We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, small, comfortable, friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice, small, comfortable, friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights (four people) rooms 6 and 7 next door to each other. Very nice rooms furnished with antique furniture .. full of character. Lobby area very nice warm and welcoming. We felt dinner was a but pricey for what it was but a great little hotel ... to be recommened. Take the time to find the indoor hot tub and sauna ... (entrance from outside well to the left of the front door) which does not seem very well advertised.

Room Tip: 6 and 7 have good views of mountains and horses and have their own door to the outside as well as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    101
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
149
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

In a lovely area, waterfalls all around. Some good hiking nearby. The hotel itself was very clean. You can feel "Anna" in the hotel. You see her in the furniture, the artwork and even the food. We had room 1 right off the lobby. Can imagine when it is busier that room might be a pain due to noise. But it was quiet when we were there, and it does have the benefit of free wi fi working in the room. Service was friendly. We ate at their restaurant our first night. 50 GBP for two mains which came with soup of the day, bread and coffee. I also had a glass of wine. Food was fresh and very good quality. We stayed at several different establishments throughout our stay, and this was my favourite.

Room Tip: The rooms right off the lobby have the benefit of free wi fi
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Here we are 3 hours late for our lunch reservation having been Ice Climbing on a Glacier. Not just 1 person, but 14. They were great. We sampled the Lamb and veg soup and a wonderful lunch of medallions of lamb and veg. Seasoned in a delicate way the food was delicious and filling for this ravenous group of climbers. With wine coffee and dessert we were ready to face the rest of the day's adventures. Thanks for a great experience.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jepappeldds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
447 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

First night of a week on Iceland, very welcoming and wholesome food.

Comfortable and simple rooms, rustic dining rooms, hotel set in a farmyard.

Just off the circular ring road around the island so ideally situated for a circumnavigation trip.

Charming host and hostess, great overall feel, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stopped here for a meal between the Glacier walk and looking for the Northern Lights. The food was included in the cost of the combined walk and search for the lights. The meal consisted of Lamb soup or stew and a desert of Skyr. Both were very good and I would recomend the Skyr.

The location is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Floyd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
439 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stopped at Hotel Anna for dinner as part of our tour excursion. We did not spend the night. I'm not certain what hotel guests do there since there is very little around the hotel. For dinner, bread and butter, and water were served prior to the main course of a lamb stew or a tomato soup vegetarian alternative. Both were very good and one could have as many servings as they wanted. Coffee and tea were available during dinner and were part of our dinner package. Alcoholic beverages and soda were available on a pay as you go basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Notley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here on two occasions February,2007, to celebrate my 60th and my daughters 30th birthdays. the setting for this hotel is fantastic, the owners were so friendly and helpful, the homecooked food was to die for. altogether a marvelous stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank confusedddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.5 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Hotel
#1 of 14 in Vik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Skogafoss
Hotel Skogafoss
#1 of 3 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing