We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, small friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Skogar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Skogar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

For access to Skogafoss, you couldn't hope for better.

We were meant to be camping in this area, but due to weather warnings and having bearing the brunt of the Icelandic wind before, we thought we'd look for brick and mortar shelter for the night.

Rooms are clean, comfortable and generously sized, some have views looking onto the falls.

Staff are polite and friendly.

Meals at the restaurant are generous and tasty.

A good breakfast is also included.

We'd definitely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close the skogafoss waterfall, you can go walking. The rooms are quite nice, well done. The view from the rooms are amazing and you can see the sunny day with the mountain landscape. Toullete a are nice and very clean. TV in the room and few channels available. Very recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank J Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a small hotel within walking distance of the beautiful Skoga series of waterfalls. It's also a good base for the equally lovely falls at and near Seljalandsfoss, plus Vik, the Vestmannaeyar Islands, Solheimajökull glacier hikes and other sights & activities in central southern Iceland. Nice view out to hills and fields, nesting snipe and oystercatchers a few metres away. We didn't have a view of the falls but the green peaceful hills were nice too.

Rooms are clean and well-furnished, but using the TV takes a bit of patience with the remote control. The mattress on the bed wasn't great for me - a bit too soft but I slept well anyway.

The manager is Glaswegian and quietly friendly and helpful. Gave us good advice on the area

No tea and coffee stuff in the rooms but you can get those free of charge beside Reception.
Breakfast was a good continental buffet. Dinner was excellent - try the small lobsters and the cod if they're on the menu! The apple pie was great too.

Value for money? Lots of comments here on that. Well, if this hotel looks a bit uncomfortably expensive and if that might bug you during your stay, then I recommend you choose something else. We enjoyed it and would go back, as we decided to ignore the price and focus on the positives. However, I admit I would probably not normally expect to pay this much for this standard of hotel anywhere else except a small village in a great location in Iceland. There are possibly better value places in nearby Vik (but bear in mind that Vik gets far more rain due to its location between coastal hills)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Unexpected stay here for 1 night as our planned hotel ended up being full. Has the feel of a backpackers hostel. Our room was good size however,and well appointed,although the bathroom could have done with a bit of an upgrade,but everything worked as it should. Be prepared for "sulphur" smelling water here when having a shower or wash,which is normal for this volcanic region.Friendly staff and the food at dinner tasty and well portioned. Breakfast ok.
The Skogafoss waterfall was literally a 5 minute walk around the back of the hotel. In some ways,as impressive as Gulfoss as you can walk up to its base(almost) and then climb the steps adjacent to it right to the very top.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarkyMark383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is in a brilliant location within a couple of minutes of Skógafoss waterfall. Didn't get a very friendly welcome though. Admittedly we arrived before the check-in time but as it was raining and cold we decided to ask if the room was ready. The manager/owner? was very abrupt and just said "no" and basically told to leave and come back later so we did.

When we eventually did get into our room it was fine and nicely decorated. We also had dinner there in the evening which was good.

It's more like a small guest house rather than a proper hotel. Although the place was well-funished it had a rather cold unfriendly atmosphere, not helped by the abruptness of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BackinBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Don't let the hotel's plain exterior fool you! This was our fourth of five nights in Iceland; Hotel Skogar was by far the most tastefully decorated hotel we stayed in during our travels and a very friendly staff. The rooms were large and clean by European standards. Our room had a balcony and a distant view of the waterfall.
We had a lovely and delicious dinner in their dining room. Both my husband and I had the lamb which was tender and flavorful.
A generous buffet breakfast was also served in the dining room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pms40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile


Our guide booked us at the cottage property of Hotel Skogar. The house had 4 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Decoration was spot on farmhouse chic. Plenty of towels and comfortable sofas. But the mattresses were terrible and broke this stay. Even the view of the peaceful sheep grazing in the meadow in front of us could not redeem the stay. Previous to this stay, we were staying at a basic bed and breakfast with mattresses much more comfortable than here. Dinner was also not impressive. My cod was oversalted. The lamb was good but not great. What was most enjoyable was the horse ride from the cottage to the nearby Skogafoss waterfall.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
17.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
19.8 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
579 reviews
9.4 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
149 reviews
16.9 mi away
Puffin Hotel Vik
Puffin Hotel Vik
#6 of 6 in Vik
143 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Hofdabrekka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skogar

Address: Skogar, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Price Range: $161 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Skogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing