We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Hotel Lambafell
Ranked #3 of 3 Skogar B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a delightful log cabin at the base of the mountain. Gorgeous setting. Our room was clean, large by European standards, and the shower was strong and fully enclosed. Breakfast buffet was adequate, but nothing special. Really liked the tranquil setting!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ChatChambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 299 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Southern Iceland, The Welcome Hotel Lambafell was in a fantastic location. The hotel is surrounded by a mountainous landscape set right off the main road.It is very close to Skogarfoss Waterfall. The hotel is inviting and it was a true delight that we stayed there for one night. The foyer of the Lambafell is stunning and spacious with comfortable seating for guests to congregate. The rooms were large in size and the beds were comfortable and all areas of the hotel were clean. The hotel attendant was very helpful with giving us information about ferry schedules to the Westerman Islands as well as swimmming information about a geothermal pool in Sejavallalaug. If I return to Iceland, I will stay at the Lambafell. I would be happy to review this hotel again. I hope to give them a five star rating if they upgrade the wi-fi to be in all guest rooms instead of the common areas. Give it a try, you will love it!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a room on the second floor with a terrace. It is well worth the little extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dempseybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We really loved this place!
It's a very beautiful building (photos are totally real). Facilities are new, clean and stylish.
There's a nice small bath outside with a view on Eyjafjallajökull, which is great especially in the evening time.
Unfortunately, we stayed for one day only, but if we come to Iceland again, we'll definitely plan a longer visit to this hotel.
If you're going on the circle road or just plan a short tour to south Iceland - it's the best place on your way!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good location for our purpose, which was to explore the coast between Reykjavik and Jökulsárlón (don't miss the later, totally amazaing!). We drove to the hotel from Keflavik airport (via Bluge Lagoon) which was a few hours drive. The hotel was perfect to use as base for our trip along the coast which made for a great daystrip that would have not been as great with the few extra hours drive had we been based in Reykjavik instead.

The hotel itself is new and fresh. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean and the single beds can be moved toghether to create a double bed. Walls are however very thin and we could hear everything from both the corridor and the hottub outside. We didn't try the hottub since we crashed as soon as we got there but it seemed nice. Breakfast was basic but had what you need to start of the day.

Our biggest complaint was that the person working at the hotel was unable to give us any kind of tips regarding places to eat on the way to Jökulsárlón, I would have expected some kind of local knowledge.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the rooms close to the hottup since the noice from people talking in the hottu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lambafell is relatively new and only recently put into service, so it is fresh and easy to clean and just about everything works well. I would call it a lodge or inn rather than hotel, as it has a large common area and dining room.

The rooms are well scaled, they have added a luggage stand and clothing rack (reflecting on earlier comment of no furnishings). The beds are comfortable, though most rooms have two twin beds. We secured one end of the beds together with a belt and had no tectonic mattress separation issues. (European hotels maintain twin beds since it is easier to make up two twins as a queen, than the queen as a twins. In Spain one specifies "matrimonial" for the room to be made up as a queen).

The quality of the sleep was impacted by the fabric used for the duvet covers. It is textured and for those used to smooth sheets or smooth duvets, it was uncomfortable. Availability of a simple top sheet would have resolved the problem nicely. Instead short nights and travel fatigue put us out anyway.

Yes, we heard the clumping of small feet above us, but no sounds from across the hall or adjacent room. Having an end room was, naturally, beneficial.

The breakfast is adequate including cereal, skyr (Icelandic yogurt), bread, ham, cheese, tomato, cucumber, hard boiled eggs, butter and orange marmalade. I think US travelers will find it disappointing, while Europeans will recognize it as standard fare.

Hot tub - So this is why one goes to Iceland right? Hot springs creating natural thermal baths. The presence of an outdoor hot tub played a role in selecting it for our two nights stay. Unfortunately it was at 38 when we used it and not satisfying. I should have checked if the temp was raised later. It makes for a good place to connect with other guests socially.

Pricing - We find Europe a bit pricey, but Iceland is well beyond that and it doesn't make sense. But Lambafell is subject to those forces. Thinking back on our internet searches for hotels in the Golden Circle and South Iceland, their price seems in line.

The caretakers seem to have their hands full, but a job needs to fill the hands. Fortunately, I am assuming this, they do not have to cope with infrastructure failures. Washing sheets, towels and remaking the rooms is certainly a full days work.

In retrospect, we should have stuck with our original plan of one night each in South Iceland, Golden Circle (closer to Geysir and Gulfoss) and final night in Reykjavik. It was 1.5 hours for the ride from Geysir back to Lambafell.

Dining - one night we dined at Anna's 5 minutes west of Lambafell. The Artic char and vegetable soup were delicious. We demurred on the horse, lamb, soy based vegetarian dishes and they had run out of pork bellies (which I was keen on). Dinner for two at Anna's runs $100-120.

Sightseeing - approaching Lambafell from the west one sees Seljalandsfoss (you can walk behind this one) and a series of smaller ones along the same cliff. Five to 10 minutes east of Lambafell, is Skogafoss. Stand at its base and/or climb to the overlook and see the gorge it has carved. Another few km is Rt 221 providing access to the glacial walking tours location. 40km east is Vik with camping / access to the beach. (Because of a drier weather window we dragged ourselves out of the sack at 3 a.m. and hit Skogafoss, the edge of Myrdalsjökull glacier and Vik before breakfast. Of course no coffee shops were open.

Room Tip: Upper floor probably has better ocean views over the drainage dike and you'll have also less ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sterilecuckoo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was especially clean, comfortable, and warm. We did drive to Vik for dinner but it was a short drive. The hotels location is a great launching off point for exploring vik, pingvelier park, and the nearby waterfalls. We stayed here our first night in Iceland and would really recommend it. We enjoyed feeling like we are able to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MMSSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The building was beautiful and brand new. The location was great for us, since we were taking day trips out to Skaftafell and to Westman Islands. Plenty of parking. Wonderful outdoor hottub that we used every night. Beautiful rooms with plenty of space. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't have its own kitchen; the owner said it was because they just recently opened the property and that they hadn't set it up yet. That was a little inconvenient, but the owner was very nice and gave us good recommendations for dinner each night in the nearby area. The other downside was that the soundproofing was not very good. In our room, we could hear through the wall the people talking and walking around in the common area. We could also loudly hear the footsteps of the guests in the room above ours. If you stay here, I would recommend getting a room on the second floor. If you do that, then I think this hotel would be a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. If you are on the first floor, you will hear the people walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
21.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
4.5 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
223 reviews
1.9 mi away
UMI Hotel
UMI Hotel
#2 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
293 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
24.3 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Lambafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Lambafell

Address: Hvolsvollur, 861, Skogar, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Skogar
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Welcome Hotel Lambafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing