We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms and good breakfast”
Review of Hotel Hvolsvollur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in a tripleroom for three nights. The room was very large and the bathroom ok. Dated but clean. Unfortunately wasn´t the TV or internet working during our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the service was good.
The breakfast was a buffet and it had a lot to choose from. I´m allergic to milkprodukts and it was no problem to get soyayougurt. You could buy a buffet during the evening, and it was a little bit expensive at first we thought but it had really a lot to offer. Again there were no problem to get milkfree food.
It has been very expensive to buy alkohol in Iceland, but not now. A pint of beer and a drink came on 10-12 euro.
The location is great with Porsmörk, Skogafoss and Wik nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank consa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 137 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

The rooms were large, had a good night sleep. Food was reasonable though I ate better in other places in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The exterior of this hotel is drab and when you enter the carpet looks worn out. But this is deceptive, for the rooms at Hotel Hvolsvollur are probably the largest of any hotel in Iceland! In-room wi-fi is free. Breakfast is average.

This is an excellent base for excursions into interior areas like Thorsmork and the southern Highlands (Landmannalaugar etc).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voiceofgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We statyed here for one night on our way to Rejkjavik. The standards for acommodations in Iceland is below the US, but we found this a very good hotel for an overnight stay. The rooms are very large and clean. We had a very nice, above average size bathroom with hot water and a great hair dryer. We had the buffet dinner which was excellent with a huge variety of fish, meat, vegetables, desserts, The breakfast was a small buffet, but more than adequate. The manager who greeted us was very friendly. Also, it was very quiet so that we could get a good night's sleep on our long journey. They also have free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exobscurislux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Our check in host, Hrennin, greeted me by name as I walked up to register. He helped serve with dinner and heated up some soup for my children in the kitchen as they didn't care for the buffet.

He introduced my husband to several local guys celebrating a bachelor party (which he then crashed).

The room was large but dated, bathroom was small. The dinner buffet was one of the best meals we had in Iceland. I highly recommend it.

We chose to stay here on our way to Skaftafell instead of Vik because the hotels in Vik all had poor reviews. I would recommend this as good stopping point from Reykjavik and the Golden Circle.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Schmidtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank qinxian2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank liliancb_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
7.7 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
540 reviews
18.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 3 in Hvolsvollur
288 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
21.5 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
212 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Fljotshlid
Hotel Fljotshlid
#2 of 18 in Hvolsvollur
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hvolsvollur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hvolsvollur

Address: Hlidarvegur 7, Hvolsvollur 860, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hvolsvollur
Price Range: $138 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hvolsvollur 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hvolsvollur is a 3 star hotel located on the South Iceland.We are well located in close proximity to the great natural wonders of the South Iceland; Eyjafjallajokull, Thorsmork, Landmannalaugar, Seljalandsfoss, skogafoss, Vestmannaeyjar and last but not least the setting of the famous Njal's Saga. The hotel has 64 rooms in total, all with private facilities. Each rooms is equipped with tv, alarm clock, hairdryer and free wi-fi. Two outdoor jacuzzi are located on the rooftop. Hotel Resturant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hvolsvollur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hvolsvollur Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing