We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, very friendly staff, great food, beautiful setting”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Having planned to stay 2 nights at Hotel Ranga, we eventually left after 4! The hotel is in the south of Icelend, and ideally located to explore the beautiful sights in the surrounding area. I would recommend hiring a car and driving down from Reykjavik - it's an easy drive and there was little traffic on the roads.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, without being intrusive. Every day they were able to arrange and advise on activities and excursions in the local area.

The food in the restaurant was also great - highly recommend the fish soup!
Also a fabulous bar area with big leather sofas to while away your time drinking expertly mixed cocktails.

Free wireless internet throughout the hotel was an unexpected bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank real_ramona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2009

I found Hotel Ranga a great place to stay if you're looking to unwind and relax. The scenery while sitting in the outside hot tubs during snowfall is a fantastic experience. There isn't much to do in the surrounding area except for horse ridding, so if you're not into that then it's a chance to relax.

The hotel room was very cozy and well serviced. The restaurant food was superb! I found the hotel personnel very friendly and helped plan activities for me.

For those who get the chance to stay outside of Reykjavík, then make this a planned stop-over. It's also a great place to see the Northern Lights (in winter) if you are there on the right night. But there's no guarantee!

Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
2  Thank wheresjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We recently stayed at Hotel Ranga for a long weekend and had a fabulous time. The rooms were lovely, very comfortable with hot tubs just outside the rooms overlooking the river. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food was great and it was lovely to have views of the surrounding area from the restaurant as it was all glass. We stayed during the snowstorms and it was stunning. We would recommend staying here to anyone, but don't expect cheap prices in the restaurant as it is A la carte so nothing is basic food. Breakfast is well catered for with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Stayed here for two nights at the end of February and had an amazing time. We'd booked into a deluxe room but were upgraded to a suite which was huge with gorgeous views across the river. We were really lucky and saw the Northern Lights both nights. Being in the middle of nowhere definitely helped and the hotel manager is an expert at interpreting the forecasts, he's also really helpful for planning days out. This hotel is great if you want to get away from it all. It's really remote and there is absolutely nothing around but that's the best thing about it. The drive east to Vik is stunning and well worth a day exploring. The only slight downside is the restaurant food which is very expensive even by Iceland standards. After just two nights we felt totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunders100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Everything about Hotel Ranga was perfect, from the stunning location to the kind staff, they really did make our wedding day at nearby Oddi Church utterly magical. We now cannot wait to return, every anniversary if we could!! There is so much to see and do, the outdoor hot tubs were divine, the food was gorgeous, the rooms were so comfortable, and the suite was out of this world! Thanks again to everyone there! Sarah & Ben Thomson x x x

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Thomson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have just come back from a family post-Christmas break in Iceland for 5 nights.
After spending 3 nights in Reykjavik, we took a public bus to Hella.
It involved a change of bus at Selfoss but everything went smoothly.
The Hotel Ranga is a 5 minute taxi ride away from the town centre of Hella and off the main road N1. It is in a very quiet location with a river running behind the property.
We were given two adjacent rooms on the ground floor. The suites are on the upper floor, each with their own themes (the hotel manager gave me a guided tour!) and they are all very unique.
We spent two nights there and the food was excellent. I had lobster soup and catch of the day (highly recommended) and the restaurant has a good collection of wine.
There were lots of selection at the buffet breakfast and the boys particluarly enjoyed making their own waffles!
We used the hotel as a base to visit the nearby waterfalls, glacier and the "black sandy beach" of Vic. It will be useful to have your own car, or to join tours. We had a car for the day and it was very easy to drive around (you can't go wrong with only one main road).
The General Manager and his team there were extremely helpful. They gave you "northern night forecast" and would swith off the lights at the hotel to enable guests to watch it if it happened. Unfortunately the weather conditions were not favourable while we were there and so we did not see it - good reason to go back!
As there is no light pollution at the hotel, it would have been an ideal spot for watching the northern lights - especially from one of the hot tubs outdoor outside the rooms.
We had flat screen TVs in our rooms with BBC, ITV, Flim4 channels. We could even borrow DVDs from the reception but we did not need to as the boys enjoyed playing at the pool table.
The hotel team there is very hospitable and it was great to see the GM and MD speaking to the guests and giving tips on where to visit etc - the good old-fashioned hospitality!
Thank you for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank etravelcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Lovely hotel, with hot tub right outside our room. Nice 'cabin' style room and lovely bathroom. Excellent service at Reception, restaurant etc.

This was the only hotel in Iceland we ate an evening meal at - and forums suggesting Iceland is expensive for food are not wrong! We did have 4 courses and wine but £150 just about covered it! Needless to say why we only had one 'special' meal! Stayed at Hotel Budir and Klauster also. Ranga was the most convenient, especially if your stay is short as is relatively close to the Golden Circle etc, and the local towns have much more amenities than you will find elsewhere away from Reykjavik.

Breakfast was the best we had, and generally the hotel was the nicest we stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobwebsinthecloset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
517 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
280 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
132 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $337 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing