We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel Laekur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Laekur
Ranked #1 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Laekur as part of a one week trip to Iceland. We were wishing that we had spent more of our time there. It is a true gem, has a family farm setting, and is Icelandic hospitality at its best! The rooms have large windows and face out to amazing views of volcanoes Hekla and Eyja. The 3 course dinner is very good. We had some deliciously cooked cod. The family who run it are incredibly friendly. Their kids guide the horse tours, which are not to be missed. Gunnar pointed out some hidden, little known waterfalls, historic farms, and hiking trails to us.

Room Tip: In the summer, you may want to bring eye shades. Even with the blackout curtains, the rooms still h...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmylapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Laekur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 278 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel Laekur exceeded our expectations in nearly every way possible. We started out our vacation in Reykjavik for a few days. We then rented a car, toured the Golden Circle, and drove to Hotel Laekur by about 6 or 7 night. As an aside, if you leave Reykjavik by 9 or 10, it's a perfect little day where you stay busy, yet have plenty of time to explore and enjoy the sights along the golden circle.

Upon arriving at the Hotel, we were greeted by the owner's daughter-in-law, who was extremely helpful and courteous in showing us around. The hotel is a family affair as the owner's wife cooks the meals and his children and their spouses are also involved in some of the day to day operations. Once we settled in a little bit, we were asked if we had already partaken in dinner, which we hadn't...luckily for us!!! Within 15 minutes, a three course meal was on it's way. Whatever you do, make sure to do dinner! We had the best meal of our trip while we were here. Simple, natural ingredients (the owner mentioned that he has 'a guy' that comes by twice a week to deliver line-caught fish) done extremely well. After dinner, we chatted for over an hour with the hosts about Iceland and the property over a bottle of wine. Perfect. After dinner, we had access to free wi-fi to plan the next stages of our trip and upon waking up, were treated to a delicious (free) breakfast before we went on our way.

As to the hotel itself, the rooms are clean and comfortable with a lounge if you're there with multiple couples. We didn't take them up on it, but there are horses to ride if you so fancy. However, even if you don't ride the horses, the property makes for a solid vacation photo session as they own horses and sheep abutting a quiet brook.

All in all, this was exactly what we were looking for in a place to spend some time on our way from Reykjavik east along the southern half of the Ring Road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just finished up a great couple of days at this hotel. Like a lot of people, I started searching for hotels looking for ones in Reykjavik. But a lot of the hotels downtown are right in the nightclub area of the city. If you are 25 and think the best possible vacation is one where you help close the bars, then maybe these hotels are ideal for you. But if you are coming for the nature and the scenery, then Reykjavik is probably not your best choice. It is located on the extreme west side of the country. And the country is BIGGER than you realize and the speed limits are low. It will take you about 6 hours to drive from Reykjavik all the way over to the glacier lake, which is one of the top attractions in the country, ONE WAY. So you are much better off with a hotel that is more centrally located in terms of the stuff you want to see. From this hotel, on one day we went west and saw Geysir, Gulfoss Waterfall, etc. the "Golden Triangle" stuff. Then the second day we did the big drive East, making it all the way to the glacier lake, while stopping at several other amazing waterfalls, driving this horrible bumpy road that led to a glacier you could walk up to, etc. That made for a very long day, but it was possible to do it in a day. Then we went to the Blue Lagoon and Reykjavik on our last day.

So ironically, this hotel that seems like it is located out in the middle of nowhere turns out to be centrally located in relation to many of the key natural attractions in the country.

And it is a great place to stay. It is practically a brand new hotel as I write this. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are simple but have everything you need, there is a nice breakfast included in the price. The internet works. It is in a lovely spot, in the middle of a farm, with views of some of the volcanoes from the dining room. It is run by a family and they are all just the nicest, most helpful people. It seemed like they all went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We ate dinner there two of the three nights we were there - there is no menu, they just serve you a 3 course meal - it is good, country home cooking. Just the kind of food that you never get on vacation anywhere.

And they have horses, lots of them. They will take you on a ride if you want to go on one, but even if you have no interest in riding they are still incredibly beautiful and fit so perfectly into the amazing scenery.

Here is the only caveat: You need a car, and you need to allow about 1 hour 45 minutes to get there from the airport. So watch your arrival time and departure time if you want to stay here.
We landed very late and the drive out that first night was long. If I had it to do over again, I would have stayed the first night in Keflavik out by the airport, then done the Blue Lagoon the next morning, then driven out to this place and stayed there the rest of the time. Or if I arrived at a reasonable time, I would have planned to hit the Blue Lagoon on my way home, because it is very close to the airport. Understand that the airport is about 45 minutes from Reykjavik and this hotel is an hour from Reykjavik.

You will need to drive on dirt roads (a little bit) to get to the hotel, but there are lots of places in Iceland that are only accessible by dirt roads and you don't need a 4WD in summer to get to this hotel at all. Just go slow on the gravel roads and you will be fine. All the rental cars come with rock guards by the tires to protect the fenders from rock damage - it is just a part of life there. Gas is like $9 a gallon in Iceland so rent the smallest, most fuel efficient vehicle you can. Driving over there is really not very hard at all. I think it is definitely the better way to see the country vs. a tour bus. So you really aren't giving up anything to stay at Hotel Laekur. I would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigW-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here with our 9 month daughter at the end of May. The place was very nice and the hosts even more so. The owner was more than helpful on showing us places we should explore while we were in Iceland. The room was great and enough room for us to feel comfortable - even with 3 of us. The food was amazing! Best cod I've ever had. Considering everything is expensive in Iceland, we felt that the 3 course meal was very well priced and the best food we had while in Iceland. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting Iceland!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nothing to fault. Charming place with great hosts! Highly recommend! The new rooms are very clean, not huge, but have what you need. Our room had a queen bed, flat screen TV with 4 channels, free wi-fi, in floor heating, and room darkening shades which you need here in the summer because it never gets dark. There is a wonderful upstairs lounge for hanging out and they always have nice music playing. Has a very nice vibe. We used the hotel/guesthouse as a base to explore the south of Iceland - which is way more beautiful than the Golden Triangle area! Dinners were great (best lamb I ever had) at $45 roughly PP - 3 courses. Had a nice wine list (Chilean screw top Cab $40), but everything in Iceland is expensive! You will feel like you got good value here! They are part of the Icelandic Farm Holidays!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a lovely night and day at this terrific family-run hotel in the middle of saga territory. Gunnar our host was very happy to fix up a late night meal when we arrived late after a long day of driving. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast with the majejstic background of mountainous scenery and blonde Icelandic cherubs. Then some delightful riding with Gunnar's son Raven for ourselves and our four year old son. This is a must do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for one night and I have to say that the hotel greatly exceeded any expectations we might have had. The place is brand new, cozy and super clean and it is obvious that the owner put a lot of love into it and are committed to providing an exceptional service to their customer. I forgot my phone charger for example and they made sure they would find one for me even though they didn't really have, they actually we t home to get their daughters one, so super nice!

The breakfast was all I could wish for , home made bread, home made Icelandic cakes and enough of everything, really really good. ;)

We are super happy and will surely come back, next time with enough time to go also horse riding with them.
This is the place to go, the view was amazing and I can only imagine the Northern lights they must have their in the winter!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
7.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
516 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,637 reviews
8.0 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel Hekla
#4 of 8 in Selfoss
346 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#3 of 10 in Hella
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laekur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laekur

Address: Hroarslaekur, Hella 851, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: $149 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laekur is a small and cosy country hotel in a beautiful location in south Iceland. The hotel was built in the year 2012. The hotel is a renovated old barn, but with all the comforts of a modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laekur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laekur Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing