We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Property Near Skogar”
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sweet Property Near Skogar”
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Country Anna for one night in late June and were smitten by the peaceful location and antique-d room (room 4) which looked out onto the red roof of the building and the hill and Icelandic horses just beyond. We opted to have dinner at the hotel, which was pleasant (lamb and trout, I think) with a nice girl waiting the few tables of other guests. Room was very clean, with tea/coffee and a hair dryer, and a hotel information book with a few hikes around the area that was much appreciated. The bathroom was a little outdated (we found this in almost all of our accommodations this trip), but also very clean. Breakfast was fine (lots of yoghurt, meats/cheeses, coffee, great homemade jam, etc). Most of all we enjoyed the location of the hotel to Skogar waterfall and to the local hotspring.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meric7117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    104
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
154
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband, my 1 year old son and I stayed 2 nights at Country Hotel Anna. The location and the hotel are beautiful. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lover025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

Location:
My husband and I stayed here for just one night . We checked in after driving from Geysir and Gulfoss. Skogfoss, another waterfall is nearby. Vik about 45 minute drive away but we decided to stay here instead. It was very convenient to stay there during our road trip and easy to find. Note: we rented a car as we drove around the country and it's the best thing to do.

Room:
The rooms were very simple and pretty. I loved that our veiw outside the window was the farm and mountain. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was spacious. Thank god I brought my own toilettetries (lotions, shampoos, etc.) as Icelandic hotels do not offer much.

Service:
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was adequate. We decided to have dinner there as well as we had a difficult time finding opened establishments. It was super nice - homemade meal in a converted barn. Different and refreshing. The staff was extremely friendly.

Overall:
We loved it and wished we stayed for more than a night. Totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This was the best place we stayed in Iceland. There's tonnes of great walking, hiking, horse riding, and waterfalls really close by (literally out the back gate of the hotel). The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was great, and the location is simply stunning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neato451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Anna. We first stayed in room 4 upstairs, which gives you a little more privacy since it doesn't open directly onto the lobby/sitting room. It has nice furniture and an enclosed shower, but it's smaller than the downstairs room 3 which we used later in our trip. The downstairs room 3 has very pretty antiques and is very spacious, but there is no shower enclosure or even a rim around the shower, so we had to mop up the floor after our showers. Perhaps they shower differently there? There was adequate window covering during the bright summer nights. Our host was very nice, and the breakfasts and dinner were good. The best part was being surrounded by farms, with horses and frolicking lambs while we were there in late May and early June. We loved taking a hike around the farms and up into the hills above Hotel Anna; we had the pleasure of being escorted by 2 very friendly sheepdogs. We thought this was a good choice for a place to stay between Reykjavik and Skaftafell.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Given the positive reviews for this place we had high expectations and we weren't disappointed. The location is stunning, hotel is charming & characterful and overall great value for money - by Icelandic standards! The eveniing meal in the little white washed restauarant was excellent and comprised several choices of fish and meat. We liked Country Hotel Anna very much.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

After reading the great review of the Country Hotel Anna in the Lonely Planet book I booked two nights and we were not disappointed. This is a very charming small hotel. The rooms and common areas are decorated in beautiful antiques. Our room was cozy and very comfortable. Our window looked out into a lovely garden. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming.

The breakfast was your typical Icelandic buffet and offered everything we could have wanted. We enjoyed our dinner at the hotel so much the first evening that we decided to have dinner there again on the second night. The menu is limited but the food was delicious and the diningroom is cozy with a nice view of the surrounding mountains.

  • Liked — The cozy quaint feeling
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
9.4 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
11.6 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#4 of 13 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing