We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ranga
Nearby Hotels
Stracta Hotel(Hella)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/30
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hvolsvollur(Hvolsvollur)
Free cancellation until 05/31
Book now, pay at stay
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Hekla(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
$209
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selfoss(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arctic Nature Hotel(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$238
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$538
$482
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borealis(Selfoss)(Great Value!)
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,813)
Filter reviews
1,813 results
Traveler rating
1,230
423
121
32
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,230
423
121
32
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightshot tubwake up callpolar beardeluxe roomthe hotel managersalmonranch stylegolden circlebeautiful hotelsmoked puffinbar menupool tablelog cabinsouth coastfour nightsset menu
Filter
Updating list...
1,530 - 1,535 of 1,813 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nice place, nice location but excessively expensive for what is been offered and what is offered elsewhere in iceland.
Rooms are nice, bathrooms are small (1 sink) and no space to move, and we are talking about a deluxe room for which they charge 370 euros.
food was mediocre, meat, lobster and pasta overcooked, but smoked puffin excellent, wine list impressive but more reasonable wines are missing and breakfast buffet was poor compared to much more reasonable places and even small inns in iceland.
some farm hostels and B&B are just as good for fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel feels like a state park hotel. High season rates may be a little expensive (in my opinion) for this hotel, but off season rates are priced pretty well. Simple room (we stayed in a low level 2 person room), very nice breakfast included. Wonderful touch to have the hot pots outside with a view of the river. Beautiful food for dinner, nice choices of wine and liqueur- chef does a great job! Good place to stop off on way through the south of Iceland.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karaandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We drove around the entire island and Hotel Ranga was definitely the most impressive hotel we stayed in - even compared to our Reykjavik hotel.

Iceland doesn't seem to have a need for providing a lot of choices for places to stay and so you will need to change your expectations a bit for what 4 stars mean in Iceland vs other parts of the world with a lot more Hotels (re: competition) to choose from.

Hotel Ranga has an amazing restaurant; order the Skyr for dessert and the puffin tasted really yummy (like beef jerkey). The property in general is cozy. It's a nice place to stay outside the Golden Ring and be able to drive pretty far East and get back to it as well. The toiletries they provide are shampoo, conditioner, lotion & shower gel. That's the most of any hotel we stayed at too. The shower/bath space was odd in that they've got corner bath tub/jacuzzi's installed in the bathrooms and then added a shower head to be used in that triangular tub. There's no shower curtain; seems that the all in one shower/toilet/sink is quite common for Iceland. We did not have to share our bathroom either.

There's no easy spot to go for a run. The only road is Hwy 1. They've got 3 hot tubs that are nice, but they are in full view of the restaurant which seems odd when you're in the restaurant.

Breakfast serves up traditional Western EU fare, Icelandic fare and American style continental as well. Get your daily shot of Lysi :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

For our third visit to Iceland, we stayed at this hotel for Valentine's Day. We had never seen the Northern Lights in Reykavik and research showed that there was a better chance of seeing them from here. We were not disappointed! They appeared in all their glory for Valentine's Day, and boy were they great! One of those things in life not to be missed.

Hotel was immaculate, food was fantastic, and the accommodation with stunning. We stayed in the Royal Suite which was like a one-bed apartment. Seperate lounge, and a jacuzzi in the bedroom!

All in all a very relaxing break, and a very romantic hotel

Room Tip: Have the royal suite, if your budget can stretch to it!
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philbarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a cozy hotel with decent amenities. The rooms are spacious and clean and provide excellent views of the Iceland terrain. It's definitely in the middle of nowhere and about a ten minute drive from the town of Hella, which is also in the middle of nowhere, but that was one of the things we really enjoyed about the place. There are a few restaurants nearby, but none worth recommending, and we didn't eat at the hotel for any meals other than the free breakfast. The breakfast did have a nice variety of items and we were pleasantly surprised when it was included in our room rate. The view from the dining room is spectacular!

I whole-heartedly recommend this hotel if you're looking to stay out in the country or want to do any excursions on the South East coast. It was a long drive (3-4 hours) from this hotel to the Jokulsarlon Lagoon (which you HAVE to do) so I'm glad we were staying in Hella instead of Reykjavik since it cut an hour off the drive. The drive wasn't too bad to the other sites like Geysir, Thingvellir, and Gulfoss (1 hour). The countryside is gorgeous, so just plan to enjoy the scenery along the way to each site.

The hotel staff was kind of hit or miss, but I think the language barrier may have added to some of our confusing conversations. They did speak English, but didn't always completely understand what we were asking, which wasn't a big deal. Overall, they tried to be helpful and gave us great directions to nearby sites. They also helped coordinate getting our luggage when it was delayed from our flight. As a weird side note about delayed luggage and the hotel's location, the airlines (IcelandAir) put it on the public bus and dropped it off at the gas station in Hella for us to pick up.

If we ever go back to Iceland, we will definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LizMcLure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews