We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - with horses!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fljotshlid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fljotshlid
Ranked #1 of 14 Hvolsvollur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - with horses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel section and really enjoyed it. This is a beautiful rural area.
We took a short walk to visit the horses - our first encounter with the Icelandic variety. They were very friendly and full of personality.
We had a fantastic dinner the first night. So good we went back the next night too. Great food and charming service.
Rooms are good. Breakfast very nice, includes farm eggs and home made preserves.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikesandtunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
41
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The scenery is beautiful at Smaratun, the people are nice and the atmosphere is very relaxed -although there is plenty to do. As for a countryside visit in Iceland, it doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valborg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went to Hótel Fljótshlíð in February with a friend. We had the best dinner and the service was great. The host gave us great informations about activities in the neighborhood. I'll wisit Hótel Fljótshlíð again it felt like home

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agustst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This family owned establishment was well worth the extended drive to get to it. To find it on Road No.261 (off Route 1) just note that the right hand turn off indicates Smaratun, but not the name of the hotel. On arrival there was a large group of teenagers (American) so we were a little concerned about noise etc, but they were very well behaved and accommodated at in a separate building, so absolutely no problem. We had a lovely room overlooking the farmlands on the right side of the main building's wing (after having requested a change from the left hand side which overlooked the parking area). All staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful and we had a very nice dinner at the hotel (there is nowhere close by to find a meal) and the breakfast buffet was also plentiful. The rooms were quite spacious, very nicely decorated and with good bathrooms. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get off the main route a little and be in a rural environment. Wish I could remember the name of the family member who was both on Reception and served us for dinner - she was a pure delight!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking farmland rather than car park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was our best stay in Iceland by far. The rooms were simple and clean with typical icelandic architecture (think dark curtains and furniture). In the Lonely Planet book it stated that the hotel's owner gives a free guided tour of the area with stories about the volcanoes and birdlife. I took a chance and asked her if she was going to give a guided tour on the day. Even though she had not intended to, she was gracious enough to post a sign for a guided tour 5 minutes after we asked her. I would highly recommend that you ask for this if you go. The tour was fantastic and gives you first hand stories of the 2010 volcanic eruption and imminent threat of other volcanoes. Her knowledge on this was excellent.

I would highly recommend staying here. The food was also excellent (prepared by the co-owner).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a cabin, not in the hotel. The hotel is quite isolated and therefore it is a quite place to stay in (when guests behave - not a problem for us as the cabins are several hundres of meters away from the hotel). We went to the hotel restaurant and had twice the menu of the day. We liked ity very much. Wifi (500 ISK) is available in the hotel. We only took one breakfast in the hotel as we were disappointed by it. The cabin was spacious except for the 'main' sleeping room. The kitchen could have been better equipped. Horse lovers will be impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mandmflanders2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here almost by accident. The Hellisholar Cottages double-sold our booking and this was the next place over. What a score! The staff were lovely, the food was great, and the price was fantastic. We stayed in the guesthouse and it was no problem with privacy or access to the shared bathroom. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hvolsvollur
14.0 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
12.6 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Skogar
Hotel Skogar
#1 of 2 in Skogar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eldsto Art Cafe / Bistro / Pottery / Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Hellisholar Cottages
Hellisholar Cottages
#1 of 1 in Fljotshlid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fljotshlid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fljotshlid

Property: Hotel Fljotshlid
Address: 861 Hvolsvelli | Smaratun, Hvolsvollur 861, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hvolsvollur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hvolsvollur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fljotshlid is a pleasant country hotel in the region of Fljotshlid, one of the most beautiful farming districts in Iceland. It's located 13 km from the town Hvolsvollur. The hotel has 14 spacious rooms with private bathroom and cable TV in each room. Breakfast is included in the price. Unlimited wireless internet access is free for hotel guests. A hot tub is located on-site. The hotel is located on the working farm Smaratun and a stay there will give you a touch of the daily life in Icelandic countryside, with closeness to nature and local culture. Smaratun intends to operate sustainable, bearing in mind the interests of future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fljotshlid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fljotshlid Iceland/Hvolsvollur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing