We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average for a 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hvolsvollur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Average for a 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I guess there is not much choice around if you don't want to pay 260 euros a night at the Ranga hotel in Hella!
But by looking at their very professional website and the fact that it is a three star hotel, I was expecting a lot better than this.
At first the receptionist hardly gave any information about the hotel: breakfast time, dinner, bar, wifi?
My room was OK. It looks like I was lucky having a room in the new building. Strangely enough there was no cold water in my bathroom! Well it's always better than no hot water you would say...
But all this would have been OK I guess since it is really in the middle of nowhere.... But for the dinner!
So just don't have dinner here.
Fixed menu with no choice for starter, main course and desert. So if there is anything you don't like, tough luck!
And even if you like it...
Industrial mushroom soup, boiled chicken breast and veggies followed by a tiny creme brulee and all this for 50 euros without drinks of course.
So hotel OK-ish taking into account where it is but restaurant is clearly not.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank T2Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    44
    33
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
45
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
400 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the night and had no complaints. Our room was clean, well furnished, tastefully decorated, and the bathroom and shower were a decent size. The beds were comfortable. We also had a lovely breakfast of a full spread of Meats, cheeses, cereal, breads, and fruit. The staff was friendly and helpful, we certainly would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nutsgoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Poor breakfast, no service, roof leaked in the conservatory dining room area. I found a large fly found in yoghurt. Hotel staffed by inexperienced young folk. Rooms big but not very good curtains in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ps_pause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was that it had a great internet connection. The rooms were old and could stand updating. They did have good blackout curtains. Beds a bit thin. The shower leaked all over the floor; seemed the shower door was just caulked right onto the floor and when the caulk failed, well the whole bathroom got wet. Fairly clean, but yes, sort of hostel-like (as another reviewer mentioned). Food...well, it was the same every day. There were a few large groups and at times not all selections were available. Though would be a tough place if you're a vegetarian. One night horse was served; I do understand that it's part of the culture. Staff members were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

There are so many places to stay, what a pity that I did not check my agent recommendation!
The hotel is located alongside route 1. The room is far away from being hotel room: it should be a hostel room.
The staff is great as in most places in Iceland.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank openhorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hvolsvollur hotels

israel
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is on the route no. 1. Gives a good spot location, if you are on your first day on the golden circle from Rekyavick. The hotel serves mostly groups with no attention to drive alone tourists. The rooms are very poor and old.
Very noisy breakfast restorant - but many choices.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are on the parking area. Take second floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel was indeed a nice surprise since it has all conveniences (or at least most of them) you'll expect from a 3* hotel on an European standard.
Although the rooms are old, they're tidy and spacious. We even had (free) Wifi in the room although the connection was quite bad. Even the noise immission is less than in other hotels! However, the sink in our bathroom had no sieve, so any small piece (e.g., ring) which falls in the drain is lost forever.

The dinner buffet was very good and offered a variety of food (e.g., horse meat!) which was very good and tasty. The service was friendly and helpful. On the other side, the breakfast buffet was quite limited (e.g., no honey) and the arrangement could be improved.

Although the "town" Hvölsvollur has basically nothing special to visit it is well located for a starting point to trips to the national park skaftafell. The hotel itself is quite close to the gas station (5 min walking distance) and thus close to a supermarket and bank.

Room Tip: As for many hotels in iceland i would recommend a room in the 2nd floor (which are all rooms with 3X...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciboxx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
18.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Borg Apartments
Borg Apartments
#1 of 12 in Hvolsvollur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hvolsvollur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hvolsvollur

Property: Hotel Hvolsvollur
Address: Hlidarvegur 7, Hvolsvollur 860, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hvolsvollur 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hvolsvollur is a 3 star hotel located on the South Iceland.We are well located in close proximity to the great natural wonders of the South Iceland; Eyjafjallajokull, Thorsmork, Landmannalaugar, Seljalandsfoss, skogafoss, Vestmannaeyjar and last but not least the setting of the famous Njal's Saga. The hotel has 64 rooms in total, all with private facilities. Each rooms is equipped with tv, alarm clock, hairdryer and free wi-fi. Two outdoor jacuzzi are located on the rooftop. Hotel Resturant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hvolsvollur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hvolsvollur Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing