We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Very impressed. Great venue, log cabin overload... In a good way! Friendly and accommodating staff. Food was exceptional. Aurora watch called us in good time. All around a great hotel. Bar staff were very friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    380
    103
    28
    4
See reviews for
270
963
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our stay at Hotel Ranga was far from great. The view is spectacular and the staff is very nice. The rooms are small but the bathrooms are spacious. We couldn't get to the hot tubs - there was so much ice. The deck off of our room was completely covered in ice and it was so slick we could not walk outside. We tried several times but kept slipping. I don't like getting injured while visiting another country so we skipped it. Most of the hotel was taken up by a large group and we got the impression/vibe from them that we were intruding.
We had a horrible experience at the restaurant. Again this had a lot to do with the large party also staying at the hotel. Clearly the chef was overwhelmed and took it out on the food and the other guests. I give a detailed description in a separate review of the restaurant.
The location is great for touring South Iceland. But the rooms are average and not worth the inflated price. Perhaps if I had been able to book a suite I would feel differently about the hotel. Maybe, hard to say for certain. Also this hotel is okay for travel with kids as is just about everything in Iceland.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

A welcoming comfortable hotel. Rather small rooms- we were on the south overlooking the river (better view) and by a hot (actually a little cool) tub. Excellent food - we dined in the restaurant 2 nights. An upstairs lounge we only discovered on the 2nd night. Very efficient staff. We did see the lights, but we re-named the the Northern Glow, as we saw a light green ish glow from the north, with the occasional light beam. Yes- photos after long exposure look fine, but actual viewing underwhelming. But cant blame the hotel for that!

Room Tip: We preferred having the view and access to the tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanworth in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Unfortunately we didn"t see the lights but this hotel is worth a visit but just for one night as it is very expensive and nothing to do.
The food is excellent though, the service is good, mostly Polish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine3ii3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon. The staff is very nice, helping us decide on what to do and what sights we should see. We stayed in the "Africa" suite after booking a honeymoon package and upgrading. It was STUNNING. Secluded, rustic, and a wonderful place to stay if you want to see more than just the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in January February 2014 in the hope of seeing the northern lights. we weren't disappointed. We had a South facing room which wasnt ideal when looking out for the lights. The weather was dreadful, but that just added to the warm cosy log cabin atmosphere. we ate in the restaurant only one night as its very expensive, the other nights we had bar food. Whilst expensive the restaurant food was very good, real foodie gourmet stuff. Make sure you have good footwear as the car park was like a skating rink. Also people in the hot tub could be quite noisy which you can hear from your room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Spent two nights here for our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel is easily found and in a beautiful location. We had booked a deluxe room but the hotel kindly upgraded us to a junior suite. We were allocated the Asia suite which has a Japanese theme. It sounds ungrateful to say that the room was not at all comfortable. The bed was very hard and there is nowhere for (non Japanese) people to sit comfortably. However, the hotel itself is excellent. It is clean and very well presented. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The owner is a wonderful chap, friendly, helpful and willing to give advice and guidance. The food here is excellent. The breakfast choice is superb and certainly sets you up for the day. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are more than sufficient and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolecatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
127 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
272 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
331 reviews
23.5 mi away
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
Hotel Vestmannaeyjar
#1 of 3 in Vestmannaeyjar
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing