We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cozy place but very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Country Hotel Anna

Country Hotel Anna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Soups, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country Hotel Anna, which is listed on Trip Advisor, was originally just a restaurant - it's at the same location.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cozy place but very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We only visited the restaurant there. It was very cozy indeed and service was ok. But the food was incredibly expensive. We would have expected a 6 course dinner for the price we paid for a medicore meal there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichaelRostgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    52
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Glad we took the gravel road to this tiny place at the foot of a mountain. What a special old-world atmosphere, with old pictures throughout the small restaurant.

We were the only customers and received wonderful service from the young waiter. First we had the hearty meat and vegetable soup with bread. Then we oohed and aahed over the rhubarb cake with ice cream.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank houdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Middle of nowhere surprise...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a wonderful tour of glaciers and black beaches etc. Beautiful place - they were expecting us and are used to feeding the group - had both a veggie soup and a lamb stew plus a very wonderful pumpkin seed bread - or something. Very good - maybe we were just hungry but most went back for seconds - some for thirds. Very comfortable and warm. We would definitely LOVE to spend a night here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was March when we visited for lunch and off-season, but our guide phoned ahead and booked us in. It's a lovely rustic little place and the food was delicious. Just what we needed when coming in from the cold. Delicious soup and bread followed by lamb with potatoes and vegetables. It was very well cooked and only cost about £8 each so was a true bargain. We would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
166 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

In a peaceful countryside location, Anna offers rustic charm and an interesting backstory – there really was an Anna, who became a traveller and author despite having a modest upbringing and only 4 years of formal education. There are interesting exhibits about her in the bar and the staff are happy to explain them. Our room, number 3, led straight off the reception but it’s a small hotel so not too noisy. Both breakfast and dinner are served – the dinner menu is limited to 3 fish and 3 meat dishes, the three meat choices when we stayed being lamb, horse and whale! Soup of the day is included in the price of dinner and free wifi is provided.

Our room was charming and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities, but the shower is very weak and the water here is so soft it’s a challenge to wash off the soap.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TRC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Hotel Anna also viewed

Hvolsvollur, South Region
 
Hvolsvollur, South Region
Hella, South Region
 

Been to Country Hotel Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing