We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place in an amazing country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ranga

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing place in an amazing country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Where to start....the food is excellent. No, it's not cheap, but the quality is amazing, and even staying 4 nights we easily found something different to eat each night. The make your own waffles at the breakfast buffet was particularly appreciated! The staff (in particular Emi in the restaurant) were great - attentive, thoughtful, helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a Deluxe room (no Standard rooms were left when we booked 6 months ago..) and it was a lovely, decent sized room - little short on space for suitcases, but the bed was comfy and the sitting area was good to have. The main highlight for us was the Northern Lights, and the reason we had gone to Iceland. We were very lucky to experience a dazzling show one Tuesday night. The wake up service means you'll never miss them, and the manager's enthusiasm for them, and the design & decor of the hotel, shines through. The unexpected snow on the day we left was pretty, and helped by reception loaning out ice scrapers and information on the main roads! The *only* thing I could comment negatively about was the extractor fan in the bathroom - it was pretty much useless and after two showers, left our room humid and damp, even if we left the fan on whilst we had dinner. But a short blast of near-Arctic air from our bedroom patio doors soon put paid to that!

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Hotel Ranga. It's an excellent location for touring the South, easy to find, and easy to hole up in if (when!) the weather turns inclement. No, there are not a load of facilities, but if you want a comfortable, welcoming stay, where the food is impeccable, and the staff are equally as good, then this should be your destination of choice for South Iceland!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the river and hot tubs, this seemed better than one facing the car park - thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shortperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    358
    100
    27
    4
See reviews for
253
910
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked the hotel for 2 nights based in TA reviews - 3 girls sharing a room - ostensibly to see the Northern Lights in this remote location. Alas they didn't make an appearance during our visit but we had a really good time nonetheless . The staff are helpful and friendly, our waiters were personable, knowledgeable and well informed on the food and wine choices - we had the special menu one night - 5 courses with specially selected wines and each course and wine choices were explained and debated which we really enjoyed. The menu based on traditional local icelandic dishes was excellent. The manager spent at least 5mins with each table asking about our plans and checking everything was ok and these touches made us feel very comfortable and added to the overall ambience of the place that they really want you to enjoy yourself. The outside hot tubs were a big hit - I won't forget jacuzzi'ing with a shower cap on (to stop head from freezing) drinking champagne whilst it snowed for a very long time!! The rooms were fine - we had a standard room and no complaints. We also visited the local waterfalls and booked a glacier walk with a local guide through the hotel. The glacier was a magical experience, trekking in crampons to the top of the glacier with only us, the glacier and the guide for as far as we could see. On our final morning we woke up to about 3ft of snow - very magical. We did get to see the NLs by the way from Stokkesseri and the Northern Lights Inn, so all worked out fine in the end. Ps there was a Fantastic Polar bear in Lobby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_RocheLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations during our stays there last week. I say 'stays' because the third night of our four night stay was elsewhere, and when we returned for the fourth night we were very pleasantly surprised to see we'd been upgraded from a junior suite to the amazing Antarctica master suite.

The Asia suite we stayed in the first two nights was special enough, with all kinds of authentic touches in the decor, including a tiny square wooden bathtub that was great fun, but realistically only suitable for little people like us! However the huge Antarctica suite was something else, with large windows to three sides, two large balconies, an enormous double jacuzzi bath and dazzling decor.

We were lucky enough to get northern lights on three of our four nights in Iceland, and the display on our last night at Hotel Ranga was out of this world, starting mid evening and apparently going on right through until 7.00 the next morning. The charming hotel manager stood with us for a while as we watched and gave us the benefit of his knowledge, which was really appreciated. Anyhow the hotel promotes itself as a great place to view the lights and we can testify to that.

We ate in the restaurant on each of our nights there and found the food consistently delicious, and with more generous portions than you normally expect from a restaurant of this quality. I can highly recommend the smoked puffin! Of course the food is pricey, but in our view the quality made it good value for money bearing in mind Iceland is generally expensive for foreign visitors anyway.

Breakfast was top class with the waffle machines proving particularly popular, and with an extensive choice of hot and cold food, all very fresh.

All in all, full marks from us and we intend to visit again in the summertime.

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked small (but still nice) so if you want space and are prepared to pay for it, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a two night stay at the hotel which is lovely. The food is good and presented very well by the friendly staff. If the Lights make an appearance when you are in bed the reception will telephone you which they did on our stay. There are three outdoor hot tubs and in our case, the nearest one to us was directly outside our room(room 34) and we used it on both nights when the temperature was -4C you do not want to get out!

Room Tip: Room 34 for the hot tub facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyandgiselle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a fab hotel. Our trip was organised by Weekend a la Carte (who we can highly recommend). Hotel is in a great situation - a 2 hour drive from Keflavik Airport - we hired a car for the very easy journey. Spent 2 nights but wished we'd spent our entire 4 day break there (moved on to Rekyavik). Restaurant food and service was exceptional, and the breakfast had everything you could want - excellent choice of continental - meat, fish, cheese, fruit, egg as well as "English" - although we can't comment on that as we stuck with the wonderful continental! Little things like providing both soft and hard boiled eggs make a difference! Also they don't charge for water, no extra for room service and free wi-fi. This all makes for a really good feeling that everything is paid in the room price. No hidden extras. The Manager was very hands on and attentive to all his guests. Great sitting in the hot tub outside our room (river facing) waiting for the Lights - which did appear when we'd just got to bed around 11.! You can request a call should they appear - which we did - and out we went to see for ourselves. No light polution in this area so a great location for this activity. One great activity we enjoyed from this area, was with 'South Coast' in a Super Jeep, driving offroad through rivers etc and to the Glacier/Volcano. Bit of hiking even though we had appalling weather - but it made no difference to our enjoyment of the trip - torrential rain and wind! We went for a drive along the black beach to finish off with and a superb day. Can definitely recommend Magnus who was ready for anything, informative and helpful and gave us a great day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - the hot tubs are outside there too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Icelandic holiday. It's about 2hrs drive from Keflavik airport. The hotel is excellent staff are friendly and will ring you in your room if the Northern Lights make an appearance (they called us 3 times while we were there).

The restaurant is quite nice and the food is of a very high standard. The hotel breakfast is nice - a hot and cold buffett.

The rooms are very comfortable and have everything that you'd need - including free WiFi throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room for access to the hot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morganmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a holiday arranged by the Icelandic specialists Discover the World and dined at the hotel throughout our stay.

The hotel is accessed from Route 1, about 8 km east of Hella, but sits back a long way from the road on the flat plains and open countryside along this stretch. An ideal spot for aurora watching if you are lucky – about which there are useful notes in other reviews.

All staff were welcoming and spoke excellent English. The charming hotel manager would also chat to guests individually after dinner. Food on the whole was excellent and portion sizes were generous. The restaurant staff observed the pretentious 'fine dining' flourish of explaining the ingredient of every item on your plate which becomes a little wearisome. Enjoyment of our final dinner at the hotel was hindered by a raucous group from the Icelandic highways department who had been holding an awayday at the hotel, but the roads are excellent so we forgive them. Breakfasts were excellent with a large buffet of hot and cold items.

Our room was fairly compact and because two single beds had been pushed together to form a double, the central bedside table that held the reading lamp was now positioned on one side leaving a very tight squeeze between the other side of the bed and the wall. As I think most bedrooms in the hotel are of this size, it might be more practical to specify twin beds rather than a double. The bathroom was big enough however to accommodate a corner bath/shower with abundant hot water. Wardrobe and storage space was adequate although a couple of coat hooks wouldn’t have gone amiss. A kettle was provided but tea and coffee supplies were somewhat rationed while the mini-bar was well-stocked. The room had blackout blinds which will be appreciated by summer visitors. Two efficient radiators and a towel rail fully met our heating needs. The hotel's wood construction and low ceilings also contribute to a cosy atmosphere.

One of three steaming hot tubs on the south side of the hotel was situated outside our room - all rooms on this aspect having a back door and a bench seat viewing the river.

Hotel Wifi was excellent and reliable. A laptop was also provided in the reception area for guests' viewing.

The weather was unsettled during our visit to Iceland and we saw little of the Northern Lights (although a great deal of snow and ice!), but we had a great stay at the Ranga and were very sorry to have to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side give access to the hot tubs and have views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.6 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranga 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing