We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful country break”
Review of Hotel Ranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ranga
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on honeymoon which was great a no kids about, very much an adult hotel. Nice decor, homely but modern. The got most things right, few niggles same as other reviewers e.g. Towels quite small (found this in other parts of Iceland too) and room cleaned really well but then glasses left unwashed. All in all a lovely hotel though and I would return. However, the restaurant was not great (overpriced for the standard of food) so would recommend not eating there every night if you don't mind a bit of a drive to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSunny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,638)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ranga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,352 - 1,358 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Wonderful food and room. Probably wouldn't use the hot tub as it is in full view of the restaurant. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Only hot breakfast we had in Iceland. We didn't see the Northern lights, but if they had appeared they would have called us. Service!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingHeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is just perfect. When we arrived we were upgraded to rooms with hot tub! The staff were so kind and courteous and the owner Fredrik even arranged an excursion for us.
Rooms are warm and spotlessly clean. The restaurant is a tour de force with a superb buffet style breakfast and extensive a la carte menu at dinner. The fish was particualrly fresh and cooked to perfection. Perfect situation for exploring southern Iceland and for viewing the Northern Lights.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the river
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Small, clean rooms.......good, expensive food. Courteous, but not friendly front desk.

Good location to explore waterfalls, etc......
We rec'd a speeding ticket from an Icelandic policeman for speeding.....19 kms/hr (about 11 mph) over the limit, on a sparsely travelled road, no traffic. Over $200......I thought a warning , or please slow down, would have been a nice gesture to a tourist....

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the parking lot. I asked if they had something across the hall, which would hav...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed here for one night before doing a tour of the Golden Circle. We stayed in a superior room, which was nice but nothing special. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent but this would be expected when paying almost €90 each. Authentic Icelandic foods too! A nice touch was that the owner stopped by each table at dinner to have a little chat. However the part which made this hotel stand out for me was, i left my passport in my room and was back in Reykjavik before i realised and flying home two days later. They very kindly arranged for someone who was coming to the city to deliver it to me the day before i went home which otherwise could have ruined the last couple of days of the holiday!

Room Tip: All are quite expensive and superior rooms are pretty basic
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FY1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Hotel Ranga is a beautiful hotel, around 90 mins from Rekjavik.
Set next to the river Ranga, it is a prefect spot for a relaxing holiday. Hot tubs outside add a little luxury to the "log cabin" style hotel.
Food is excellent, if a little pricey. The chef looked after us extremely well, offering a different vegetarian choice on each night of our stay, so don't be afraid to say something. They cannot organise something for you if you don't ask them!

Staff were friendly, pleasant and knowledgeable about the local area, if you need any help deciding where to go next.

An ideal place to view any activity of the Northern Lights, although we weren't lucky on this occasion...maybe next time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaL068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

As a starting point for excursions to the south of Iceland the hotel is a good place, although expect some some driving. We were always too late back to the hotel to be in time for dinner.

The hotel has a good location on the southern plains with a view towards the mountains in the northeast on a clear day. The contrast between the luxury of the hotel and the rugged landscape is large.

We had a ground floor room with direct access to a terrace and the grass field behind the Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maehlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
4.6 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
517 reviews
21.3 mi away
Country Hotel Anna
Country Hotel Anna
#1 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
280 reviews
5.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
347 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hvolsvollur
Hotel Hvolsvollur
#2 of 2 in Hvolsvollur
132 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Selfoss
Hotel Selfoss
#2 of 8 in Selfoss
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranga

Address: Sudurlandsvegur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range: $337 - $1,044 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ranga 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ranga is a luxury countryside hotel in South Iceland it is located about an hour from Reykjavík between the towns of Hella and Hvolsvöllur, and lies just off the main road right in the middle of South Iceland’s panoramic scenery. The resort is built in log-cabin style and has through the years acquired an excellent reputation for its food, accommodation, and service. A celebrity hot spot, top honeymoon destination and favorite hotel amongst Icelanders. One cannot miss feeling welcome entering its warm interior where relaxed countryside feeling meets the professional ambition of pleasing its entire clientele. Hótel Rangá has 52 luxuriously decorated rooms and suites. It also features an acclaimed riverside restaurant, a lounge and bar, 2 upstairs meeting rooms, a game room, massage facilities and three much beloved outdoor hot tubs heated with geothermal water - where there is an excellent chance to view the fantastic northern lights during September through April. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranga Hotel Hella
Hotel Ranga Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing