We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, nice staff but too expensive for the value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well located, nice staff but too expensive for the value”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

very nice staff and home atmosphere (you are asked abut changing shoes on the anter to the building - as in all provate houses in Iceland).
the reception desk worker answer on my own questions with smile.
frankly speaking the hotel was exciting (small rooms, location, people etc) but in my opinion too expensive for this standardvery special was

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariusz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    27
    14
    26
See reviews for
9
63
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lillestrom, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I traveled in a group of eight, between winter and summer season. The opportunities for hiking were limited, but the staff did their best to suggest activities that would make the most of your two days stay. The hospitality and friendliness was extraordinary. We had rooms in a newly built part of the guest house. The sauna was warm, and the rooms (with private bathroom) were small but clean and the beds were comfortable. Everything was set for good sleep and rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56ing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here when working close by for a week. Although I wouldn't usually choose to stay somewhere like this, I was pleasantly supprised at the cleanliness of the guesthouse and friendliness of the staff.

Very basic rooms, bed, heater, shelf.
Shared showers and toilets.

The kitchen served a good breakfast, and also good fast food through the day, however the limited menu became repetitive very quickly. Pricey, but as to be expected in such a remote location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isthatBHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a place that should be avoided at all cost. The quality of the food is very low, but the prices are very high. Hrauneyjar Guesthouse is located on the main road when crossing the highlands of Iceland and there is hardly any competition which is in my opiniune, the only reason that this place can stay open

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Pall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hella hotels

chapel hill, north carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Considering half of the "hotel" is basically a hostel for budget minded campers/college students, that condition seemed to be over the top. No TV or phone, and no wakeup either. Dinner and breakfast were below par. Room was clean, and very basic. Shower was new, and shock upon shocks even had toiletries! Our guide told us it was formerly a barracks for hydro-electric workers, and it shows. Also, its not near to a blessed thing if you want to go to a convenience or wine store.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irulan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay near the highlands and pay less than €200, this is your only option. They know this so they charge €90 for a tiny, unclean room with disgustingly old linens. It's sort of fine for one night but definitely stay no longer than necessary. Breakfast is fine. There is a tv room with sky tv which was really wonderful, though the remote controller was a bit sticky.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The room was tiny but clean, staff was nice and the breakfast good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKSLFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hella
42.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
42.2 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
42.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.0 mi away
Guesthouse Nonni
Guesthouse Nonni
#3 of 9 in Hella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solheimahjaleiga Bed & Breakfast
35.6 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#1 of 9 in Hella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Center Hrauneyjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Center Hrauneyjar

Property: The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Address: Sprengisandur, Hella 851, Iceland (Formerly Hrauneyjar Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Highland Center Hrauneyjar 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highland Center is a privately owned hotel and restaurants with a team of experienced and enthusiastic staff who are dedicated to ensuring guests’ comfort and pleasurable stay whilst in the Highlands of Iceland. The Highland Center aims at offering you a “complete” Highland experience from the moment you arrive in Iceland’s interior. Our staff are knowledgeable, helpful and multilingual and are always ready to assist guests during their stay. We aim to provide the best accommodation, excellent food and exciting activities at The Highland Center Hrauneyjar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Highland Center Hrauneyjar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing