We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, comfortable apartment in a quiet...”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen/Dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/Dining
Lounge/dining area Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Kitchen/Dining
Lounge/dining area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge area
Lounge
Bedroom with queen size bed
Bathroom
Complimentary wine
view of the fjord from lounge area
Gamla Pósthúsið
Glaumbær
Hofsós
Hofsós Pool
Hólar
Grettislaug - Hot Springs
Drangey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Saudarkrokur, Northwest Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Alit1987
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable apartment in a quiet location”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2017

This apartment is wonderful, it is very comfortable and Vicki is an amazing host. She made sure we knew how to find the building from the minute we booked it and then welcomed us on arrival with local knowledge and enthusiasm for the area.

There is a welcome package of breakfast and staple foods, which was a lovely touch. The apartment is open plan, well decorated and homely. It has everything you need for your stay, including a spacious bathroom with washer/dryer which really came in handy.

We are glad we decided to stay out of Reykjavik for our holiday because the real beauty of Iceland is out of the city. Sauðárkrókur is a small town but there are enough attractions to do to fill two/three days. There are also lots of local walks nearby: through the town, along the beach or up the hills.

The shops had everything we needed and there was a bakery across the road, which was amazing. There are a handful of restaurants and a bar (open at the weekends). The town also had petrol stations and a cinema.

The apartment is about 15km from Grettislaug, a small hot spring, which is considerable cheaper and quieter than the other more well known sites. If you wanted to see more of the country, this is an excellent base for doing so. Route 1 is about 20 mins; Akureyri about 90 mins and Myvatn 2hr30.

We would love to stay here again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynne R
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Queen of Hospitality”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I decided to turn a business trip to Iceland into a mother/daughter trip. We stayed in many places and this was by far the most clean and considered travel experience stay. This is coming from an NYC-based interior designer with high standards and while I never expect everything to be smooth, this stay over delivered with so many thought out details. My mother and I were entirely impressed. From the renovation design of this old post house to the artistic eye and organization of the interior, you didn't have to guess at where anything was. She even had an iron and ironing board and the staples were lovely and gracious. We only wished we could have slept in and stayed longer. Her place and town have so much to offer. Thank you!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
560timg
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good place - well presented and clean”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Small stylish apartment in central location. Well equipped, modern fixtures and fittings and equipment provided had been thought about. We stayed in some places where all the things other people didn't want in their kitchens had been sent...really nice touch was a great welcome pack. Tea, coffee, bread, eggs, fruit so no need to dash out to find stuff (good job given we arrived on a Sunday when Saudokrokur is closed).

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
143jean
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
“Beautiful and comfortable”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016


Beautiful apartment, and very comfortable. The bathroom was really nice, great shower, and included washer and dryer combo. Vicki's directions were detailed and easy to understand. the kitchen had everything needed. Right in downtown close to all. We were 4 people in the smaller apt and we didn't feel cramped with 2 very nice roll away beds, but, of course, there's little privacy as the bedroom has no door. This wasn't a problem for us, and the bedroom is large with a large entryway, but something to note if you are looking for privacy. Overall we loved it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q6325UEsa...
Bowie, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved Vicki's apartment as well as her warm welcome!”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We highly recommend Vicki's apartment. In fact, on our way home, my husband and I were dreaming of returning there some day to stay longer than our one-night. Perhaps stay for three days to use Saudarkrokur as our hub for horseback riding trips as well as sightseeing in the area.

The apartment is beautiful and well-appointed with views to the fjord. Made use of the washer/dryer combination which Vicki cheerfully helped me to understand how to use it. How wonderful to find food already in the apartment! A bowl of fruit, a loaf of bread, butter, eggs, yoghurt and tea and coffee. And a bottle of wine! We were all set for a snack and breakfast the next morning. There are even beach towels for a trip up to the hotpot Grettislaug.

The Wifi signal was strong.

It was great to meet Vicki. Such a warm, sympathetic, and adventuresome spirit!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Vicki's warm welcome, the great apartment, and the food and amenities.
Liked least: Loved everything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny B
puerto aventuras
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you are planning on staying in Saudarkroku or just passing through plan on staying here. You will not be disappointed. Vicki makes her places feel like home with all the extra special touches.
Great hospitality!

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginger_ch...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliantly equipped, comfortable apartment. Excellent value.”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Apologies for not writing this review sooner!
We stayed at the start of April. The location in town is great.
Vicki was a really warm, helpful host. The apartment was one of the nicest places we stayed in Iceland, warm, comfortable and easily the best equipped. The availability of a washing machine was brilliant. Vicki had provided a starter hamper of breakfast provisions which was really thoughtful. Overall, the apartment was brilliant value for money. Thankyou!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great kitchen facilities
Liked least: There wasn't a whole lot to do in the town itself.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.