We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations”
Review of Hotel Hella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hella
Ranked #9 of 11 Hella B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We booked our trip on the 26th of April and suppose to have reservation at this Hotel. We figured since we have a paid reservation we thought we can arrive when ever we feel like. When we arrived there around 5 we were told that the Hotle overbooked and they waiting for a bus load of people. I don't think is i fair that they bump you off just because same travel company brings a busload. So we were send across to a camping/trailer/cabin place. The cabin was very small and had no TV. We had no complain about the food there but the room was not at all what we had reservation for and no discount or refund was offered. I would not recommend this Hotel at all just because of the reasons mentioned before hand.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Rene1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 140 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed here the night after we had stayed at the Fosshotel in Skaftafell. Considering this was half the price of Skaftafell were weren't sure what to expect - particularly as it does look a little utilitarian from the outside. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was spotlessly clean, plenty of space and the showeroom clean and functional. The rate included breakfast with all the options you could want and was well supplied by the staff. There was a large coach party staying when we were there but the receptionist had warned us about it when we checked in. She also recommended eating dinner at Arhaus acrosss the road which was a good choice in a town with few options.
There isn't a lot in Hella but it was a good starting point for our backwards 'Golden Circle'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HUNTINGPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Despite its decor from the 1960's and its outside appearance that is not extraordinarily inviting, the rooms in this hotel are very clean and, I suppose newly renovated. The style is from a different era but the beds were comfortable, the lighting was good (very often, we thought the lighting was poor in the Iceland hotels), the staff was very courteous. Buffet-type breakfast is included and the choice was good, especially considering that when we visited (last week-end of April), only one other family was there at the same time we were and that we showed up at 10pm the previous night, without a reservation. In summary, good service, very clean, good breakfast, charming people. Good place to stay in transit to the East or on your way back to Reyjavik.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDucharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

This hotel was a good place to stay after visit the golden circle. There is free internet access but only in the lobby.

Near is the restaurant Arhus where you can eat quite well and by a reasonable price.

There is nothing to see and to do in Hella. It is only a stopover or as a base for your activities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalan_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Stayed here for one night on a group tour of Iceland. Stayed in room 23 (see pics in paparam's review), which was clean and comfortable - more like a typical UK/US hotel than the other places we stayed in Iceland. There was a large restaurant where we had breakfast - all the usual fare which was regularly topped up by the cheerful waitresses, plus a lounge area with TV. There was also a TV in our room but we didn't use this as well as wi-fi acccess in the reception area. All in all this was a comfortable place to stay and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferguspaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed only one night at this establishment earlier this month. I was immediately struck by the pleasing decor - see the photographs in paparam's report - spacious communal areas with squashy leather seating , lots of golden wood tastefully teamed with dark green carpet and curtains on the staircase, corridors and bedrooms. Both bedroom and shower room were spotlessly clean, well equipped and well maintained - very welcoming to any traveller.

Late in the evening someone was kicking a ball about in the caravan site across the road but when that noise ceased there was silence........... I slept soundly and awoke to silence next morning.

Splendid buffet breakfast spread. I would have liked a mug rather than the small coffee cups which have to be refilled several times (though I think I saw someone with a larger cup) and some labelling - particularly on the diversity of spreads and liquids available.

This hotel is situated in a quiet spot near the petrol station, bank and supermarket. The "nightlife" - eating and drinking establishments - seem to be all on the other side of the Ring road, along the river bank.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pausilypon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had a confirmed reservation for a double room via the Fosshotel website. When we arrived, we were told that someone had mixed up something with the reservations and they offered us a camping cabin on the neighbouring campground. As a compensation, the hotel offered us a bottle of wine and free dinner. At least in financial terms, this deal wouldn't have been unfair, but we had not booked for a stay on the campground!
When we checked out, we saw the reservation for a bus tour on the reception desk, made 9 days later than ours. Obviously, the hotel had accepted a bus tour although they hadn't enough rooms. So they sent an individual guest to the campground. This seems to be a not uncommon practice in the Nordic countryside, as it happened to me before at a hotel in Northern Norway.
From an economical point of view, I understand the hotel management - if they had honored my booking, they probably wouldn't have sold all their hotel rooms for that night. But if they prefer bus tourists, they should accept individual guests as walk-ins only.
I stayed at another Fosshotel, where the stay was completely satisfactory. Nevertheless, I have lost the confidence in the Fosshotel reservation system.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Service
1  Thank rwernli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
564 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 11 in Hella
247 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Vos
Hotel Vos
#1 of 8 in Hella
30 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hella

Address: Thrudvangur 6, Hella 850, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: $92 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hella 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hella is a 2/3 star type tourist class hotel offering 35 rooms with shower/wc and 18 rooms with shared facilities. Situated in Hella village just off Iceland's Ring Road, Hotel Hella offers a convenient place to stay for tourists travelling around Iceland. Hotel Hella has free parking and the local gas station and supermarket are located just one minutes' walk away. Selfoss is the largest town in the South of Iceland and is located 35km away. Guests can choose from single, double or triple rooms with private facilities. All of these rooms have recently had Wi-Fi installed for uploading all your great pictures! We also have double rooms with shared facilities and guests can access Wi-Fi in public areas. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it is served each morning in Hella Hotel's dining room. Arhus restaurant is located just across the street and serves a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. Also at Arhus there is an information centre where you can find out about popular activities in the area include hiking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hella Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing