We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Arhus Hellu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arhus Hellu
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Fantastic choice in a popular and expensive area, we were really impressed with this cottage.

Within walking distance to gas stations, shops and supermarket.

Fully equipped with a nice toilet, small kitchen and TV, there is a restaurant on-site as well.

We did not get to use as it was raining but there are 2 hot tubs which are available in the evenings.

Affordable breakfast buffet was generous with a good variety.

I would definitely recommend this to people who like cottage-stays, especially couples.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 167 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

I cannot speak for the cottages (small cabins). I stayed in the campsite area. Every spot was full by the end of the night. Quiet hours were honored pretty well during the night I was there. I got reasonably quite around midnight. Overall, the campsite is fine. The facilities are adequate (reasonably clean), but you may have to wait around for a shower if you don't get up early to beat the rush. However, I did feel that I overpaid quite a bit for the campsite. It seems like I paid about twice as much at that site as I paid at any other campsite I stayed at in Iceland. Obviously, the high price did not lessen the crowds, so I can't blame them for charging more. If you can avoid it, I would pass through Hella and camp or stay in another town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The cottage we rent was very small, not to mention the bathroom, and we were pressed together though we were just two, and it's made for 4 persons.... Yet the price was rather low so you could say it was a bargain. But bargain or not we would expect the kitchenette to be clean, and it was not. Neither the frying pan in the cupboard nor the cutlery in the drawer. But the location on the river bank, with all the divers, ducks and gulls around, was lovely and close to route 26 was convenient.

Room Tip: If you need a cottage without steps you'd rather ask for, because some of them have two steps, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The cottages are very pleasant, clean and spacious. They are simple but we were five people and it was just perfect for us. We ate at the cafe and the service was great. And the view along the river was the perfect end to our first evening in Iceland.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoPast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A lovely clean, warm cottage on the river next to the Cafe where we ended up having a few beers and a yummy dinner...couldn't ask for a better place to warm our bones after a full day of traveling around Iceland. The Fish Stew was hardy and the Apple cake was quite good!..this place isn't fancy but it certainly is a good value for the price :) I highly recommend !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colombianita201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a cottage and it was a great choice! Fully equipped with mini kichinette and full bathroom, clean and comfortable. Wooden panneling, plenty of space. Restaurant very good, spoiled for choice, tasty food and good service.
One thing to be aware of - if you need to leave quite early at the morning, there might not be anyone arount to check out with...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamconstanttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed here in October 2012 with 2 friends. The place was empty due to the period, but I can believe that could become pretty messy during high season; anyway, we had a nice sleep. We had a nice cottage (n1) for ourselves with a total of 4 beds. I really liked the idea of the cottage. The inside was lovely and we had also the private bathroom and kitchen. We cooked our dinner at night and there was pretty much everything you need in order to cook was already there. The bathroom was basic but maybe a little too old. The WiFi didn't worked in our cottage so, in according to use it, we had to go to the nearby reception/restaurant. Annoying.
For breakfast and dinner, since are not included, if you go back to the main street (1 minute by car, 5 minutes walking) there is a supermarket and a bakery with reasonable prices.
Pro: nice cottage, private kitchen and bathroom, quiet sleep.
Cons: WiFi does not work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.3 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,657 reviews
0.5 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#4 of 5 in Hella
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hella
Hotel Hella
#9 of 11 in Hella
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#1 of 11 in Hella
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhus Hellu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhus Hellu

Address: Rangarbakkar 6 | 850, Hella 850, Iceland
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hella
Price Range: $64 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arhus is located along the Ranga River, 100 km east of Reykjavik on the Ring road, Route 1. Set in idyllic fields on the banks of the river, we offer cottage and sleeping bag accommodation, in addition to a campsite and RV area. We also have an on-site restaurant serving a rich variety of local plates and global favourites. We also have a fully-stocked bar and a terrace overlooking the river, perfect for relaxing on a sunny evening. Each of our cottages has a kitchenette, with fridge, hob and electric kettle provided as standard. All cottages have private WCs and showers. The separate Arhus service building has a communal kitchen, dining area and laundry facilities for campers and those with RV's. Guests can also enjoy free Wi-Fi in public areas. We also provide BBQ equipment and there is a play area to keep the children happy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arhus Hellu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arhus Hellu Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing