We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Saudarkrokur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Sometimes I find myself surprised with certain reviews here on tripadvisor. This is my experience in the clearly overrated Hofsstadir Guesthouse:
Maybe with good weather the stay could be better but if you get rain and wind,stay anywhere else.
Our triple room was clean , with comfortable beds and nicely decorated, but that`s all. Basic bathroom without amenities (no shower gel or shampoo ), and if you don`t have the room nº1 forget the free wi-fi. It is only available in the breakfast / dining area and in the room closer to that.
With freezing weather we had to walk outside to stay connected.
Yes, the views from room are nice but if you can `t walk around , after 15 min you will get bored...
The restaurant is very overpriced with poor food quality. I advice you to drive 15 km to Saudárkrókur . There are some choices of bakeries and nice restaurants. We regret not having dinned there!!!
Staff not particulary friendly. Average breakfast. Poor value for money.
Probably after more than 130 hotels reviews, here on tripadvisor, I `m getting too rigorous...
My rating for this hotel is 3 only because of the room decoration...if not I will give it 2...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Well what a surprise this place was....... Location was beautiful......acommodation clean and cosy, and well.... When Toti the chef brought our dinners out......presentation was exquisite as was the food.
Outstanding!!!!!!!! We are coming back here next year. Best accommodation,food and hospitality we encountered. Lovely family.!we bought some Birch syrup and rhubarb.
Rhubarb icecream.................superb. ❤️
Thank you
Caroline and Paul x

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Hoffstadir Guesthouse as a brief overnight stay as part of our Iceland tour. Our accommodation was in the cabins just down from the main room. Unfortunately, this meant that we could not pick the WiFi. And a TV was also missing from the room (?). The weather meant that a tour of the local nature was not possible, so the only thing was to head up to the main building. Unfortunately, this is overly set-up for restaurant seating and quasi-giftshop - had part of this room been converted into a common lounge, the previous shortcomings of the room could have been overlooked. Nevertheless, we contented ourselves to the food, to which we were treated to some delightful home cooking. Try the horse steak if you visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are on a one month Iceland tour, having been here two years ago for two weeks. All our arrangements were made by Nordic Visitor as part of a self drive tour, so, we don't know the specific prices for accommodation. Nordic Visitor, in their tour packages offer three types of accommodation and we booked comfort accommodation (private bathroom, "nice" hotels & guesthouses), breakfast is always included. This will be one of many reviews for this trip.

Two years ago, after staying here for one night, we not only wanted to come back to Iceland but we particularly wanted to stay here again. The host, Tóti is such a friendly and interesting individual. He is an outstanding chef and is very modest about his abilities (he's a trained and extraordinary chef). Breakfast was typical with a few cooked extras (unusual we've found). The jams are great. The homemade Birch Syrup (like Maple Syrup but different) is a treat. The meals we had for supper were as good as in any restaurant in which we've ever eaten. The room was bright, airy, open. The entire guesthouse is beautifully and artfully decorated This was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQuietTravellerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This guesthouse is thoroughly charming, with friendly service, clean rooms and a cozy atmosphere. The views are stunning. It is remote and very quiet.
Be sure to get good driving directions, because it is about 20 minutes outside of Saudarkrokur and not so easy to find.
We stayed in one of the new cabins, and found it spacious and comfortable. We had a deck out back, overlooking fields and mountains.
The hotel was staffed with young women who all seemed eager to help, with a cheerful, warm attitude.
I would highly recommend to anyone who will be in the area.

Room Tip: New cabins are desirable for space, views and outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWSLady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good location in the middle of Skagafjördur, in a valley next to a big river. Beautiful accommodation in brown and dark green prefabricated trusses with cable tv. Nice breakfast with home-made products in a lovely room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are family of 4(parents + 2 adults). We stayed one night at Hofsstaadir . We had 2 rooms - double + twin. Very nice big rooms. All looks new and clean, nice decoration. Nice view from the window. Rich breakfast. Good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saudarkrokur
8.5 mi away
Hotel Tindastoll
Hotel Tindastoll
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
190 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hestasport Cottages
Hestasport Cottages
#1 of 8 in Varmahlid
140 reviews
8.4 mi away
Microbar & Bed
Microbar & Bed
#2 of 5 in Saudarkrokur
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Mikligardur
Hotel Mikligardur
#2 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
46 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mikligardur Guesthouse
Mikligardur Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
64 reviews
8.4 mi away
Puffin Palace Guesthouse
Puffin Palace Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Saudarkrokur
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsstadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Address: Road No. 76 | 551. Sauðárkrókur, Saudarkrokur, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northwest Region > Saudarkrokur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saudarkrokur
Price Range: $140 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hofsstadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsstadir Guesthouse Iceland/Saudarkrokur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing