We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little guesthouse!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvolsvollur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smaratun Guesthouse
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little guesthouse!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed one night in the Smaratun Guesthouse as part of a longer business trip to Iceland. This was by far the better of the two hotels we stayed in, with large clean rooms, great food and excellent facilities.
Would return again, and would recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice guesthouse+restaurant (fine food nice service).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Planet Insectia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed here to see the volcano while in eruption (it is very close). Rather plain but spacious rooms. Bedding a bit worn so the mattresses are rather soft and saggy. Headboard looked like something out of the '60s with buil-tin radio, etc.
Since it is rural, very quiet other than for the country noises.
Didn't dine in the hotel as the prices were a bit steep and menu didn't look very appealing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVRcockroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

It is an old farm reconverted to an hotel and Guesthouse. You can sleep in a hotel with big, conformatble and ensuite rooms, or in the Ghuesthouse medium rooms wiht shared baths and with a big kitchen to share. We stayed in that one and it was fantastic, clean and quiet. They included breakfast.
You can also walk around with hens, ducks and horses.
Staff very friendly

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaypepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Munich
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

Stayed there in August 2008. Smaratun is beautifully located in the south of Iceland at the road 261 which is ideal for a trip into the valleys of Porsmoerk. Although you don't make it directly to Porsmoerk you see most of the stunning scenery from the 261 and the rivers are not soo deep and can therefore be crossed with a normal 4x4 car.
The guesthouse itself is really pretty. The rooms are large and comfortable, spotless clean and the beds are comfortable (although standing on rolls...)

We enjoyed the free wifi, the parking right in front of the main entrance and the complimentary continental breakfast (only letdown: very cheap orange juice and no eggs and no salmon).
The owners are very helpful and quite charming (at least for Islandic standards).

It's certainly good value for money and absolutely recommendable.

  • Liked — free wifi, clean and comfortable rooms, beautiful surrounding
  • Disliked — only one channel on tv, breakfast did not impress
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

Smaratun Guesthouse was a delight to stay at. Because it was low season (we stayed at the hotel on April 21st) we were pretty much the only guests at the hotel. The room was nice, the continental breakfast was well presented (see photos), and it was so quiet and peaceful! The surroundings were absolutely breathtaking.

The only funny thing that I would mention was that the bed was on wheels...on a tile floor. Oh and the bathroom has the world's biggest showerhead.

All in all our stay was quite pleasant.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Booked a room here with Hostel International. Thought I was booking a room with a bathroom, but when we arrived we were put in a wing at the farm house with a shared WC. Since we were only staying there one night it was OK. The farmhouse has another wing, which is the official hotel and there the rooms are more modern. If you are booking a shared WC, you also won't get towels, although they do provide linens. The farm itself is beautiful. The viewes are stunning and I'd recommend going for a walk just to look around. The farm has horses, but I'd book ahead if you want to take a ride. The dining hall is very good but extremely overpriced. We had an excellent dinner there only to find out that it was $100 for 2. But if you want to experience Iceland a little bit differently, I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mashap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Borg Apartments
Borg Apartments
#1 of 13 in Hvolsvollur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Godaland Guesthouse
Godaland Guesthouse
#13 of 14 in Hvolsvollur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaratun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaratun Guesthouse

Property: Smaratun Guesthouse
Address: Smaratun | Fljótshlíđ, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Hvolsvollur
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Smaratun Guesthouse Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing