We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for three nights and can not speak highly enough of the staff. Extremely friendly and informative they helped make a good break a great one ! Accomodation is very good and the restaurant first class. The 'hot tubs' [my wife and I had one outside our room] are a boon. Ideally situated and perfect for seeing the Northern Lights.

Room Tip: You would have to try very hard to find a bad one !
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is a delight!!! It is well managed, lovely to look at, comfortable to sleep in, the bar is cosy and well stocked, and the restaurant has some of the best food I have eaten in the world. The owner is there all the time asking if everything is going well and his son, David, went above and beyond to find and connect an American football playoff game for our party of 6 to watch one night on the television. Everyone on the staff has only one thing in mind - to make your stay fun and comfortable. I would stay here again in a minute, and if you are going to be nearby, you should too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akp1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is renowned as a place to enjoy the Northern Lights;sadly we only saw them on one night of five, and then briefly. The food is gourmet, although limited for a long stay. The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful, and attentive.
Our room was not very large, and unlike others did not have a sofa, just one easy chair. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. A serious and dangerous fault is the floor tiling in the bathroom. On two or three occasions one of us slipped on stepping from the bath, as the tiles are very slippery.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a great night here on New Years Eve and it is a very pretty hotel. A couple of things to think about though....if you go during a holiday season expect EVERYTHING to be closed. We were also told that our only dinner option would be the hotels super expensive new years eve dinner, which after paying a lot for the hotel it self wasnt really an option for us. Everybody who worked at the hotel were super nice but the rooms were pretty basic. My favorite part of the stay was having an amazing breakfast in the dining room while watching the sun rise (late breakfast since the sun doesnt rise until 10/11am in the winter). We did not see northern lights but they will call you when they show up if you want them to - many hotels in Iceland offer this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaLing81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Ranga for four nights in early January and had a wonderful time. Our room (a superior/deluxe) was very comfortable with a large bed, sofa, plenty of storage space and a lovely big bathroom. Yes, the hotel is well insulated and feels rather warm but opening the window in our room worked for us.

The food, both in the restaurant and room service, is delicious - my OH declared the fish soup the best he had ever had!

The staff, manager and owner are outstanding. They go out of their way to make your stay memorable and always take the time to suggest places of interest to visit and assist with planning the route etc.

The Northern Lights appeared one evening and are magical to see - do make sure you tick the form at reception every day if you would like to be informed if/when the Lights come out.

Superb!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are probably a little quieter. The Northern Lights appear on the car par...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summertimeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I think most of the reviews of the hotels says it all - so I'm not going to repeat them all.

To summarise - comfortable rooms; great hot tubs; fantastic meals.

We stayed just before Christmas & the two nights they had a Christmas Buffet. Fine for what it was, but a bit confusing when they offered "2 for 1". I did check at the time before we booked in and was told 2 meals for the price of one (which was about £50 - so not cheap for a single meal - but okay for two evenings). It was only when we went to pay the bill that they meant 2 for 1 for the 2nd evening. Slight hic-up, but they did only charge us for the single nights meal.

What I do want to report are the things to do nearby.
> Geysir - bit of a distance, but if you're on your way from or to Reykjavic, well worth it
> Gullfoss - ditto
> Volcano museum - you know the one - that only the locals can pronounce - ran by a lady who livesunder the volcano & had to get out quick. She tells a personal story which is just great.
> black sands. was soooo windy when we went, we were litterally blown off our feet. Rock formations similar to the Giants Causeway in Northern Ireland.
> Hot Spring swimming pool. The receptionist told us about this. it was up a small single track road - then cross country by a river for 10 - 15 mins, where about 80-90 years ago a swimming pool was built against the side of the volcano - with a pipe from a hot spring to fill it. Although about -5 outside, in we jumped. Can't say it was as warm as the hot tub, but was a lovely experience (check out the photos).

Oh - and forgot to say - we saw the Northern lights both nights. Funnily enough, the photographs came out better than you can see with the naked eye, with a 45 second exposure.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cravenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ranga for 4 nights 2nd week in December 2012. We had a standard room which was a little tired generally in appearance and things like a hole in the bedspread and a loose bath panel didn't live up to our expectations of a 4 star Hotel. It is more like a Motel. The food was excellent and does rate as 4 star quality although the menu is a little limited for a 4 day stay. Service at dinner was very slow and erratic especially if they had a large party to cater for. Breakfasts were equally good and plenty of choice although having tea and coffee in hot flasks at the buffet seemed a little down market. The staff cannot be faulted in any way they are always there to help and ensure that you make the most of your stay in Iceland. They spent considerable time explaining the best routes for us to take on our days out and marked our map with points of interest to stop off at. The outdoor hot tubs are a great way to unwind with a drink before or after dinner and watch the stars. If the lights do make an appearance the staff are very quick to let you know if you wish to be notified. The upstairs lounge is a great place to relax with a drink or coffee. Unfortunately for us there was a large wedding party the last 2 nights of our stay and the noise from their dining room (very close to the lounge) made it uncomfortable to sit there so we were forced to find somewhere else to sit away from the noise. Overall we really enjoyed our trip to Iceland and would consider returning sometime.

Room Tip: If you are booking a standard room make sure it is on the river side as you have direct access to th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
518 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
280 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
132 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $337 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing