We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bargain near Landmannalaugar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arhus Hellu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhus Hellu
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good bargain near Landmannalaugar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night in a cottage for two persons with bathroom and kitchenette.

The mattress was too hard and the window curtains didn't completely block the daylight. The shower hot/cold regulation was quite annoying. There was no WiFi Internet and we didn't have a view of the river (ask for it when booking). The cottage wasn't particularly clean either. However, it was pleasantly warm and cozy, well insulated from the others.

Taking into account the private bathroom and kitchenette, this accommodation is definitely a good bargain for its relatively low price. Hella is the perfect base for visiting the beautiful Landmannalaugar, either via special bus or 4x4.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    36
    12
    14
See reviews for
23
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago and loved it. We had cottage 5A which has an amazing view of the river. The cottage was quite spacious, with 4 bunk beds (the lower ones almost doubles) and a reasonably well equipped kitchen. We didn't manage to try the restaurant as it was very busy that night and they told us we would probably have to wait 40 minutes for the food, so we went to the only other diner in Hella. For breakfast we bought some groceries at the local supermarket and ate in the cottage, enjoying the nice view. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stated for 2 nights, very unhappy with the internet access. You have to go to the restaurant, get a password and hope you'll be able to login. When I was able to get connected the service was so slow it was impossible to get anything done. The restaurant is only open from 12 noon to 10pm, so you can only access wifi during those hours which is very inconvenient. The restaurant is also very busy so finding a seat is hard.
Cabin was clean, went into the shared bathroom while my family was using the one in the cabin and found the shared bathroom very dirty. The washroom in our cabin also had a problem with the shower not draining.
When we arrived at the cabins we had to go find someone to check us in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM2013217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hella hotels

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Booking short term we stayed 1 night as a family in a cabin. It is a very nice location just sitting on the river out in the nature. Service was prompt when requested and very friendly. Regarding (cooking) infrastructure there is room for improvement. Nevertheless the kids liked the place, playing hide and seek and we enjoyed the calm atmosphere after a day of activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in this cabin room for 2 nights. Location was lovely as it was situated opposite the Ranga River where one can see many local fishermen fly fishing throughout the summer days. There's a supermarket within walking distance nearby and the restaurant next door serves good Icelandic buffet dinner. Breakfast options at the same restaurant were quite limited though portions were ample.

Having said that we found one of the bed matresses inside our cabin to be uncomfortably soft and uneven resulting in a poor night's rest. Furthermore, the drainage hole in the shower was clogged and caused a lot of water to spillover into the room even after a brief shower. Management should pay more attention to these problems and hopefully prevent them from recurring in future.

As the cabins were located apart from one another, not much noise can be heard throughout the night. There's also a campsite located opposite the cabins where one can rent camp space for staying in.

Overall we had an average stay in the cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We rent a small cottage for 2 nights. Nice location to visit the south coast. Guy at reception desk was not very nice. There is a nice cafe-resto on the site, where you can tried nice lamb-lobster and pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service sucked, prices sucked even more!!! 2500 ISK for 1 person with 1 tent on the camping.
The flyers said 700ISK, but they apparently made up a price on the spot.
Nothing was open, no service whatsoever, no places to cook or clean and that for 2500ISK!!
I sent an email afterwards to complain and they DARED to say that the campsite was closed!
I got a sticker and paid there!
Lousy, lousy, lousy!
The ONLY campsite in ALL of Iceland that I've been to that I would NOT recommend!
Wayyyy too overpriced!
Wasn't even included with electricity!
Horrible, horrible, horrible. Didn't even get some of my money back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biekjuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
42.8 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hella
Hotel Hella
#9 of 9 in Hella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhus Hellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhus Hellu

Property: Arhus Hellu
Address: Rangarbakkar 6 | 850, Hella 850, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arhus is located along the Ranga River, 100 km east of Reykjavik on the Ring road, Route 1. Set in idyllic fields on the banks of the river, we offer cottage and sleeping bag accommodation, in addition to a campsite and RV area. We also have an on-site restaurant serving a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. We also have a fully-stocked bar and a terrace overlooking the river, perfect for relaxing on a sunny evening. Each of our cottages has a kitchenette, with fridge, hob and electric kettle provided as standard. All cottages have private WCs and showers. The separate Arhus service building has a communal kitchen, dining area and laundry facilities for campers and those with RV's. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi in public areas. We also provide BBQ equipment and there is a play area to keep the children happy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arhus Hellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhus Hellu Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing