We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest to the Bird Cliffs”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patreksfjorour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breidavik Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a one night stay here on our driving holiday in Iceland...The room was a bit small for the three of us (hardly any room for the baggage) but this is typical in most of Europe. We are put up on the first floor of the main building. But the setting is beautiful and we clicked some amazing snaps of the beach on our way back from the bird cliffs after dinner. We saw a lot of puffins and other birds from extremely close and it was an absolute delight. The road to reach the guest house and to the cliffs was really bad (we were aware of it...thanks to previous posts on Tripadvisor). Birna was warm in her welcome and gave us very good tips about the cliffs....The only sore point was the church close by was in state of utter neglect which was sad to see....Since we were very tired after the arduous drive and then the long walk across the bird cliffs we gave dinner a miss. wifi Internet was good on the ground floor but did not work in the room.and the host and the staff told us to take advantage of the free coffee/tea on offer which we did. The breakfast was good too with "eggs from the cliff" on the table....all in all a good place to halt if you need to see the bird cliffs and yes it is expensive....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 209 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently spent about 10 days driving the ring road in Iceland. We decided to go clockwise since we were determined to visit the West Fjords and in order to make the ferry, clockwise was the best way to travel.

We booked the Breidavik Guesthouse because of its close proximity to the Latrabjarg Bird Cliffs. Most reviews gave this place a 2 star or less so we were rather apprehensive. One review said the rooms were like containers so we did not know what to expect. Well, we were quite delighted with our experience. We had one of the private rooms that faces the ocean. It was perfectly comfortable and clean. As an added bonus, we enjoyed a magnificent sunset over the bay.

The reviews of the dinners here were also mediocre. However, our meal was just fine. We had delicious fish. The skyr was the best we had the entire trip.

I would recommend this place (booking a private room) without hesitation to anyone traveling to the Cliffs

Room Tip: Book a private room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ninnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want to visit the Látrabjarg bird cliffs, there isn't much choice for accommodation, this is basically it - apart from camping. This Guesthouse was quite typical of the accommodation we found in Iceland. It is located in a nice quiet spot close to the beach. It is about a 20 min drive to the bird cliffs, which can be easily visited after dinner. The access road is not bad for Iceland, but if you are not used to driving gravel roads you might find it challenging.
My husband and I had a small room in the main building with bunk beds (sleeping-bag accommodation). There were two toilets on our floor. The showers were downstairs and through the kitchen/dining area. There are no shops close by, so if you plan to cook you need to bring all your own food.
Dinner is nice and not too expensive compared to some of the prices we paid elsewhere - especially when you consider how remote this place is. The dinner selection was not big (we had the same meal for both nights there); admittedly the first nice we had a choice of fish or lamb, but the second night the only choice was the fish.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpachNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

A stay here is a welcome escape from everyday life. The road leading to Breidavik is no worse than any other maintained gravel road in the Westfjords or elsewhere in Iceland (in our opinion); no need to be intimidated even with a 2 wheel drive. We enjoyed our room in the containers facing the beach for one quiet and peaceful July night. The 3 course dinner was fine albeit not much choice but the only option so close to the bird cliffs. We visited the cliffs after dinner to witness the puffins and other birds returning home for the evening. It was a special experience. Though it is a bit expensive, we recommend this laid back place on the picturesque reddish sand beach.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swimisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you're going to see Latrabjarg, there's not much choice in lodging---this is it! Typical Icelandic country hotel - ie, the "modular" steel-clad 1-story buildings with identical rooms; most hotels we stayed in fit this exact model. Typical of these rooms are very, very tiny showers... be careful turning around in the showerstall, if your faucet has a single-handle---you can easily turn the water to scalding hot in a second, if you bump the handle!)
The drive to Breidavik is intense---much of it is unpaved gravel/dirt roads, full of potholes and some switch-back turns (doesn't require a 4x4, but you will be *severely* jostled on the drive.) It was all brand new to us, so we didn't mind so much---just part of the adventure, as the scenery is so alien, coming from the east coast of the USA!
There's a huge, expansive, desolate beach to walk, a small church and an old cemetery. The place is the epitome of "remote."
The staff was friendly and helpful---Birna, the owner, especially; we had some initial confusion over the room reservation (they use a fairly old-school paper reservation system in the office) but it all worked out. We arrived quite late (9:30pm) and had missed the dinner service---there are simply no other options in this area---yet they were able to pull together some asparagus soup and bread - which was heaven after that long drive!
As one reviewer said, going to see Latrabjarg is a primary reason for lodging here---we too, saw not a single puffin (as we'd longed to see...fortunately ran into hundreds days later, elsewhere.) But Latrabjarg is an astonishing set of breath-taking, somewhat frightening cliffs, and I could have lingered there for many hours, without the (absent) puffins as the main attraction. You truly feel like you're at the end of the world. (And being the westernmost tip of all Europe, you sort of are!)

Room Tip: Note that many of these common modular-type hotel structures have a slide-down metal shade (outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Getting there was quite a nightmare. Terrible road in very bad shape, quite difficult to drive through. However, the location is spectacular, the beach is simply amazing.
Rooms are quite simple (but they have blinds, so you can actually get complete darkness to sleep!), as well as food (a set course menu without many options), but taking into account its remote location I assume that supplies are not easy to get.
Free wifi on the lounge, quite useful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ITQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I visited this property for one night in mid August. My goal was to see the bird life and puffins at the Látrabjarg Cliffs. At this point in the season - very few birds and no puffins. So... if that is your goal beware. There is no reason to pay the prices and make this drive if the birds and puffins are no in residence.

I stayed in the rooms with the private bathrooms. This is a prefabricated block of rooms. Simplistic is a kind description. Survivable for a night. No television, no desk - just the two single beds and the bathroom.

There is Wi-Fi - now free - in the common area - restaurant. Dinner was only acceptable. Starter was a thin soup. LImited choice of two mains. Breakfast was below average for Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patreksfjorour
11.1 mi away
Fosshotel Westfjords
Fosshotel Westfjords
#1 of 1 in Patreksfjordur
238 reviews
33.9 mi away
Flokalundur
Flokalundur
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
77 reviews
11.1 mi away
Guesthouse Stekkabol
Guesthouse Stekkabol
#1 of 2 in Patreksfjorour
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Radagerdi
Radagerdi
#2 of 6 in Patreksfjordur
45 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel West
Hotel West
#1 of 6 in Patreksfjordur
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Latrabjarg
Hotel Latrabjarg
#2 of 2 in Patreksfjordur
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidavik Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidavik Guesthouse

Address: Breidavik, Patreksfjorour 451, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Westfjords Region > Patreksfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patreksfjorour
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Breidavik Guesthouse Hotel Patreksfjorour
Breidavik Guesthouse Iceland/Patreksfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing