We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice staff”
Review of Fosshotel Reykholt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Reykholt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Tusayan, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice staff”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night during my holiday in Iceland. We weren't expecting much as Reykholt is fairly small and in the middle of nowhere, but we were up for a nice suprise. The staff was very friendly, the food nice (and not expensive), breakfast good, rooms big and clean... all in all a very pleasant experience! Close by and the Hraunfossar waterfalls (about 20 mins by car) and of course Snorri's bath and a small museum. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeroen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    60
    22
    8
See reviews for
36
91
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Basic, nice hotel, with good food. Much less Spartan than expected. Of course there was lots of water pressure, and you can walk to Snorri Sturluson's farm and its geysirs which are located behind the hotel.

Room Tip: First floor is good if you have luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
219 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We found this hotel by accident after having explored the Kaldilar nroad through the interior ,coming from Pingvellir, which I highly reccomend. Get off the Ring Road. Anyway , ask for the suite --it was very resonable for Iceland and it had a tube and all the hot water in Reykholt is thermo heated water. It was heaven. Breakfast was generous with a good selection and we had dinner there too, it was well prepared. Nice people, but then everyone we met in Iceland was friendly and helpful and open.

Room Tip: the suite is a good bargain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I do not recommend this place at all. I made reservations 6 months in advance and they lost them. After presenting my proof of reservation, they gave us a "suite". It may have had more space, which we didn't need, but it also had a dozen more windows that did not have curtains adequate to block the sun. The only restaurant around was in the hotel. It was extremely overpriced and not really that good. Both my husband and I left hungry. We would have been better off eating at the gas station down the street, which we would have done had it still been open when we found it. The breakfast wasn't any better. We did eat at the gas station for lunch. Highly recommend. The hot tubs in the hotel weren't working because of lack of cold water. Also you have to pay for wifi, unlike most other hotels we stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykholt hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked here as there was nothing else in the vicinity and we wanted to do some walks in the area. The double room was furnished with the very basics and was extremely plain and depressing. The windows were very small so did little to help the general feel. the towel rail was immediately above the toilet which is unhygienic, it could not be reached from the shower and there was nowhere else to hang the towel. The toilet was not fixed down, the door into the shower squeaked so badly it woke the other person at night. There is a notice saying that the cold water in the room is from a spring and was drinkable, ours was warm and must have got mixed with the hot somewhere as it tasted stongly of sulphur and we had to use bottled water - so be prepared and take some if you have to use this hotel. The taps are very difficult to turn off, in fact my husband was had to turn them off otherwise they dripped constantly.We had pre-booked and paid for 2 nights, otherwise we would not have stayed a second. When we arrived back from a very long day's walking the room had not been made up. We told Anna, a very pleasant young woman with excellent English, on Reception and she organised a cleaner and also for us to have a cup of coffee whilst we waited. Anna also stayed and chatted to us and gave us interesting information on Snorri. Breakfast was another unpleasant experience. The policy seems to be not to clear any dirty dishes from the tables until the end of breakfast, consequently on both days we had to eat surrounded by other people's used plates etc. The food was adequate, just, sundried tomato bread was the only option on the first day - this goes well with savouries but not with preserves. The coffee continually ran out and queues formed waiting for it. The dead flies adorning the vases on the stairways had been around for quite a while. We will hope never to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mintpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 nt stay here and would recomend this hotel to anyone.... Fantastic cleanliness and excellent food ..Very friendly and a warm welcome a good tourist hotel and well worth spending 2 nts possibly longer to take in everything in the area.

Room Tip: If theyre quiet ask for a family room these are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzerlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

It seems this hotel used to be a school building. It's a grey two storey building with little character of it own but it's by far the only hotel in the area. It's located in the center of Reykholt, a town so small you can miss it when you blink your eyes. The hotel is perfectly located if you want some of the more remote attractions in the area such as Hraunfossar and Barnafoss or the lava grot Surtshellir.

A very friendly receptionist who spoke English perfectly. The room was clean but showed no charm or atmosphere with little decoration and cheap furniture. The room we had was not so big and so was the bathroom that had little place to store two ste sof toilet articles. There was no hairdryer in the room but you can borrow one at the reception. A very thin pillow and no extra pillow to be found.

Breakfast was ok but a variety of cold cuts and fresh fruits. There is a spa and a (naturally) heated outdoor pool that you can use for free.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reykholt
12.7 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
216 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
20.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
323 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
53 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Reykholt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Reykholt

Property: Fosshotel Reykholt
Address: Fosshotel | on Rte 518, Reykholt 320, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Reykholt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Reykholt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Reykholt 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshótel Reykholt is a cultural theme hotel, based on Icelandic literature, Norse mythology and classical music. This official 3 star Tourist Class hotel includes a restaurant, bar, library, Internet lounge, front desk, outdoor hot tubs, the cosy moon-lounge, wellness center, conference rooms for up to 150 persons and free parking. All guestrooms and restaurant/bar facilities are non-smoking. At Fosshótel Reykholt following room categories are available:•24 spacious superior rooms with bathtub.•29 standard double and single rooms with shower.•3 Family rooms.This hotel is ideal for guests that like to relax in the countryside, enjoy reading, writing and are interested in extending their knowledge of Icelandic cultural heritage.Fosshótel Reykholt focuses also on well being and cultural travel, offering unique facilities based on relaxing, destressing and revitalizing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Reykholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing