We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, and you can get very close” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skogafoss

Skogafoss
Book In Advance
More Info
$273.00*
and up
Glacier Hike from Reykjavík
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Skogar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
206 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great View, and you can get very close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Although certainly not as big as Gullfoss, Skogafoss is an impressive water that you can get right up close to. It's certainly a site to behold and worth the trip. Also check out the wonderful Skogar folk museum nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aidski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,436
    493
    64
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
243 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Awesome sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Went on a trip to e south, had a photo stop. It was clear weather and we could 2 rainbows at the same time fr certain distance.. What a beauty to remember and talk about after the trip. Wished our group could have more time given to go to the top!

Helpful?
Thank goncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed overnight at Hotel Skogar so could literally walk here in the morning after breakfast. The waterfall is one of my favourites in Iceland especially when you walk close up to the misty area at the bottom. I walked to the top too which is pretty cool and great views of the river running to the ocean. TIP: you can get cool "guide book like" pictures if you stand in the near the waterfall and take the picture from a distance. It also shows the sheer height of the waterfall.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank POPEYE12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is just on the side of Route one, we stopped here on our long drive. It really was worth stopping. The waterfall is beautiful and as it was close still parts of it were frozen which made it very unique.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank fayeeee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Attractive waterfall right next to route 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is an attractive waterfall, which makes an easy stop from the route 1 ring road. Easy to get really close to the bottom of the falls, plus there is a viewing position from the top as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skogafoss also viewed

 

Been to Skogafoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing