We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly restaurant service”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly restaurant service”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

One of the best hotels during our 3 weeks vacation in Iceland. We had the Artic family suite and the room was hilarious (refer to photo). The kids loved it. The view of the room into the wilderness. The restaurant was delicious, especially their salmon in 3 ways. The waiter was extremely friendly and the owner visits each table to chat. We loved our trip in Iceland and we absolutely want to visit again this country in another season (hopefully to see the northern lights) and we will definitely return to Hotel Ranga.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anebot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    370
    103
    28
    4
See reviews for
259
952
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel Ranga was a nice place to stay. The room was clean and had a large bathroom. We ate dinner at the restaurant which is upscale for the area. The food was okay but not as great as it was made out to be. I would stay again but maybe eat dinner somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

It has taken me such a long time to get around to writing this review - we spent new years here last year (or the days leading up to NYE anyway, as the hotel itself shuts on new years eve and new years day). I wouldn't recommend going to Iceland and staying anywhere else, it just wouldn't be the same experience. When we arrived (after a good 2 hours of driving in a tiny tin can of a hire car through deep snow on unlit roads...) we were greeted by friendly reception staff who casually let us know that they had upgraded us to a junior suite free of charge!!! We were both so pleased! We were going to celebrate an anniversary as well as new years eve, so we were over the moon about the free upgrade - so nice of them. We were given the oriental themed suite and I fell in love with it. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, it's like being in another world over there during Dec/Jan when everything is covered in snow. We had a bottle of wine and popped it outside on the balcony to chill in the snow! Although the restaurant is pricey and people have moaned about that on here, it is worth the experience. The food is delicious and nicely presented and the service was outstanding. Constantly refilling drinks and making sure we had everything we needed, explaining things on the menu and recommending dishes - very attentive. The level of English the staff spoke was unbelievable as well (although this is the case in most places in Iceland). We unfortunately didn't get time to go in the outdoor hot tubs while we were there, but we saw plenty of people who did and I would recommend it. We spent one day in the Blue Lagoon and the experience of being outside in minus temperatures and swimming around in the warm water is amazing. It's difficult to describe how magical this hotel is without visiting, but everything from the way it looks to the smell is just exactly what you want when visitng a log cabin style hotel like this in the winter months. We were also lucky enough to see the Northern Lights while we were there. We were told by the hotel manager (who comes and greets everyone personally each night in the restaurant) that we didn't have much hope of seeing them as due to the snow there was a thick blanket of cloud, but on our very last night there (stayed for 3 nights) we got a phone call from reception at 1am saying if we went outside we would see a glorious display of the northern lights... and we did! Amazing!!! You have no chance of seeing them if you stay in a built up area, Ranga is perfect for this.
There were no negatives during our stay at all, even one night when we arrived downstairs too late to eat at the restaurant and would normally have had to eat room service in our room, they offered to bring us the room service menu and bring the food up to us in the bar area upstairs, which we had entirely to ourselves. And when I say room service - it was a full meal of burgers, fries, salad and beers. One barman in particular, David, was very helpful and gave us lots of tips about where to go in Reykjavik on NYE, and who/where to avoid etc and said he would keep an eye out for us. Couldn't recommend this place enough. The only thing I would say, is that, if you're not lucky enough to be uprgaded like us then the standard rooms do seem pretty snug and basic for the price, but I wouldn't let that put you off, we still would have had an amazing time either way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosies88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

After a long and rainy day, and the bus breaking down, we finally arrived at Hotel Ranga. Beautiful place made of pine with the largest rooms we experienced in Iceland. The breakfast was fantastic and the dinners by far the best on the trip. The bartender mixes really good drinks. Although breakfast and dinner were included in our trip, while I know it was on the expensive side, I do not believe it was so much more expensive than the other places we ate or stayed and it was much better. It was a great place to stay while touring that part of the country. Service was great. I would go back to Iceland to stay there!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the south side away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Will update this review when we leave, but just had a less than positive experience in Ranga's dinning room on the evening of Aug 21st. Food was perfectly OK but the service was abysmal. After 2 hrs and 30 mins we walked out of the restaurant without completing our dinner. The wait staff acknowledged that there were problems with overbooking a large Japanese tour party. Doesn't matter how much the bill is for dinner (> $200 USD for two), poor service is poor service. We'll see what the next few days bring.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After a long, wet day, we fun ally arrived at Hotel Ranga. It sits off the road in a rather flat and featureless area, but inside it is amazing!
Pine lumber created a warm setting; rooms were generous sized and very well equipped. The free hot chocolate in the room really was perfect after a cold wet day.
Bar and restaurant surpassed my expectations. Pine decor and big windows created a very nice ambiance. Menu was extensive enough and included several fresh fis, including Arctic Char.
We stayed two night and were delighted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwr2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

A cracking hotel, our room was well appointed and next to the hot-tub which was great fun at about -4 in a blizzard. The Northern Lights were amazing. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was excellent. There's not much to do if you want to spend time at the hotel however, we used the hotel as a base for touring the area and it was very good for that.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDREWT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
26 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
116 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
318 reviews
42.2 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Property: Hotel Ranga
Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel and the only 4 star resort in South Iceland. It offers all the facilities and services of a modern resort. Located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, it lies just off the main road right in middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accomodation and service. It is the first Icelandic hotel to become a member of the prestigious international hotel chain Great Hotels of the World. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders, Hotel Rangá also offers great facilities for small business meetings, weddings and social gatherings. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientel. Upon entering Hotel Ranga, you will be greeted by a towering 10-foot tall polar bear named Hrammur that resides in the lobby. He is a favorite model for photographers and is definitely one of the most pictured objects in Iceland. This is just a prelude to the cozy ambience that you will encounter that vibrates throughout the hotel. Hótel Rangá was upgraded and renovated in 2007/2008 and presently has 51 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing