We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Accommodation in the Icelandic countryside can often be basic. Country Hotel Anna is no luxurious pad, but it is charming and the warm, friendly family that owns it has an eye for detail. No two rooms are same here, but each is comfortable and well appointed. The entire place has a boutique feel to it. The service standards are high, the meals prepared and served are exceptional. On the whole Country Hotel Anna is among the finest digs in the whole of Iceland.

The location is within easy driving distance of the sights in and around Vík í Mýrdal, Skógafoss, Eyjafjöll and Hvolsvöllur.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    107
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
158
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Country Hotel Anna four years ago and we could not wait to visit again. Both times we stayed for two nights. It is a perfect location for visiting all of the wonderful places in the south of Iceland. Our room was very charming and comfortable. We looked out into lovely gardens. This is a very peaceful place to stay with friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed all of the food we had in the nice little restaurant. If we are lucky enough to return to the south of Iceland again, I would love to stay at Anna again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Really enjoyed our one night there, great rooms, quirky decor, very helpful and friendly staff, lovely location, would happily go back. Very handy for the falls just down the road, worth while going to see it floodlit at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SroobiusPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is a family run concern and is a "country" hotel. It is remote and when we stayed, quiet. I would agree with earlier reviews, in our room off the reception/lounge area you could hear noise when people were there. However as it was so quiet this wasn't a problem. The restaurant was pleasant but lacked atmospere, again in a country fashion and the food excellent and very good value. Breakfast was adequate with enough to fill you up before travelling on.
The hot tub, sauna and changing area was in an attached outbuilding and felt slightly old fashioned, little more than a garage but you're not paying top dollar for this place.
This hotel would suite anyone who stears clear of standard corporate box hotels and is enjoyable for anyone with a sense of adventure. It made a pleasant change.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Country Hotel Anna for two nights in October. We got the recommendation from Frommers and it proved to be quite accurate. Although we wanted to stay three nights, they only had openings for two. At that we were able to make the long drive to Jokulsarlon in the shadow of Vatnajokull as well as explore around Eyjafjallajokull. One more or even two more days would have been perfect. Our room on the main floor was comfortable and the dinner meals were very good. Breakfast was also very good. We didn't use the hot tub in the back. Again a good choice for being somewhat central for exploring South Iceland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Québec
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Beautifully decorated and authentically charming! We have nothing bad to say about this hotel except perhaps for one thing: the bed in our room was minuscule! For this reason, we didn’t have the best night sleep to be honest. On a good note though, we had a private entrance to our room which was extremely useful for us! We were able to sneak in and sneak out of our room on multiple occasions in order to go catch a glimpse of the amazing northern lights! There is also a lovely restaurant in this hotel which we unfortunately didn’t have a chance to try – except for the decent breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

As others have mentioned, I had higher expectations based upon the reviews but I found the hotel to be just above average. The room we had, in the newer building, had ok views (of a field and the parking lot) and an outside door but seemed to try to be "antique." The double bed was quite small and neither my husband or I slept well. Our dinner in the restaurant was okay. Nothing special; just another expensive meal. We did enjoy a nice hike into the hills with the horses behind the hotel. The owners were very kind, and the location is well suited for seeing sights in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,600 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
123 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
199 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
258 reviews
11.6 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#5 of 15 in Hvolsvollur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing