We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big climb, but worth it”
Review of Skogafoss

Skogafoss
Book In Advance
More Info
$273.00*
and up
Glacier Hike from Reykjavík
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Skogar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Big climb, but worth it”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is about 60m high - there is a walk way to get you to the top. It's an effort (360+ steps) but worth it. You can see birds nesting in the rockface. And if you have the energy you can walk along the riverbank.
This is not far from the Skogar Folk Museum - this is also worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldieGamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,529
    526
    67
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another must see!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited this waterfall on our way to Hofn, and so glad we did stop, it's actually more beautiful than Gulfoss and you can walk up to it from below and above. There is a hiking trail along the way, with lots of steps. Do expect getting wet, but totally worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Takeme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“In it's glory”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stopped at Skogafoss in May. It was a beautiful sunny day and Skogafoss was in her glory. It is one of the most beautiful falls that we saw in Iceland and would rate it as our 2nd favorite. Godafoss was our favorite, however, we were unable to see Dettifoss due to the snow. But, Skogafoss appears amazing from all viewing points. We did not ascend the viewing platforms, but I'm sure it would have been even more impressive from that view.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sinaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Epic waterfall”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Worth a stop on a road trip to get up close to a magnificent waterfall. Very, very high, and if you walk up to it, you will get soaked to the skin, but so worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good ascent to viewing platform to see falls from above and the top of the hill, close up access to the pool below. Open all the time. No fee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sterilecuckoo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skogafoss also viewed

 

Been to Skogafoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing