We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in quiet situation”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in quiet situation”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely ranch type hotel we had a room looking out over the river and hot tubs. Everything was clean and well laud out and organised. This hotel is in middle of nowhere nearest tone is Hella about 5 mins drive away where there is a couple of cafés and a garage. The hotel restaurant is very over priced and very slow we had 4 main courses and some drinks at a cost of £150. We waited over an hour for our meal and when it arrived it was nothing special considering it's price tag. Everyone was very helpful though and it is a lovely setting. We will definitely go here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CORNISHGIRLXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    370
    103
    28
    4
See reviews for
260
952
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed six marvelous nights at Hotel Ranga in March. We were hoping to see, and photograph, the dancing lights of the aurora borealis.
The hotel location is lovely: rural, and nestled alongside a river. It is a joy to get outside and walk about this property, and once outside, one has easy access to neighboring locations for continuing to walk and drink in the fresh air and serene vistas. One of our favorite sights was the wild swans in the river.
The food is first class. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet each morning, and the dinners are always a special treat.
Aurora hunting, of course, is totally dependent upon the weather, and we were blessed with wonderful auroral displays on three of our six nights. The hotel offers an “aurora watch” signup list, where you can choose to have a telephone call to notify you right in your room if the aurora shows up! No worries! As for weather variety, we experienced both clear days and days of heavy snowfall!
The staff is totally attuned to friendliness and helpfulness. They arranged a taxi to transfer us from Reykjavik to the hotel, and then to transfer us to the Keflavik airport at the end of our stay. While we were at the hotel, they amazed us with their efforts to provide for our needs.
We were travelling with friends, and we had plenty of time to enjoy the pool table and the hot tubs. We even visited the new “observatory”, which has two classy telescopes and a motorized roof which pulls open to allow star gazing.
How highly do we recommend Hotel Ranga? Well, we made reservations for another week there in 2015!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star_Peepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were swapped to the Hotel Ranga by our booking agent after our original hotel decided to recind our booking (the owners wanted to go on holiday!!). Fortunately the Hotel Ranga was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the dining room superb for evening light and vistas. Our room was perfect and the hotel's lounge was full of comfortable sofas and great for relaxing after a long day sightseeing and a good evening meal. The hotel's location, about 90-100 minutes east Keflavik airport, and a few miles east of Hella, is great for exploring the south coast of Iceland, the golden circle, Gullfoss, Pingvellir, Seljalandfoss, Skogafoss, and eastwards to Vik, and even as far along as the iceberg lagoon at Jokulsarlon (a very worthwhile 3 hour drive one way).

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms face the river or the car park - those facing the river have nice views and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyboutUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by this place on our journey east. It was very well situated right off of route 1, between skogafoss, geysir and gullfoss. The view was lovely over looking the river, and the food was very good.

Overall service was excellent, but I thought the dining service could have been a bit better. Breakfast was also plentiful and of high quality, but the menu didn't change during our three day stay.

Rooms were clean and modern.

I'd recommend this place nonetheless as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dollarwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hotel Ranga is a very nice hotel, though not a luxury hotel, probably a 4 star in this part of the world where there are no 5 stars. We think Hotel Ranga and the Volcano Hotel are probably the nicest choices in south Iceland. The rooms are good sized, very clean and comfortable. It is a good base to explore the western side of south Iceland, and to begin or end the Golden Circle. The restaurant is expensive (as is all food in Iceland) but outstanding. We were not lucky enough to see the Aurora. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just had the most wonderful stay at Hotel Ranga. The staff are just fantastic, so friendly and welcoming, really helpful and aiming to please whenever they can. It starts at the top: the manager is great, he makes so much effort to ensure his guests have the best stay, he personally came to talk to us each night and helped us to decide on our daily destinations. Everyone smiles! Even at 5am, the night porter was so helpful, he looked up the road conditions for our trip back to the airport, advised us and even fetched our carry-out breakfast. Our room was most comfortable (worth upgrading for a bit more space), well kept with nice furnishings. The food was excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. The countryside around the hotel is beautiful and the drive to Vik past the volcanoes and waterfalls worth doing. And to crown it all, we even saw the northern lights on our last night! Because there is so little light pollution around the hotel, it was great viewing and the night sky is filled with stars the like of which I've never seen before - and they now have telescopes for viewing. If you want possible downsides, the hotel is remote and the drive from Reykjavik over the glacier was pretty scary the evening it was blowing a blizzard. You need to drive (or be driven) as there is no nearby alternative for dinner or nightlife. But would I go back? Absolutely, it was one of the best long weekends I've ever had. Thank you Hotel Ranga.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are north facing so will see the lights without going out in the cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We loved our stay at the hotel Ranga. The rooms were nice and thebreakfasts were great. The restaurant is also brilliant - I think our favourite dishes were the reindeer carpaccio, cod, salmon and lamb, all of which measure up very well against posh London restaurants. The beds were comfortable. It is in a great location for exploring the golden circle and also the Southern Ring Road. We managed to drive all the way to the glacier lagoon and back in one very long day but it was definitely worth doing. We stopped to do a hike on the glacier at Skaftafell which was amazing (book in advance). We enjoyed the hot tub and the hotel was lovely and warm. We also saw the Northern Lights which was a great bonus.The staff were also very friendly and exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeFan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
27 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
267 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
117 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing