We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #2 of 11 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Nonni's guesthouse toward the end of our 10 day trip driving around Iceland. It is an easy drive from Hella to Reykjavik. Hella is also a great starting point for exploring some of the most popular areas in southwest Iceland, including the Golden Circle and some of well known stops off of route 1 in southern Iceland. I highly recommend staying at Guesthouse Nonni for the convenience of accessing some of Iceland's best sightseeing, but also because Nonni was the best host ever! We were pleased with all our accommodations along our journey around Iceland, which were chosen for us by our travel guide, but Guesthouse Nonni exceeded all expectations and was our favorite by far thanks to Nonni's hospitality. We felt right at home. Nonni is so kind and helpful. He serves up the best breakfast in Iceland! He also has the biggest, nicest, and cleanest bathroom compared to our other accommodations. The beds were comfortable and we slept great! We really enjoyed our stay at Guesthouse Nonni. We left with fun memories from our entire trip, but Nonni definitely left a lasting impression and we hope to visit again someday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eel217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 244 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

The reviews about Nonni's guesthouse are worth it. He is the host with the most. He is a wealth of information and provides good advice about places to visit around this beautiful island. The breakfast is great, we had smoked trout, waffles, cereal, homemade jam, ham, cheese......etc and Nonni sat with us at breakfast and talked about places to go and listened to the adventures of his other guests. It is worth a nights stop if travelling around the south island.

Thanks Nonni!

Eric and Emma

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40Traveller1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nonni was a wonderful hose to us. We stay with Nonni our first night in Iceland and due to weather changed our plans and came back 2 nights later because we enjoyed his company so much. The rooms were nice and clean, nothing special but definitely nothing bad. The shared shower/toilet wasn't an issue at all. The other guests were all younger than us but everyone was very friendly. He made me and another couple staying with him a birthday cake for breakfast when he learned we were both traveling for our birthdays. He is a ton of information and a pleasure to converse with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ILiketheGoodStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

If you are stopping in Hella , Nonni's place is a fantastic option. The guesthouse is very comfy and well-equipped; Nonni is a characterful and friendly host. Breakfast was the best we had in Iceland - fresh baked breads, cheese, cold meats, fruit and home made jams. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dreykw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My friend and I stayed here 1 night and it was a comfortable stay. Nonni made us breakfast in the morning and sent us away with some homemade bread for our drive. The house was clean and the other guests were quiet. Walking distance to some restaurants. Will stay here again if I'm in Hella.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed with Nonni for two nights of a three night trip to Iceland. We can safely say that we would not have made the most of our trip without Nonni - each morning he made us an amazing breakfast and helped us to plan our day (including recommending places to visit, drawing us maps and arranging trips). The room we stayed in was lovely and very comfortable. We also enjoyed spending time with the new addition to the gueshouse, Zorro the dog!

Thank you so much for an incredible stay, we definitely hope to come back and see Iceland during other seasons!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline_W1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nonni was a supremely kind sole who happily provided directions, advice, weather and road reports for any and every activity we wished for. A cheeky smile and a welcoming home we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay - not to mention his freshly baked breakfasts every morning!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Jonstravels77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel
Stracta Hotel
#2 of 5 in Hella
534 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,661 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#3 of 11 in Hella
284 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Selid
Hotel Selid
#1 of 11 in Hella
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#4 of 11 in Hella
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range: $105 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing