We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining.”
Review of Ranga Restaurant

Ranga Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Hella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Rangá restaurant is an acclaimed gourmet restaurant overlooking one of Iceland's finest salmon rivers, East-Rangá River. The restaurant's motto is the concept of a "Farmers Market" - in effect using predominantly local ingredients of the highest quality and freshness - following seasonal availability. The menu is inspired by modern Nordic cuisine. The world renowned Christmas Buffet with European and Scandinavian gourmet dishes is available November to December every year. The wine list and bar selection is extensive and is sure to satisfy even the most demanding connoisseur.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect dining.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely restaurant, perfect food, top hotel, perfect location.
Bit pricey but comparable with eating out in Iceland and well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    55
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Breakfast super, very wide choice of hot and cold food, help yourself to as much as you wish. Lunch also excellent - and three times as much food as I'd imagined, but so good we managed to demolish it all!
Dinner also excellent, although quite expensive. A treat, with unusual but very tasty and well prepared dishes such as puffin and reindeer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ranga Hotel & Restaurant”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a pleasant surprise Ranga was. Practically in the middle of "nowhere" was a jewel of a restaurant! The setting was just gorgeous,; the food divine and the ambiance top notch.
Ingi Por Jakobsson the manager, was like a old friend welcoming us back after a long absence! I felt like I knew him for years!
This is a place not to be missed. If you have the time, make sure you stay the night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poundtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

My wife, my daughter and I, were there last week. While the Accomodation was as expected, what was a very pleasant surprise, was the quality and excellence of food. Most resort resteraunts have over priced, and indifferent foods, served to their captive audience. Room service or bar menus, are defined as, what you are serviced, is the best you are going to get.

The Ranga, proved both mites totally worng. Excellent food, starting with one of the best ham and cheese sandwiches, we have had anywhere, to lamb and chicken , was of exceptional quality. If that was said about the fish, then that was to be expected, but chicken.....

My compliments to the a mangement who have done an exceptional job, all around.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully romantic hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We got engaged here in April 2013 and came back in March 2014 for our honeymoon. The staff will do anything for you and the food is out of this world. It is expensive but worth it. I would come and stay here every year if I could!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranga Restaurant also viewed

 
Hella, South Region
 
Hella, South Region
Hvolsvollur, South Region
 

Been to Ranga Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing