We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it!”
Review of Seljavallalaug

Seljavallalaug
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Skogar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After driving to the end of the road and passing the new pool in Seljavellir you have to walk across some gravel until you get to a stream which was more of a river when we were there due to heavy rain. At the river we met some Icelanders who were clever to bring rain boots to cross the river. They told us we had to cross the river and that the pool was worth getting cold feet in it. So we took of our socks and shoes and waded through the about 3 degrees celcius cold water. Behind the river/stream you have to walk further for about 500 metres and then you see the pool. There are even changing rooms there where you can hang your clothes.
The pool is not as hot as other natural hot pots in Iceland but it's still nice. Even in the rain and heavy wind that we had when we were there it's an amazing experience with a fantastic view of the mountains and little waterfalls around.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwest-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    60
    24
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not terribly warm water but gorgeous setting”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We might not have found it if not for an offline map application I'd downloaded for the trip. There was some sort of construction project going on in the area but not being worked at that particular time. The best advice I can give is to drive to the end of the road and then walk into the mountain hollow, keeping the stream on your right. You won't see it until you're right upon the pool, but I promise its there. There is a path a few feet up the side of the hill and you have to cross a smaller tributary by scrambling across rocks but its not enough to wet your shoes. After ten or fifteen minutes you came around a bend and you realize how literal it is to say it's built into the side of a mountain. Its so far back into the hollow with 8-10 hours of daylight a day, the sun doesn't hit the pool until three pm or so, so if you're looking to dry off in the sun, I'd advise visiting later in the day than earlier.
The hot water is piped into the deep end, the shallow end is noticeably cooler so take note if you're not the best swimmer, as was my travel partner who didn't want to get in. It was well worth the walk without swimming, the setting is unreal and unlike most other pools in Iceland and elsewhere.
The small building at the end has space for changing and there's a bench to sit on or set your clothes on.
Its beautiful and highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovecoffees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
345 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Could not get to it”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After visiting Skogar folk museum we were prepared to visit this pool and hopefully have a nice dip, however we never got to it! We had GPS coordinates to the parking area and were prepared for our 20 minute walk. It was obvious that an old path to the pool used to exist but after around a couple of minutes proved impossible to follow, as what looks like a gravel embankment has been built across it. This was not a problem to climb across, however coming down the mountain to the left we encountered a stream which seemed to be around four feet wide and after aimlessly walking up and down along the banks we could not find any place to ford it without getting wet by falling in! The rocks looked slippery and eventhough some conscientious person had put a plank across the water, this looked precarious and narrow so we did not attempt crossing it, eventhough we saw a couple who managed to cross over.
I have no idea if another way to the pool exists as there was none that was obvious.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fairly hidden pool”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our hosts in Hvolsvöllur told us how to find this. It's not easy to get to unless you know where you're going and up until nearly the point when you fall into the pool you might not realize you're going to one, but this cute pool built into the side of a mountain in Iceland is picturesque and solidly worth visiting.

As of our trip (July 2012) the three changing rooms were fairly dank, miserable spots that seemed like they might be interrogation chambers, but they get the job done and the pool itself is very relaxing. The mountain side of the pool actually uses the mountain as its wall, so be careful not to swim into it. Hot water flows in from the deep end, which was probably easily deep enough to jump into, but we chose not to.

It's totally charming and an experience you are not likely to forget - try to find it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank masivp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marple
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting for outdoor pool”
Reviewed August 15, 2008

If travelling near Skogar look out for a sign to Seljavellir.
Its a small 1 star pool in a 5 star mountain setting.
Either park at the modern pool or cross the small ford to the end of the field. Then its a 10 min walk along the path.
The pool and changing facilities are very basic but the setting is stunning and the water very warm.
Link below
http://www.south.is/activities/Swimming-pool/Seljavellir/43/default.aspx

Helpful?
4 Thank Marpleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seljavallalaug also viewed

Skogar, South Region
 
South Region, Iceland
Vik, South Region
 

Been to Seljavallalaug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing