We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Country Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The entire hotel is made of imported logs and so cozy. We had a deluxe room that was large with a huge bathroom and huge whirlpool tub. There are also several outdoor hot tubs that face a meandering river. Big, fluffy bathrobes are provided so you can make it to the hot tub in comfort.

The hotel has one of the best stocked bars I have ever seen. The chef is very good. The menu is excellent and should satisfy any gourmand. We enjoyed a dinner with Frethrik, the owner, one evening and had a delightful meal.

We put our name on the list to be awakened to see the Northern Lights but had no luck. But we are already planning our next trip back to the Hotel Ranga. We want to do another longer glacier walk and go scuba diving.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room if possible
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammercollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with our 7 year old grandson. Wonderful! After a long day touring it just gets everything so right. The views are stunning, especially in the dining room with the windows on three sides. Great fun sitting in the hot tub (put on a hat if there's a cold wind).

The food is beautiful and the staff know their menu and are very happy in their work.

The owner of the hotel is always visible. He has made a brilliant place, we will be back.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank 411susanj411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Ranga Hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. Very relaxing place. The staff were exceptional and more than happy to help with any queries or just see that you were ok. Our room was great, beds were so comfy, huge bath and stunning views across to the mountains and a hottub right outside. We didn't eat in the main restaurant but ate off the bar menu each night and the food was great. Bar area was very cosy great space for a quiet drink after a busy day exploring. Breakfast was delicious with a huge choice something for everyone. We hired a car which I would highly reccommend and found everything we wanted to see easy to find from the hotel. To top it all off we had been at the hotel less than half an hour before reception rung to tell us the lights were out although they were light we saw them and were very grateful for the call or we would have missed them. Although Ranga is a slightly more expensive choice I would definaltely recommend it to anyone and hope that we have the pleasure to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our tour took us here after a long and fulfilled day of activities so that we might have a chance to view the Northern Lights. I'm not sure what other hotels are in the vicinity, but this is an excellent choice.

First, let me say this hotel is in the middle of no where and that's part of its charm. It looks outside rather boring and like a long log cabin but it is beautifully built and furnished inside. Rooms are typically Icelandic small but fine. I was not a fan of the large spa tub that acts as a shower with no shower curtain--makes a mess. Beds were comfortable.

Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. They allow you to sign up for the Northern Lights and will wake you if they come out. Unfortunately for us it Was cloudy but at least we got to sleep in. There are hot tubs outside scattered around which were great to use after a long day hiking and traveling in the bus.

The restaurant was a great affair and a great square room with views on three sides. The food was the second best we had in Iceland and top notch. I had the fish special of Char and some type of local flounder and the portions were extremely generous. I also got to taste the lamb which was excellent. The Chardonnay recommended by the staff was very god and reasonable priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarienJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We really enjoyed the luxury of staying at the Hotel Ranga as our trip to Iceland was coming to a close. The hotel is beautifully appointed and the standard of food was very high, though a little pricey. Very friendly reception staff pointed us to the wonderful little visitor centre a short drive away to see and hear first hand what happened to the family that were living beside the volcano when it erupted - an amazing story of triumph over adversity. The hotel is also close enough to travel along the coast and back to experience the dramatic waterfalls, black sand beaches, archway and basalt columns on the shore. Look out for the ferocious waves breaking, I not only lost a camera and a mobile phone, but also my dignity as I had to change out of soaking wet clothing having been nearly washed away!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_Epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit to the Hotel Ranga and we were not disappointed. The service is friendly and efficient - nothing is too much trouble. Great quality food - we tried most things on the menu. We didn't catch the northern lights so will have to come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The title sounds like I'm going to say bad things about the hotel - I'm not really. It was a fabulous location, the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and the food was fantastic. We had a river-side room (no 22) which was quite small, the bedspread had a hole in it and the sink unit in the kitchen was suffering from having the shower water run down the side - (the wood was delaminating and peeling away) - this was doubtless due to the fact that the curtain-free shower was just so damned good (I defy anybody to spend less than 10 minutes under it at full heat)

The room had direct access to the hot tub right out the back door and I completely agree with whoever said to buy yourself a couple of bottles of wine at the airport duty free for sipping at your leisure in it - this is an absolute must. Be aware though that the hot tub is directly in view of the restaurant so you will have an audience for whatever you get up to!

Also note that the water in the hot tub is not chlorinated so you need to have a shower before you get in - and also that if you have the world's worst head cold when you bathe in it, you will pass that head cold on to the next poor sap who takes a dip (perhaps on their first night and so has to spend the rest of their holiday doped up to the eyeballs in order to breathe) - thanks for that.

The included breakfast was first class, most European preferences were catered for - there was (fantastic) Bacon, sausage, Egg & beans, Hard and Soft boiled Eggs, cold meat & cheese, waffles to make yourself, cereals, a selection of fresh breads, juices, fruit and a great scandinavian fish selection.

Dinner in the restaurant is a big deal - this is clearly an establishment which likes to make an effort. The style is a bit nineties nouveau for my taste - there's a lot of foams, elaborate stacking of small morsels of food, swooshing of sauce and geometric crockery going on - sometimes to the detriment of portion size ... the "country platter" starter advertises itself as coming with blue cheese for example: my wife's came with 4 crumbs of cheese no larger than a fingernail each - and this was no oversight - they were very deliberately placed ;-)

It must be said that the food tasted uniformly excellent and if you make sure to stick with the fish dishes you shouldn't be so disappointed on portion size - the lobster soup is to die for and the fish of the day is normally a very safe bet. Do be prepared to pay for it however. We walked away on our first night 25,500 Kr lighter (that's about £150) after 3 courses and a glass of wine each. I know Icelandic food is expensive, but we have paid half that for better food elsewhere in Iceland (Salthusid, Grindavik; see other review)

The bar offers a choice of less expensive meals which can be eaten upstairs in the more informal lounge area. If the burger I had is anything to go by, these offer far better value than the restaurant - you get a good plate of good quality, fresh food for reasonable money.

If I were spending more time in the the hotel then I'd be more concerned about the lack of "social space" it had to offer (particularly given the small size of a standard room) - the upstairs lounge was a bit out of the way and deserted feeling at the beginning of our stay, but then I'm not one for "hanging out" in the hotel.

All in all Ranga offered a very welcoming stay in a great, romantic location for exploring the south of Iceland. We weren't lucky enough to catch the Northern lights while we were there but I can't imagine a much better location for viewing them - the hotel is in the middle of a huge flat plain with volcanoes and glaciers dotting the horizon and the skies around seem simply enormous.

I got the feeling that the hotel was perhaps targeting a different clientele - slightly older and richer than us perhaps - but that they went completely out of their way to make us feel as welcome as possible.

Room Tip: River side rooms (Even numbers in our wing) have a better view and the hot tubs but don't get th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
517 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
280 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
132 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $337 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing