We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange but Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breidavik Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I have to preface this review with the fact that I had a strange feeling about this place the whole time I was there. I don't know if it was because it was so far out in the middle of no where. Or if it was because there were alot of people milling about that didn't seem to be tourists and I couldn't figure out if they lived there or worked there or what. But the strange feeling was unnecessary, we had a very nice stay here.

The rooms are set facing a beautiful sandy beach. We had two single beds. The room was clean. There were metal shades that blocked the light. This was great, we were very tired of the light all night by this point in our stay. The shower is weird though. There's 1 push button. You push it and it spits out water for a few seconds then turns off. No control over how long or how hot. It happened to be scalding hot. And I love hot showers. It was too hot for me. I had to run out some of the hot water into the sink before I could shower.

Dinner was at the main building. It was good, but seemed a bit over priced. Get a beer - it's the western most bar in Europe. Breakfast was the standard in Iceland as far as hotels / guesthouses. Cereal, toast, juice.

Be sure to walk out to the beach, it's gorgeous. There's also a pretty church on the hill overlooking the farm.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2008

Breidavik is a working sheep farm with different types of accommodation. It is really in the middle of nowhere, but it is a fantastic location for hiking and bird watching. The Latrabjarg is only 12 km away and it is the one of the best spots to observe cliff birds.

There is a main building for breakfast and dinner and the rooms are located in an annex. Moderate sized room with two single beds, spotless clean, bathroom with shower. Stunning view from the room over a yellow sand beach. Very nice family that really tries to make you feel at home. Wireless internet available in the main building, amazing that it works in such a remote area of the country. In the evening you can have dinner in the bar or you can cook yourself. But just go for the dinner as you will get typical Icelandic home cooked food.

We enjoyed our stay very much and we regretted that we booked here for only one night. The hotel is open from May to September. Wireless internet access in the main building (about EUR 10.00 for 24 hours).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Alain74330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Logi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Aline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La vue ,le calme, pour les ornithologues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aflem2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patreksfjorour
11.1 mi away
Fosshotel Westfjords
Fosshotel Westfjords
#1 of 1 in Patreksfjordur
240 reviews
33.9 mi away
Flokalundur
Flokalundur
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
77 reviews
11.1 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel West
Hotel West
#1 of 6 in Patreksfjordur
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Latrabjarg
Hotel Latrabjarg
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjordur
19 reviews
16.0 mi away
Bjarmaland
Bjarmaland
#1 of 1 in Talknafjordur
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: Breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Breidavik Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing