We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Cottages” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arhus Hellu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhus Hellu
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Cottages”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location right next to the river. Rooms are ok we didn't use the kitchen. 2 single beds. Nice and clean room when we arrived. To have the room warm you can adjust the thermostat on the radiator to get the desired temperature. Had food in the Café/restaurant nice enough but as with anywhere in Iceland food is expensive. Breakfast could of been better if you are bed & breakfast. Supermarket and another bar/restaurant a few minutes walk away. Food was nice in the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    36
    12
    14
See reviews for
23
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location, nice scenery and no bad accom. But the really negative site of the Cafe Arhus is management. Don't care about visitors. Overall - basic but you get what you paid. Just remember that is not easy to find receptionist so if you want to leave early can be problem with checkout :) ps. check bar :P

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank payol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

As soon as we arrived we found all the staff to be super friendly and welcoming. Stayed in Log Cabin 4 which faced the river and was clean, cosy and comfortable with the highlight being a glimpse of the Northern Lights from right outside the cabin at midnight.

We did dine in the Cafe/Restaurant next door and again no complaints - excellent value and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here two nights in early September in a cabin with private bath. It is pretty compact basic, but was clean and comfortable, which is how it presents itself, so it was exactly what we expected. We had come straight in from an early flight and we were allowed to check in early, which was really good to grab a quick nap. It is close to some good attractions and you can walk into town, or eat at the restaurant, which was next door. The staff were quite friendly and obliging!

Room Tip: Suggest a cabin with private bath. It was pretty quiet everywhere. Probably choosing a room on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked a cottage with shared bathroom. The cottage had 2 single bed bunk beds, very small with thin mattresses. The first cottage we went into had a really strong smell of urine so I asked to be moved to a different room. This request was met with some hostility but agreed. I was then given the key to a second cottage ( which smelled pretty similar to the first one) in which the beds were not made not had to wait an hour for this to be done. The shared bathroom was an unreasonable distance from the cottage with only 2 showers to service the entire campsite and all the cottages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orliemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hella hotels

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in a cottage for two persons with bathroom and kitchenette.

The mattress was too hard and the window curtains didn't completely block the daylight. The shower hot/cold regulation was quite annoying. There was no WiFi Internet and we didn't have a view of the river (ask for it when booking). The cottage wasn't particularly clean either. However, it was pleasantly warm and cozy, well insulated from the others.

Taking into account the private bathroom and kitchenette, this accommodation is definitely a good bargain for its relatively low price. Hella is the perfect base for visiting the beautiful Landmannalaugar, either via special bus or 4x4.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago and loved it. We had cottage 5A which has an amazing view of the river. The cottage was quite spacious, with 4 bunk beds (the lower ones almost doubles) and a reasonably well equipped kitchen. We didn't manage to try the restaurant as it was very busy that night and they told us we would probably have to wait 40 minutes for the food, so we went to the only other diner in Hella. For breakfast we bought some groceries at the local supermarket and ate in the cottage, enjoying the nice view. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hella
Hotel Hella
#9 of 9 in Hella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhus Hellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhus Hellu

Property: Arhus Hellu
Address: Rangarbakkar 6 | 850, Hella 850, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arhus is located along the Ranga River, 100 km east of Reykjavik on the Ring road, Route 1. Set in idyllic fields on the banks of the river, we offer cottage and sleeping bag accommodation, in addition to a campsite and RV area. We also have an on-site restaurant serving a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. We also have a fully-stocked bar and a terrace overlooking the river, perfect for relaxing on a sunny evening. Each of our cottages has a kitchenette, with fridge, hob and electric kettle provided as standard. All cottages have private WCs and showers. The separate Arhus service building has a communal kitchen, dining area and laundry facilities for campers and those with RV's. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi in public areas. We also provide BBQ equipment and there is a play area to keep the children happy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arhus Hellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhus Hellu Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing