We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arhus Hellu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhus Hellu
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We rent a small cottage for 2 nights. Nice location to visit the south coast. Guy at reception desk was not very nice. There is a nice cafe-resto on the site, where you can tried nice lamb-lobster and pizza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    36
    13
    16
See reviews for
26
52
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service sucked, prices sucked even more!!! 2500 ISK for 1 person with 1 tent on the camping.
The flyers said 700ISK, but they apparently made up a price on the spot.
Nothing was open, no service whatsoever, no places to cook or clean and that for 2500ISK!!
I sent an email afterwards to complain and they DARED to say that the campsite was closed!
I got a sticker and paid there!
Lousy, lousy, lousy!
The ONLY campsite in ALL of Iceland that I've been to that I would NOT recommend!
Wayyyy too overpriced!
Wasn't even included with electricity!
Horrible, horrible, horrible. Didn't even get some of my money back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biekjuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hella hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fantastic choice in a popular and expensive area, we were really impressed with this cottage.

Within walking distance to gas stations, shops and supermarket.

Fully equipped with a nice toilet, small kitchen and TV, there is a restaurant on-site as well.

We did not get to use as it was raining but there are 2 hot tubs which are available in the evenings.

Affordable breakfast buffet was generous with a good variety.

I would definitely recommend this to people who like cottage-stays, especially couples.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I cannot speak for the cottages (small cabins). I stayed in the campsite area. Every spot was full by the end of the night. Quiet hours were honored pretty well during the night I was there. I got reasonably quite around midnight. Overall, the campsite is fine. The facilities are adequate (reasonably clean), but you may have to wait around for a shower if you don't get up early to beat the rush. However, I did feel that I overpaid quite a bit for the campsite. It seems like I paid about twice as much at that site as I paid at any other campsite I stayed at in Iceland. Obviously, the high price did not lessen the crowds, so I can't blame them for charging more. If you can avoid it, I would pass through Hella and camp or stay in another town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The cottage we rent was very small, not to mention the bathroom, and we were pressed together though we were just two, and it's made for 4 persons.... Yet the price was rather low so you could say it was a bargain. But bargain or not we would expect the kitchenette to be clean, and it was not. Neither the frying pan in the cupboard nor the cutlery in the drawer. But the location on the river bank, with all the divers, ducks and gulls around, was lovely and close to route 26 was convenient.

Room Tip: If you need a cottage without steps you'd rather ask for, because some of them have two steps, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The cottages are very pleasant, clean and spacious. They are simple but we were five people and it was just perfect for us. We ate at the cafe and the service was great. And the view along the river was the perfect end to our first evening in Iceland.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoPast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

A lovely clean, warm cottage on the river next to the Cafe where we ended up having a few beers and a yummy dinner...couldn't ask for a better place to warm our bones after a full day of traveling around Iceland. The Fish Stew was hardy and the Apple cake was quite good!..this place isn't fancy but it certainly is a good value for the price :) I highly recommend !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colombianita201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
42.3 mi away
Hrauneyjar Guesthouse
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hella
Hotel Hella
#9 of 9 in Hella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhus Hellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhus Hellu

Property: Arhus Hellu
Address: Rangarbakkar 6 | 850, Hella 850, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arhus is located along the Ranga River, 100 km east of Reykjavik on the Ring road, Route 1. Set in idyllic fields on the banks of the river, we offer cottage and sleeping bag accommodation, in addition to a campsite and RV area. We also have an on-site restaurant serving a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. We also have a fully-stocked bar and a terrace overlooking the river, perfect for relaxing on a sunny evening. Each of our cottages has a kitchenette, with fridge, hob and electric kettle provided as standard. All cottages have private WCs and showers. The separate Arhus service building has a communal kitchen, dining area and laundry facilities for campers and those with RV's. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi in public areas. We also provide BBQ equipment and there is a play area to keep the children happy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arhus Hellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhus Hellu Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing