, campers kitchen, laundry room and wash up room. The grounds were stunning and lots of places to walk around. Kids loved it! They said this was the best camping ever, then again that's what they always say :)
Will be back here again soon...... I recommend this place highly!

Room Tip: Stunning & Great Facilities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audreyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent 1 night camping at this fantastic site it was supposed to be 2 nights but of course our lovely Irish weather decided it was not to be. If at all possible try and get a site down by the lake, it was brilliant to wake up with such an amazing view . The whole site is enormous and the staff were second to none Mother & son were so helpful and so friendly, they made us feel so welcome. The facilities were brilliant and spotlessly clean . Mountshannon itself is a stunning little village but the campsite is most definitely one of Ireland's hidden gems. We will definitely be returning our girls absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scottiem80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

Visited this beautiful camping site on their last weekend of the season which was Friday 26th September 2008. It was our first time to visit this park and we were pleasantly surprised by its size. We were greeted by Thomas at the reception which was a lovely wooden cabin adorned with animals which were beautifully mounted by a Taxidermist. There was a red squirrel, a badger and a fox.

The park was quiet because of the time of year but the weather was mild and the views from our pitch beside the lake were a sight to behold. It must be a magical place to be during the summer I cannot wait for the season to recommence.

There are plenty of amenities during the summer season with fishing, swimming, kayaking, rowing and with the large green areas one can enjoy soccer. There is also a tennis court and plenty of outdoor picnic areas.

The park is full of wildlife, huge trees, a spectacular lake and wilderness. An ideal place for children to run free and be safe.

The walk into Mountshannon takes about twenty minutes. There is a long country road into the park but when you go onto the main road it's busy and caution is needed, so be warned. In the village itself there is a quaint shop/pub called Keane's Bar and they supply the usual necessities. They are very friendly and helpful but if you need anything out of the ordinary you will have to travel to Whitegate which is about 6 miles away.

We were not impressed by the choice of food in Mountshannon, we thought that a take-away would be more appropriate for the tourist rather than a pizza bar and 'overpriced' restaurant. So we had to travel to The Half Barrel in Whitegate for our food. They will accommodate you if you wish to take your food away which is what we did. The food was plentiful and very tasty.

We cannot wait for 2009 to make a return visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank M-P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountshannon
8.4 mi away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
8.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
Sunrise Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Mountshannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Holiday Park

Property: Lakeside Holiday Park
Address: Lakeside Park, Mountshannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Mountshannon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mountshannon
Number of rooms: 45

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing