We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - will go back again if in Iceland”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights as a party of across two double rooms.

Well located between Vik and the Golden Circle and the best out of all of our hotels in Iceland (others included Glymur and Ion).

Jacuzzi style bath in room - too busy to use it!

Great service (meals, receptions, attraction advice, bar), very good bar, super food. Very popular, with revolving tours passing through which the staff were well prepared for and did not affect our small group. Food and drink prices reasonable for Iceland.

Comfortable large lounge area.

Aurora spotting service was good - lights turned off outside hotel to provide better viewing experience.

The direct area was a little flat and dull, but that was not a factor here.

Would return here for sure!

Room Tip: Our rooms were standard class to the far eats of the main building. The rooms exited to the north o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdeenshire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed three nights in the Hotel Ranga in the Royal Master Suite. What a wow factor when we first arrived in the room really didn't want to leave could have stayed for the week.
very large spacious room, large bed so comfortable, Jacuzzi in the middle of the room!!, drinks cabinet, fridge, writing desks, leather sofas, two telly's, French doors out to the hot tub. Well what more could we ask for? Yes even the Northern lights appeared for two nights. The staff ring to tell you the lights are out and even in the night if you request it.
Food was excellent but expensive but we did expect that for Iceland.
We had some fantastic trips out in the super jeeps. Highly recommend this Hotel, Iceland and all it stands for can't wait to go back hopefully next year but only in the Royal master suite!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyHickman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms and beds. All the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. When the Northern lights appeared during our evening meal the owner came to each table personally to let us know that we could walk outside and then had our food taken back to the kitchen to keep warm! Fantastic service and attention to detail. The reception staff are knowledgable and helpful making suggestions for how to spend your day and pointing us in the right direction for hidden local gems. 5 gold stars

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Xtivoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February. The physical facilities of the hotel are fine, but the remarkable aspect of this hotel is the service. Everything we asked for was delivered promptly and with a smiile. Oh, and the breakfast was excellent. I wish I could find a hotel like this in NYC.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if you want to be close to the hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puggie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

stayed one night at the end of a winter northern lights tour and was wowed by this hotel. Warm, quirky and set on the banks of a river where you can sit in the hot tubs on the patio and drink gin, watch the sun set and get icicles in your hair. comfortable rooms, good food, friendly service and away from light pollution so a great place to watch for northern lights. staff will wake you if you request it and although i usually grumble as i always get put in a room facing the carpark, best not to complain here as thats the side that tends to get the northern lights so when you are frozen solid from being outside you can watch from the comfort of your room. great breakfast compared to many places in iceland. would have liked a longer stay but would happily return

Room Tip: northern lights appear carpark side but view to river is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmsHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel has a great location for views of the lights- uninterrupted by most other light pollution and in a remote location. Food and service are excellent. Quality of accommodation was a bit disappointing

Room Tip: I travelled with a friend and we had a twin room overlooking the car park- not the best location- as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pogleswood186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are not sure why but we got upgraded free to a junior suite which made for a grea stay, This suite was a very comfortable and spacious room with a balcony, It had and excellent bathroom complete with a huge jacuzzi bath decorated with an Australian theme [thought the Australian bit was a tad odd given the location !]. Terribly dim lighting in the main room though, so bad that we had to go into the better lit bathroom in order to read the map when planning our day's adventures.

Food here was easily the best we had in Iceland. The salmon with white chocolate sauce and strawberry sounded suspiciously OTT to me but turned out to be delicious, the lamb was also very good. Starters were great, in particular the smoked puffin, but very small portions indeed for the price.

The hotel is easy to find and well located for trips. The spectacular scenery in the region simply took out breath away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
550 reviews
5.1 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
41 reviews
21.4 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
354 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
286 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $329 - $1,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing