We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel exceeded our expectations during our stays there last week. I say 'stays' because the third night of our four night stay was elsewhere, and when we returned for the fourth night we were very pleasantly surprised to see we'd been upgraded from a junior suite to the amazing Antarctica master suite.

The Asia suite we stayed in the first two nights was special enough, with all kinds of authentic touches in the decor, including a tiny square wooden bathtub that was great fun, but realistically only suitable for little people like us! However the huge Antarctica suite was something else, with large windows to three sides, two large balconies, an enormous double jacuzzi bath and dazzling decor.

We were lucky enough to get northern lights on three of our four nights in Iceland, and the display on our last night at Hotel Ranga was out of this world, starting mid evening and apparently going on right through until 7.00 the next morning. The charming hotel manager stood with us for a while as we watched and gave us the benefit of his knowledge, which was really appreciated. Anyhow the hotel promotes itself as a great place to view the lights and we can testify to that.

We ate in the restaurant on each of our nights there and found the food consistently delicious, and with more generous portions than you normally expect from a restaurant of this quality. I can highly recommend the smoked puffin! Of course the food is pricey, but in our view the quality made it good value for money bearing in mind Iceland is generally expensive for foreign visitors anyway.

Breakfast was top class with the waffle machines proving particularly popular, and with an extensive choice of hot and cold food, all very fresh.

All in all, full marks from us and we intend to visit again in the summertime.

Room Tip: Standard rooms looked small (but still nice) so if you want space and are prepared to pay for it, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a two night stay at the hotel which is lovely. The food is good and presented very well by the friendly staff. If the Lights make an appearance when you are in bed the reception will telephone you which they did on our stay. There are three outdoor hot tubs and in our case, the nearest one to us was directly outside our room(room 34) and we used it on both nights when the temperature was -4C you do not want to get out!

Room Tip: Room 34 for the hot tub facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyandgiselle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What a fab hotel. Our trip was organised by Weekend a la Carte (who we can highly recommend). Hotel is in a great situation - a 2 hour drive from Keflavik Airport - we hired a car for the very easy journey. Spent 2 nights but wished we'd spent our entire 4 day break there (moved on to Rekyavik). Restaurant food and service was exceptional, and the breakfast had everything you could want - excellent choice of continental - meat, fish, cheese, fruit, egg as well as "English" - although we can't comment on that as we stuck with the wonderful continental! Little things like providing both soft and hard boiled eggs make a difference! Also they don't charge for water, no extra for room service and free wi-fi. This all makes for a really good feeling that everything is paid in the room price. No hidden extras. The Manager was very hands on and attentive to all his guests. Great sitting in the hot tub outside our room (river facing) waiting for the Lights - which did appear when we'd just got to bed around 11.! You can request a call should they appear - which we did - and out we went to see for ourselves. No light polution in this area so a great location for this activity. One great activity we enjoyed from this area, was with 'South Coast' in a Super Jeep, driving offroad through rivers etc and to the Glacier/Volcano. Bit of hiking even though we had appalling weather - but it made no difference to our enjoyment of the trip - torrential rain and wind! We went for a drive along the black beach to finish off with and a superb day. Can definitely recommend Magnus who was ready for anything, informative and helpful and gave us a great day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - the hot tubs are outside there too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our Icelandic holiday. It's about 2hrs drive from Keflavik airport. The hotel is excellent staff are friendly and will ring you in your room if the Northern Lights make an appearance (they called us 3 times while we were there).

The restaurant is quite nice and the food is of a very high standard. The hotel breakfast is nice - a hot and cold buffett.

The rooms are very comfortable and have everything that you'd need - including free WiFi throughout.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room for access to the hot tubs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morganmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a holiday arranged by the Icelandic specialists Discover the World and dined at the hotel throughout our stay.

The hotel is accessed from Route 1, about 8 km east of Hella, but sits back a long way from the road on the flat plains and open countryside along this stretch. An ideal spot for aurora watching if you are lucky – about which there are useful notes in other reviews.

All staff were welcoming and spoke excellent English. The charming hotel manager would also chat to guests individually after dinner. Food on the whole was excellent and portion sizes were generous. The restaurant staff observed the pretentious 'fine dining' flourish of explaining the ingredient of every item on your plate which becomes a little wearisome. Enjoyment of our final dinner at the hotel was hindered by a raucous group from the Icelandic highways department who had been holding an awayday at the hotel, but the roads are excellent so we forgive them. Breakfasts were excellent with a large buffet of hot and cold items.

Our room was fairly compact and because two single beds had been pushed together to form a double, the central bedside table that held the reading lamp was now positioned on one side leaving a very tight squeeze between the other side of the bed and the wall. As I think most bedrooms in the hotel are of this size, it might be more practical to specify twin beds rather than a double. The bathroom was big enough however to accommodate a corner bath/shower with abundant hot water. Wardrobe and storage space was adequate although a couple of coat hooks wouldn’t have gone amiss. A kettle was provided but tea and coffee supplies were somewhat rationed while the mini-bar was well-stocked. The room had blackout blinds which will be appreciated by summer visitors. Two efficient radiators and a towel rail fully met our heating needs. The hotel's wood construction and low ceilings also contribute to a cosy atmosphere.

One of three steaming hot tubs on the south side of the hotel was situated outside our room - all rooms on this aspect having a back door and a bench seat viewing the river.

Hotel Wifi was excellent and reliable. A laptop was also provided in the reception area for guests' viewing.

The weather was unsettled during our visit to Iceland and we saw little of the Northern Lights (although a great deal of snow and ice!), but we had a great stay at the Ranga and were very sorry to have to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side give access to the hot tubs and have views over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a great place! Lovely location but sadly no Northern Lights.
Good location for the Golden Circle.
The staff here are just incredible - polite, very knowledgable and highly professional.
Restaurant is excellent but perhaps portions slightly on the light side.
Breakfast is great.
Bathroom slightly tired and would have preferred separate shower as opposed to standing in bath.
Quite expensive but not overpriced given the professionalism shown by all staff

Room Tip: We had a normal room as opposed to a more expensive luxury suite and it was absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Unfortunately only stayed one night as was on a fly drive tour of the South coast. From check in to check out everything about the hotel was faultless. Room very comfortable with door straight onto terrace and hot tub (robes and slippers in your room for this) . Pushed the boat out for dinner and had three courses with the wild goose and reindeer for main. All courses excellent. The drinks are more expensive than back home but they are everywhere in Iceland. The beer prices were average for the country and yes if you have a bottle of wine it is ouch but by the glass acceptable.
Breakfast is amazing with a huge selection of hot, cold, cereals, cakes, home cooked breads, really something for everyone.
The location is remote in so much Hella is about 5 mins away by car but that is the beauty of the hotel and is ideal for viewing the Northern Lights (unfortunately we were unlucky...again!).
It is very peaceful and the whole place has an aura of calm and sophistication without being pretentious.
We will return if we do the South coast again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
136 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $331 - $1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing