We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel with lovely bedrooms”
Review of Hotel Skogar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Skogar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel with lovely bedrooms”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Well located on Route 1, this hotel is in a beautiful setting .We arrived after a long day's travel and wanted to drop straight into bed, but even so had time to appreciate the thoughtful little touches spread throughout the hotel - the offer of a hot tub outside, a well stocked bookcase for guests - and the friendly welcome from the staff. A comfortable bed in a properly darkened room made for a good night's sleep. Breakfast was a nice and varied spread, and the staff were very accommodating of our requests, even filling a flask with hot water for our onward journey. I would happily stay here for several days if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frinls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    27
    9
    16
See reviews for
32
109
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel provided all we needed and more! The rooms were clean and nicely appointed, and the dinner was one of the best we had in our 6 days in Iceland. Location is fantastic, and the manager was friendly and very helpful. Hot tub area was nice and also very clean. Our only complaint was that the bathrooms are microscopic, remember to keep your elbows in!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very good up to date hotel accommodations. Our arrival was very late due to a longer than expected hike and we called and they said they would serve us dinner when we arrived--which was over an hour after the last dinner served and everyone was very friendly and the food was very good and a good value for the location and quality of food and accommodations. The staff and owner were all friendly and helpful. Was nice to walk to the waterfall at 11 pm! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuckySadieDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel does not have much competition in the area which is why it is also rather expensive. However, very helpful and service minded staff. Good food. Nice hottub and perfectly located before or after a day trip to the Pörsmark territory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velbert, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. Diner in the restaurant also was good. Right around the corner of Skogafoss, one of the most beautiful waterfalls in Iceland. Sleeping quality was according to Icelandic hotel standard: rooms don't really get dark in summer. However, the room rate is rather high even for Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Having read all the other reviews on here, I must say I am truly astonished at the negative ones, as I have just had the most wonderful time here.

Having traveled through Iceland for a week and spent every night in a different place, this was by far the best one. Is it cheap? Certainly not. Nothing in Iceland is, and this being a boutique hotel, it was even less so. Arriving there, you think you have the wrong place, because apart from a few tastefully arranged stones outside the entrance, this looks barely different from a smallish barn. But once you enter through the simple door (no sliding extra-wide glass portal here!), you're in a different world. The whole place is cosy, beautifully appointed, subtly stylish and welcoming. Our room was spacious, very sparsely furnished, but not missing anything, with a supercomfy bed, nice chairs and a small but lovely bathroom.

Then there was the food. The restaurant wasn't open yet the night we stayed there, but the next day (1 June) it was opening for the season so we decided to hang around for lunch. An excellent decision. As the weather was sensationally good, we even ate outside (not a common occurrence in Iceland, I should think), which added to the experience. But the meal absolutely wowed us on its own. Seafood salad was my starter, and it was fantastic. Who would have thought that the combination of salmon, scallops and prawns with toasted oats (!) and physalis (!!) would work so well? The main course of salmon with barley was pure perfection too. And then dessert...three scoops of home-made ice cream that couldn't have gone better with the summery weather. We ate extremely well everywhere in Iceland, but just as in the hotel rankings, this outdid them all.

Best of all though was the lovely girl who manned the reception desk on the night we stayed and served us lunch the following day. We didn't catch her name, but she certainly made a lasting impression with us. We had a great long chat with her over a glass of whisky after coming in from dinner in which she enthusiastically looked up all sorts of information for us we barely even hinted at being interested in, and she was generally just about the most cheerful, genuine, positive, welcoming and all-out nicest person I've ever met. Seriously. If ever a single person could be described as a major asset to a business, it's her. A hotel is about being a home away from home, and when somebody treats you like a long-lost friend, it goes a long way towards making you feel at home. People like this should be prescribed to the world as anti-depressants. And the other two staff members we met (the chef and another woman at reception) were truly lovely too.

So apart from a juicy price tag, I have nothing but good things to say about this place and am still baffled that others seem to have had such a bad time. To me it was a great experience on absolutely every level, with the added bonus of a personal touch that made it all the more special. I am already dreaming of returning there.

Room Tip: I didn't see the standard rooms, which judging from the other reviews here must be tiny. I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank food4thought4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stopped for lunch at the Hotel Skogar on a wet and cold day after visiting the Skogar Falls in southern Iceland. We had a wonderful seafood soup chock full of lobster (langoustine), scallops and shrimp. The chef puts his own twist on this soup with unique flavor combinations, unlike any other seafood soup we had during our trip to Iceland. We also had some outstanding brownies.The dining room was small and intimate, but very well-appointed. Staff was polite & friendly, and service was prompt.
We did not stay at the hotel, but had a look around & liked what we saw -- we actually wished we had been staying there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhead47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skogar
17.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Vik
17.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Vik i Myrdal
9.4 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Hotel Katla
Hotel Katla
#2 of 6 in Vik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Skogafoss
Hotel Skogafoss
#1 of 3 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skogar

Property: Hotel Skogar
Address: Skogar, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Skogar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skogar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Skogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing