We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendliest staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hvolsvollur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The friendliest staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Outstanding service from the hotel staff and the rest of the locals were ridiculously willing to help as well! The breakfast is nice and the rooms are HUGE! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helgabryndis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    33
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
45
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The building could stand to be updated a little, but the service was excellent, the room was gigantic (and clean!) and I couldn't have asked for a better night's sleep! I was only there one night, but very much recommend Hotel Hvolsvollur to any traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaiBoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel has a pretty old feel to it, which is OK...just my first impression. The room is pretty large. I stayed there in November, and I'm the only guest. Bathroom is clean. But like couple other hotels I stayed while in Iceland, they don't have shampoo, conditioner or shower soap. They had a pump in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

We used this hotel as a base for our excursion to the Westman Islands. It is about 15 minute drive to the new ferry terminal. It is located on a side road several blocks from the heavily traveled ring road #1. The hotel is reasonably modern, with moderate size rooms with traditional hotel decor. Room had closet, 3 chairs, desk, small analog t.v., space to open up two bags, and (unusual for Iceland hotels, apparently) also a clock and kleenex. Windows open for fresh air. Lighting in the room was good. Beds were narrow--just 30 inches wide. WiFi available in the lobby. Some rooms (including mine) are adjacent to the road, with traffic noise apparent during the daytime. At night traffic was minimal. Request a room in the wing away from the road if noise is an issue. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Dinner was excellent; breakfast, while not exceptional, was very adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in a tripleroom for three nights. The room was very large and the bathroom ok. Dated but clean. Unfortunately wasn´t the TV or internet working during our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service was good.
The breakfast was a buffet and it had a lot to choose from. I´m allergic to milkprodukts and it was no problem to get soyayougurt. You could buy a buffet during the evening, and it was a little bit expensive at first we thought but it had really a lot to offer. Again there were no problem to get milkfree food.
It has been very expensive to buy alkohol in Iceland, but not now. A pint of beer and a drink came on 10-12 euro.
The location is great with Porsmörk, Skogafoss and Wik nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank consa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The rooms were large, had a good night sleep. Food was reasonable though I ate better in other places in Iceland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

The exterior of this hotel is drab and when you enter the carpet looks worn out. But this is deceptive, for the rooms at Hotel Hvolsvollur are probably the largest of any hotel in Iceland! In-room wi-fi is free. Breakfast is average.

This is an excellent base for excursions into interior areas like Thorsmork and the southern Highlands (Landmannalaugar etc).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
18.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
27.1 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hvolsvollur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hvolsvollur

Property: Hotel Hvolsvollur
Address: Hlidarvegur 7, Hvolsvollur 860, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hvolsvollur 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hvolsvollur is a 3 star hotel located on the South Iceland.We are well located in close proximity to the great natural wonders of the South Iceland; Eyjafjallajokull, Thorsmork, Landmannalaugar, Seljalandsfoss, skogafoss, Vestmannaeyjar and last but not least the setting of the famous Njal's Saga. The hotel has 64 rooms in total, all with private facilities. Each rooms is equipped with tv, alarm clock, hairdryer and free wi-fi. Two outdoor jacuzzi are located on the rooftop. Hotel Resturant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hvolsvollur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hvolsvollur Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing