We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel With Excellent Service and Fine Dining”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel With Excellent Service and Fine Dining”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Iceland can be a scary place when your used to living in or near a city. We drove for miles with nothing around until we arrived at Hotel Ranga. We were pleasantly surprised with the courteous staff and our room was amazing. They have 4 themes suites on premise and we stayed in the African Safari suite. It was incredibly spacious and luxurious. The beds were so comfortable. The view on the balcony was mesmerizing. The staff was very helpful in helping to set up the excursions that weren't too far away. The dining experience was fine dining at a high level. The wait staff was very attentive and the chef created a personal experience with us. In fact, we dined their twice, and the chef had a puffin starter dish made especially for us. We both had the lamb that evening and when it took longer to prepare, the waitress showed up with complimentary lobster soup, which was delicious. We never complained, but the chef was disappointed that the meal did not come out at the appropriate time. Very thoughtful and appreciated. The hotel itself was built with relaxation in mind. Everything there is inviting and has a cozy feel. Great place to relax, unwind, and forget about life for just a moment.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    368
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
256
940
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

When it comes to hotels situated near nowhere, the most interesting ones have been cultivated by an owner committed to a clear vision. This is case with Hotel Ranga, where the result is a wonky wonder 100 km southeast of Reykjavik. The exterior is a odd cross between a roadside inn and a log cabin ranch ... with multiple hot tubs. The comfortable sleeping rooms are uniquely decorated with kitsch destination themes. But the big delight here is the quality of the restaurant's food and wine cellar. This is a wonderful stepping off point for touring the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordancorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
431 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014

not our style.
4 star hotel in the middle of nowhere. Hotel is not our style: dark and old fashioned interior. Small room, hardly any space to put your luggage or move around. Our room was warm and stuffy but when I opened the door to the ‘garden’ the room was full off flies within minutes. Very noisy minibar, which I shut off in the middle of the night. Friendly staff. Nice but very expensive restaurant, excellent breakfast buffet (unfortunately with flies in the restaurant).Excellent beds and very good Wi-Fi. Not sure to us why this is a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel is on a plain in the middle of nowhere, but creates its own little luxurious world with a ranch/ log-cabin style, complete with a huge stuffed polar bear in reception, a games room with a light-shade made of reindeer antlers over the billiard table and polar-bear skin on the wall and some fascinating art and artifacts, including a beautiful quilt representing the map of iceland. There was a well-stocked mini-bar in our room at reasonable prices, and a jacuzzi in our bathroom and luxurious bath robes. Dinner was truly outstanding - the highlight was salmon caught in the river that runs right outside, though the chocolate fondant served with ice-cream and fruit for dessert was also very good!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The room is lovely, the views are great and the reception staff helpful. And then we went to the restaurant. Sitting down at 7.30pm, our starters arrived - very good and tasty. Then an hour and 10 minute wait until someone came and asked if everything was ok. We still had not received our main course as our order had been 'lost'. Finally got food but by then appetite had disappeared. Offered free deserts or a drink but by then didn't want anything else. Still had a bill of £110! Our table appeared to not belong to any waiting staff and no one took responsibility. As soon as the error had been noticed, previous waiting staff avoided us like the plague! Unfortunately this was supposed to be our 'highlight' hotel and was found very lacking. Will not revisit

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Hotel Ranga sits by a small river and has great views. The grounds as so peaceful. The room was extrememly large and the bathroom was fantastic (compared to other Iceland hotels). We enjoyed the hot tub and the views from our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

You are driving along Rt. 1, truly enjoying the scenery yet seemingly in the middle of nowhere, and see a small sign for Hotel Ranga - STOP, turn now and get there! This place is just perfect. Understated on the outside, not an eyesore whatsoever on the beautiful countryside - obviously the benefactor of incredible vision brought to life by a quality architect - and pure luxury on the inside.
We stumbled in here after treating our rented 4x4 to several hours on F-roads. Feeling and looking dusty and tired we walked into the lobby and directly to the restaurant, in need of a good dinner. Despite our extremely casual appearance not one staff member batted an eye. They seated us immediately and began to serve a truly wonderful meal. Culinary joy as each dish came to us. The Lava beer was an excellent addition. A true stout, at 9.6% also a quick way to down the equivalent of nearly 3 light beers.
My "local chicken" dish was exquisite, as was the green salad starter. The salmon, the mountain lamb, the multiple ice creams for dessert - all of it absolutely wonderful.
We will absolutely return and when we do we will stay for a couple of days as we make our way around this beautiful land once more.

Room Tip: From what I could see all of the rooms have a wonderful view. Personally I think I would prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
42.2 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing