We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing top quality accommodation at the best possible setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Saudarkrokur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing top quality accommodation at the best possible setting”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We loved our night at this guesthouse, they have created the perfect atmosphere. It was absolutely delightful, from the quality of beds to the peaceful environment. Even the horses in the field came to greet us and they were beautiful and friendly creatures. The breakfast was outstanding... Very much higher quality than others at this price range. All fresh, homemade local products. Congratulations to the hosts, who are doing a wonderful job with this place.

Room Tip: Wireless works better the closer you get to the restaurant room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    41
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
113
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Everything about the stay was perfect... Beautiful views to the fiord, great rooms, cute decoration, comfortable bed, great shower... And breakfast was delicious, homemade and local products...
Even the horses next to the guesthouse were beautiful and superfriendly, possing for our pictures. You couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The guesthouse offers 12 beautiful modern rooms with a unique view, private facilities, CD-player and hair dryer. The rooms are for two or three persons and children's beds could be provided on request.

The restaurant convinces with fantastic (slow)-food made with local products - the best dinner on our 2-week trip in Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our most positive surprise of the places we stayed. For us it was regrettably just a stopover, but it turned out to be by far the best room we had, big, airy, fresh. The restaurant is also very, very good with an inventive, different menu. Also a beautiful setting although feels a bit isolated.
We went river rafting the day after and it is very well situated for this. I think this part of Iceland would be considered a very nice tourist area if it were to be found anywhere else, but it has some tough competition in Iceland!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have not enough good words to rate this place in Iceland. It is fantastically positioned, with amazing views. Rooms are spacious and private, with a private terrace and a private view that make you want to spend your whole holiday here.
We could not have dinner there unfortunately, but had a fantastic breakfast! We had a slight inconvenient at 10 pm (nothing special because it was immediately taken care of) the owner returned to the guest house in 5 minutes and in 10 total minutes all was solved!!! this is what I call customer service.
The owner was so very nice and provided a lot of info about what to see better during the rest of our tour!!! I strongly suggest to stop here FOR SURE!!!! the place seems to be out of the world, silence, privacy, amazing view, cleanliness, simple-chic and with horses thereby!!!
Do not miss this! It is a superb Icelandic experience in itself!

Room Tip: We had room 8. the last on the second building on the right, but I presume they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saphira1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauna, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent one night here and really liked it. New, clean, comfortable. Yes, a little small but quite nice. Food was great, and after I remarked that I liked the local beer, the hostess called the brewer and arranged a personal tour for my wife and I the next day (you beer lovers should check it out, it is Gaedingur). The hostess was quite knowledgeable about the local birds and suggested that I take a walk around the bottom land below the hotel. This was quite nice too and I saw several birds that I had never seen before. All around a nice stay and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Insperatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

After 14 nights spent in 12 different hotels or guest houses during our trip in Iceland I clearly put this small piece of paradise on my top 3 list. The views from the room are amazing. It's a place you really feel relaxed. Food was excellent, both for dinner and included breakfast. Service and owners very helpful and nice. Don't miss!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saudarkrokur
8.5 mi away
Hotel Tindastoll
Hotel Tindastoll
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Mikligardur
Hotel Mikligardur
#2 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Varmahlid
Hotel Varmahlid
#1 of 1 in Varmahlid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Keldudalur
Keldudalur
#1 of 2 in Skagafjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hestasport Cottages
Hestasport Cottages
#1 of 7 in Varmahlid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hjaltastadir
Hjaltastadir
#6 of 7 in Varmahlid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsstadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Property: Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Address: Road No. 76 | 551. Sauðárkrókur, Saudarkrokur, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northwest Region > Saudarkrokur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saudarkrokur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hofsstadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsstadir Guesthouse Iceland/Saudarkrokur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing