We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”
Review of Fosshotel Reykholt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Reykholt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there with my son (7). We were met by Ásgeir in the reception. I have never been to this location and Ásgeir was really helpful in pointing out places for us to go and see.

The breakfast buffet was nice and the waitresses were helpful.

The hot tubs were very refreshing after a long day of sightseeing.

Our room was clean and overall I thought the hotel was very nice and up to standard for this location. At least we liked the stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    70
    57
    22
    8
See reviews for
35
90
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a tour of Iceland, I can't comment on pricing/value as it was part of a package but the building itself is (in common with the other Fosshotel Group place we stayed) pretty old and tired and in need of investment. nevertheless, the staff were helpful and friendly, the cooking was good and the loctaion is a very nice one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Foss hotel at Reykholt was our last stay on our 11 day roundtrip of Iceland. Very pleasant, although a bit too expensive. The staff was very service-minded and helpful, the meals were good and the service in the restaurant also fine. The hot pots in the garden were very nice, and a good "substitute" for the Snorralaug which was not open for use, also being a bit luke-warm. The location of the hotel was great, right in the middle of Snorre's land, and an entrance-gate to the Husalfell area. All in all, a pleasant memory, but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Reykholt is a pleasant little place with some good walks from the hotel and some historical sites to look at. It is one of the few areas of Iceland which has a lot of trees. Apparently various people have been reforesting the area.
This was one of the later hotels which we stayed in during our 10 nights. We were used to the outsides looking quite ordinary but unfortunately the inside of this hotel looked old and in need of a good refit and good clean.
The wellness area was a bit lacking and the floor multifunctional shower was quite dirty. There were bits, including hair floating in the hot tubs. We did not experience this in any other hotels so they must have wither been very well used or needing a clean. Our beds had very saggy mattresses, we both like fairly firm mattresses so this meant an uncomfortable nights sleep.
However, the staff on the front desk were lovely. They were really helpful and went out of their way to find information out for us. I would have scored the hotel a 2 without them.
There are no other restaurants nearby so we went up the road to the N1 and bought some dinner as the food on offer was fairly expensive. (Which was the norm in most places we stayed.)

Room Tip: Corner rooms appear to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uluru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We expected much more from one of the most expensive hotels in our Iceland trip. This hotel needs an urgent facelift. Everything looks so old! The couches in the lobby look 50 years old, the entrance door look the same, the white walls and ceiling look as if they are constructed of long wood planks which were once used to build shelters in my country…. And finally, the TV set in the room was at least 20 y/o.
At first we received a room with two twin beds, which was close to the dining room air vents, and all the cooking smell went into the room. We asked to move to a double room with no smells, but they were fully booked. As compensation they gave us a complimentary dinner. On the second night they moved us to a better room. So although the hotel looks aged and old-fashioned, service was very good.
One more thing that must be mentioned: Wi-fi in the rooms is not free! It costs about 12USD for 24 hours, 24USD for 48 hours (negotiable….), Come- on guys, we are in 2013; not in the 90's! Wi-fi should be free!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosshotel, Manager at Fosshotel Reykholt, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a letter including your service research form from your stay in Iceland.

We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution available to resolve your issue as soon as possible.
Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime regarding your stay in Iceland or other questions you might have regarding Fosshotel.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Rooms are ok. Standard equipment (though no plucks in the bathroom) and clean. The hotel is situated nicely in the little town of Reykholt. Yet, during breakfast the personnel was totally unable to cope with the task of filling up the buffet. At 8 am there was no more fruit. They had run out of it. The fact that there was a tour group of about 40 people does not excuse this because a planning must take into account the number of guest staying at the hotel. An anecdote: When asking for some fruit, I was offered some “smashed” grapes that according to the server “had to be somewhere in the kitchen”. Although I replied to the server that I would like to have some of these “smashed” grapes, I never saw any of them. Eggs, bread and other parts of the buffets were also never or very slowly filled up. The worst thing: Even when pointing out, the personnel did not seem to realize or understand that this situation was not ideal. Moreover, do not bother to use the wellness area of the hotel: the two hot pots outside are dirty because there is no cover for them. The showers (including the multi-functional shower) in the wellness area are poorly equipped and malfunctioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypoppins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosshotel, Manager at Fosshotel Reykholt, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Marypoppins93

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us!

Our standard rooms are very basic, that is true but we also have Superior and family rooms that are more spacious.

I’m saddened to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast and surprised to read the comment about “smashed grapes” as we do not have grapes in the house. However, sometimes groups leave early in the morning and everybody comes at the same time and the breakfast area is very crowdie. The staff has short time to fill up the buffet table and It is understandable that customers have to wait few minutes for refilling.

The wellness corridor is an additional service that we offer to our customers. There has been lack of cold water in the area and the multi-functional shower was out of order in to be able to keep cold water for the hotel, kitchen, bathroom, etc. Unfortunately we cannot control it the unforeseen cause of lack of water.

The hotpots are not dirty. The water is just rich in minerals like silica and sulphur and algae that are in our water. We use the water straight from the earth and that is way it is like this.

Best regards,
Arnþór Pálsson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on tour. Reykholt is a small hamlet with 2 churches, a couple of houses and this hotel. There is precious little else.The hotel has 2 floors and is the biggest building in town. There is no lift. Check in was quick & efficient and the staff throughout the place were brilliant.

Our room, No 119 was enormous with a huge desk, table, 2 divans, a wardrobe and a sofa. It was more like a suite and was twice the size of anything we have experienced in Iceland on this trip. It did not have tea & coffee making facilities in the room but it was clean, warm & comfortable and we could not fault it.There is pay internet in the rooms but a free internet point is in the Wellness Centre, if you can find it. We couldn't.

Dinner was very good and we enjoyed it. Starter was smoked lamb followed by Cod, mash & veg with Skyr(a cross between ice cream & yogurt) for dessert. The bar had a happy hour between 5 & 7pm with beer prices at 500isk(£2.26p)per half litre. The barman sold dozens to our group of 10 people which should tell them something about overpricing & demand.

Breakfast was buffet style with the usual array of cereals, cheese, cold meats, eggs, toast, fruit juices, yogurt, tea & coffee. There was also a hot option of scrambled egg & hot dog sausages.
This was yet another Icelandic hotel which, although not the Savoy did exactly what it said on the tin and met our requirements in full. No hesitation in recommending a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reykholt
12.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Reykholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Reykholt

Property: Fosshotel Reykholt
Address: Fosshotel | on Rte 518, Reykholt 320, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Reykholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Reykholt 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshótel Reykholt is a cultural theme hotel, based on Icelandic literature, Norse mythology and classical music. This official 3 star Tourist Class hotel includes a restaurant, bar, library, Internet lounge, front desk, outdoor hot tubs, the cosy moon-lounge, wellness center, conference rooms for up to 150 persons and free parking. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. At Fosshótel Reykholt following room categories are available:•24 spacious superior rooms with bathtub.•29 standard double and single rooms with shower.•3 Family rooms.This hotel is ideal for guests that like to relax in the countryside, enjoy reading, writing and are interested in extending their knowledge of Icelandic cultural heritage.Fosshótel Reykholt focuses also on well being and cultural travel, offering unique facilities based on relaxing, destressing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Reykholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing