We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget accommodation”
Review of Hotel Edda Skogar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Edda Skogar
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Reviewed March 24, 2008

Nothing fancy here. A bed and a bath room and thats all. But then again, there isnt many hotels to choose from. So this is what we´ve got. But ok

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 149 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
19
Reviewed August 16, 2005

We did not stay at the Edda Hotel in Skogar (although that is where the main bus stop is located and the Edda staff seemed very friendly when we stopped in for snacks while waiting for our bus), but there is not a listing for the Hotel Skogar, so I'm writing here. Hotel Skogar has an excellent website that makes it look like a first-class destination hotel. Prices are correspondingly the most expensive in the Skogar area.

My finance and I did the (very challenging, at least by American tourist standards - we almost died) hike from Thorsmork to Skogar and booked a room at the Hotel Skogar to help us relax after the hike. I was especially excited by the prospect of the outdoor hottubs. I booked the room about 3 weeks in advance over the internet. I provided my credit card information and received an e-mail (which I took with me) explicitly stating that I was "confirmed."

When we arrived at the Hotel Skogar, the first thing I noticed was that it did not appear nearly as nice as portrayed on the website. It was just another of many comparable inns that we passed in Skogar on our way there. When I went inside, I told the woman my name and said that I had a reservation for that night. She said, "oh, I am familiar with your name. Unfortunately, there has been a mistake." She then told me that the woman who "confirmed" my reservation did not know what she was doing and that the Hotel had long been fully booked for that night (a Wednesday!). I can understand that mistakes sometimes happen. It's a small hotel, and if they don't have a room, they don't have a room. However, I had communicated with the Hotel Skogar solely through e-mail. I had checked my e-mail in a Reykjavik internet cafe only 2 days before. This woman knew we were coming and was expecting us when we arrived, but did not take 30 seconds, at any time in the 3 weeks prior to our arrival, to drop me an e-mail to tell me about the "mistake." We never saw a room at the Hotel Skogar, but, as I said above, from what I could see of the common areas, it did not look worthy of its premium price.

Fortunately, the woman had made reservations for us at a farmhouse hotel about 4 km down the road - the Drangshlid, part of the Icelandic Farm Holidays consortium. When I told her we had hiked for 2 days, with packs, to get to the Hotel Skogar, she agreed to drive us to Drangshlid. Drangshlid was very nice and we loved our stay there, although we spent the better part of our time sleeping and recovering. A former farm-building has been transformed into a surprisingly modern (although still very European) hotel, complete with private baths. While we were there, we saw the innkeeper's 17 year old son mowing grass, fixing a truck, and serving us dinner. He also drove us back to Skogar the next day, and pointed out that he had helped construct the stairs leading up the Skogafoss waterfall. We would definitely stay at Drangshlid again - we stayed there and had a wonderful dinner (and breakfast) for less than the price of a room at Hotel Skogar.

If you have time, Skogar is a beautiful place to add to your Icelandic itinerary, but don't be misled by a nice website into deciding to splurge at the Hotel Skogar - you may not even get a room and there are several comparable alternatives at a lower price.

Joe Sirbak

Stayed: August 2005
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: vérifiez l' installation electrique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank passant30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michelam414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank gerhardaffolter1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DE-Laufen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
17.1 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
219 reviews
9.6 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
19.6 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
580 reviews
16.8 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edda Skogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda Skogar

Address: Hvolsvoellur, Skogar 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Price Range: $151 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edda Skogar 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edda Skogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing