We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy friendly hotel with good food”
Review of Country Hotel Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Hotel Anna
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy friendly hotel with good food”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

A lovely small old fashioned hotel with very helpful staff and excellent homely meals - a perfect quiet rural base for volcano treks in the south and a hot tub that was perfect after a long day. One of the few Icelandic hotels we stayed in that provided tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Walls were thin but this didn't disrupt our sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisounTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    110
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
160
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a one night stay in Reykjavik, we were ready to leave the city and head for the more isolated parts of the island. The Country Hotel Anna proved to be an excellent "jumping off" point for our fthree day exploration of the southern coast of Iceland. The Hotel, itself, is a quaint, seven room, bed and breakfast type hotel. We liked our corner room, on the second floor, which afforded wonderful views of the surrounding area. We especially liked the "tea area" of the room -- complete with two comfy sitting chairs and a nice selection of teas.

The Anna Hotel provided a pleasant breakfast each morning, including fresh, home made bread, various jams, cold meats/fish, cheeses and skyr. We did have dinner one evening at the Inn. It was very good, but a bit of the pricey side. We elected to try other dining venues in the area. In this regard, we did find a delightful restaurant just a short distance from the Hotel, heading east on the Ring Road, just before Local Road 243. It was called the Old Cow Barn. Just opened within the past year, it is a working farm which serves up reasonably priced food to the "locals." I especially liked the chocolate cake!!

From Country Hotel Anna, we took day trips east (to the Reykjadalur Hike) and west on the Ring Road (to Vik). Our fondest memory of the trip was the Reykjadalur hike which, after a ninety minute hike, culminated in a thoroughly relaxing and refreshing soak in the river (heated by the geothermal springs), surrounded by gorgeous scenery. Lastly, within a very short distance of the Hotel is the spectacular Skogafoss Waterfall and the must do hiking trails of Fimmborduhals.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at the Country Hotel Anna. My only "complaint" is that, at least from my perspective, it was pricey. In fairness, however, that just may be the price of visiting Iceland. We paid over $230 per night (all taxes included).

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for a room in the "old" section of the Inn. We had a lovely corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a small hotel sort of in the middle of nowhere, but nicely furnished. They have an excellent restaurant and some wonderful hiking trails that begin right from the hotel. They also have a relaxing hot tub that we had all to ourselves during our 2-night stay. I am a light sleeper, and I did need to use eyeshades at night to block out the midnight sun that made its way around the curtains.

The guy running the place was very friendly and helpful. He also had some good stories to tell about his experiences when the Eyjafjallajőkull Volcano erupted in April 2010, right near this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Country Hotel Anna was the perfect distance from Keflavik airport for our first stop on our Iceland adventure. The hotel only has seven rooms and ours was large with a view east as long as no one parked in our view. Since it was our second night in Iceland we were just getting used to the Icelandic hotel. I wouldn't want to stay in room 6 when it was cold. I didn't see any heat except in the bathroom and the ceilings were high. Bring slippers the floors were tile and cold!! But everything but no fresh fruit at breakfast was perfect. The food was very good. I especially enjoyed the duck. There was excellent skyr at breakfast, which wasn't always the case other places. I found it very interesting to read about Anna, the namesake of the hotel and her adventures both in Europe and the US. There is an interesting exhibit about her. I bought an Icelandic sweater there and after checking prices at a number of other (more commercial) venues the price there was very good and the sweater was exactly what I was looking for. Hotel Anna also has a hot tub, but we didn't try it. There are a lot of hikes from the hotel. We stayed two nights, but longer could be enjoyable.Room 6 had three beds and an electric kettle, the only one we had so far come across. Also included were face cloths, and a hair dryer.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 have views to the west and doors directly outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teafree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Ok hotel, but had higher expectations. The location was very nice and the hotel was even nicer seen from the outside. Somebody had written you could hear people cough through the thin walls, we had a room in the old part of the building and still could hear a man snoring. Helpful staff. The interior was mildly said original, eclectic mix of furniture and other decorations. Spacious bathroom, but wasn't that fresh. The restaurants food was very good, as was the breakfast. The hotel was easy to find from the main road, set in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKSLFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very disappointing. The walls are very thin so can hear every cough from next door. Menu - I had just looke at the horses in surounding fields so particularly upset that horse meat on menu along with minke whale which only dysfuntional people would chose to eat. I suggest boycotting this place until they redo the menu. Also apart from the waitress the other employees were not cosy hosts but young men who did not know how to smile.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luciahelendolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed three nights here and found everything perfectly to our satisfaction. We had a large room with three windows looking in two different equally peaceful directions. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the food is very good, particularly the freshly made bread for breakfast, delicious! The location is very good for a variety of attractions on the south coast. The only thing I would suggest is better fitting curtains on the small windows, as it was daylight all night and on that side of the bed the light was disturbing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
21.3 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,618 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
127 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Edda Skogar
Hotel Edda Skogar
#2 of 2 in Skogar
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
201 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Dyrholaey
Hotel Dyrholaey
#5 of 6 in Vik
275 reviews
11.6 mi away
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
Volcano Huts Thorsmork
#5 of 15 in Hvolsvollur
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hotel Anna

Property: Country Hotel Anna
Address: Moldnup I, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Hotel Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Country Hotel Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Hvolsvollur
Country Hotel Anna Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing