We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toti's piece of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Saudarkrokur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
175 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Toti's piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have just completed 18 days in an about Iceland. Hands down and by far this accommodation was just superb. What made it so special was the attention to guests needs and the personal touch of Toti (chef and owner) and his wonderful family. Of particular note was the outstanding meal in the restaurant. Unlike most places we dined we found an abundance of food served for a not unreasonable price. Toti himself served the main course and made sure all guests were happy. He offered us coffee upon arrival and agreed to take us on a special hike the next day. Toti guided us to th "Eagles Nest" high upon a rocky peak overlooking some of the 4,000 hectares making up the family farm holdings. What a special day. Make you Iceland trip special, visit Toti''s guesthouse.

Room Tip: Book one of the 4 double corner rooms or check out the turf houses or farmstead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    40
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muenchen
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We did only stay for one night at the Hofstadir Guesthouse. The rooms with private bathroom are elegant furnished. Wifi internet access is available in the lounge corner at the restaurant. The breakfast, which was offered from 7:30 am on, was really outstanding. Besides the standard items they offered delicious pate, rhubarb jam, fresh made porridge and tasty coffee. We recommend the restaurant also for dinner. The prices are a little bit higher but the food is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrickMuenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ermioni, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

i truly enjoyed staying at Hofsstadir Farm which is run by Elinborg and Vesteinn, the parents of the owners of hofsstadir guesthouse. They are wonderful hosts, warm, helpful, and easygoing. From the start, they made me feel at home and often gave useful "insider tips" for beautiful hikes in the immediate vicinity. The rooms all have views of the pastures and the sea, and are both quiet and clean, excellent for R+R after a day spent exploring the Siglafjoedur peninsula. I stronly recommend the HOFSSTADIR FARM which is situated across the street from the guesthouse where one can have a great meal of fish or lamb in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in these beautiful white washed cottages. The owner was very friendly and let us use the cosy restaurant after hours .rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Nice location for a romantic get away .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9ttiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here one night.

The accommodation is all pre fab cabins in fairly typical Scandinavian style. They weren't huge but were comfortable, warm, and brand new.

The view from the patio area is stunning and we sat out here with a bottle of wine before dinner. Each cabin has their own small balcony area and tables as well, but ours were facing away from the view of the estuary.

There aren't many restaurants in the area and I would thoroughly recommend eating here anyway. The owner is the chef and has trained in Michelin star restaurants in Europe - and it shows! The food was all local produce and fresh - the shrimp in the soup had been caught that afternoon, the veg were all home grown and the cod and the lamb the best we've ever tasted!

Breakfast was simple but also excellent - home made porridge, freshly cooked bread and homemade jams.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyfives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

The owners were genuine and helpful. The rooms are small but new, clean and comfortable. Our room had a balcony that overlooked green pasture land with a little river running through it. Very peaceful. Breakfast included fresh bread with homemade jams, meats, and cereals. Decent price for Iceland.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsb54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saudarkrokur
8.5 mi away
Hotel Tindastoll
Hotel Tindastoll
#1 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Mikligardur
Hotel Mikligardur
#2 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Varmahlid
Hotel Varmahlid
#1 of 1 in Varmahlid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hestasport Cottages
Hestasport Cottages
#1 of 6 in Varmahlid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mikligardur Guesthouse
Mikligardur Guesthouse
#3 of 3 in Saudarkrokur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hjaltastadir
Hjaltastadir
#6 of 6 in Varmahlid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsstadir Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsstadir Guesthouse

Property: Hofsstadir Guesthouse
Address: Road No. 76 | 551. Sauðárkrókur, Saudarkrokur, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northwest Region > Saudarkrokur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saudarkrokur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hofsstadir Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsstadir Guesthouse Iceland/Saudarkrokur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing