We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse with charming friendly host”
Review of Guesthouse Nonni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Nonni
Ranked #3 of 10 Hella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse with charming friendly host”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our last night in Iceland. Nonni gave us a fantastic welcome and we felt very at home. Combine that with comfortable beds and a great breakfast and you have the best place to stay! We will be back another time to see the northern lights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    32
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
134
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Nonni's for only one night, enough to get his secret home baked bread recipe. So fresh and tasty in 4 different savoury versions just in case someone turned out to be difficult to please! My family is kind of big...we are 2 adults and 5 teenagers. Nonni managed to make us all very happy over breakfast after having slept like babies and giggled like kids on a school trip the night before heading to bed. The whole feeling to the house was comfortable and relaxed, Nonni was the sweetest host....
definitely, again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariasole1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and parents had a fantastic time with Nonni during our visit in March 2013- we learnt so much about Iceland by Nonni kindly sharing his knowledge with us, while at the same time we felt so relaxed in his company and in his house!! The breakfasts are soooo good! So much varied breakfast food, it kept us full up 'til dinner!! The homemade bread was delicious! The apricot bread was my favorite.

The location of the guesthouse is perfect for visiting Geysir, Gullfoss...we also did snowmobiling on the glacier that sits ontop of Katla (which is about 1 hour drive away)... the scenery in the area is stunnning. And we even decided to drive the (3.5 hour each way) journey to Jokulsarlon along the south coast, which i would say is well worth the trip!!

Overall, 5*'s for Nonni for being a fantastic host!! And we will be back one summer for hiking!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room downstairs which was smaller than the room my parents had upstairs which also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LakeTahoe09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Guesthouse Nonni is the perfect stay in Hella. He is friendly and helpful, and most importantly, knowledgeable. He is able to advise you on the best places to get to in the area, and on trips and tours you can do. He has also travelled well and has lots of interesting stories.

Breakfast was great - bread, salad, eggs, meats, etc.

We saw the northern lights from inside the guesthouse. He also has a deck which you can stand on and watch, but it was much warmer inside! Also, you can drive into the middle of nowhere in under 5 mins from here.

The room was nice, with a clean shared bathroom. The bed was very comfy and there was no noise overnight.

Theres a couple of resturants nearby which Nonni has menus for - otherwise its a trip to Sellfoss.

Thanks Nonni!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed two nights with Nonni and can recommend it highly (we used it as a base to drive along the south coast to the glacier lagoon and back in one day). Nonni could not be more hospitable as a host, providing maps and ideas about where to visit over a cup of tea and liquorice.

Breakfast is great, with home made breads each morning and a delicious array of things to put on the bread. The rooms are clean (three rooms up stairs and one down), with two shared bathrooms. Just one or two small things were in process of being fixed (for example one of the windows in our bedroom didn't open), but overall simple and comfortable accommodation.

If you don't get directions before you head for the guesthouse ask at the garage on the roundabout as you enter Hella. There is a map on the outside window of the garage, with the guesthouse just two minutes away.

The only other thing to recommend is to book early as I believe he gets booked up well in advance, especially during the summer months. We certainly hope to return one day!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We really loved staying here. Our room was lovely, our host was beyond gracious, and breakfast was delicious! The bed was very comfortable as well. Thank you again for the hospitality, we really enjoyed meeting you!
Liz&Tony

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aqualiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Can only echo our fellow TripAdvisor travellers here. Such a wonderful guesthouse and such a perfect host. Granted we were lucky enough to be the only visitors on the night that we stayed, so we had our pick of rooms and the upstairs bathroom to ourselves, but don't think it would have been any different even if it was full.

We spoke to Nonni in the evening about the Northern Lights, and he promised to keep and eye out and give us a knock if they appeared. We'd just dozed off when we had a knock at the door about 11pm. We joined Nonni on the patio outside and watched a 20 minute, brilliant Northern Lights display - thank you so much sir.

An amiable chat over a great breakfast and then we left on our journey.

Fellow travellers, please spend your night in Hella at this wonderful guesthouse.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank L0tusBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hella hotels
0.2 mi away
Stracta Hotel Hella
Stracta Hotel Hella
#2 of 5 in Hella
466 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ranga
Hotel Ranga
#1 of 5 in Hella
1,582 reviews
42.0 mi away
The Highland Center Hrauneyjar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hella
27 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Laekur
Hotel Laekur
#2 of 10 in Hella
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kanslarinn
Hotel Kanslarinn
#5 of 10 in Hella
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Nonni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Nonni

Property: Guesthouse Nonni
Address: Arnarsandur 3 | Guesthouse Nonni, Hella 850, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > South Region > Hella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Nonni 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in the centrum of the village Hella, South Iceland. 1 Hour drive from Reykjavik. Home made bread and pastry every morning for breakfast. Hella has almost everything you need: Shops, restaurants, excellent swimming pool and bus stop. All around the corner! Guesthouse Nonni is a good place for the Northern lights. Only five minutes drive to be outside of Hella. And best of all, my garden is an excellent place to watch the Northern lights. Situated in the centrum of South Iceland the guesthouse is a good base for visiting all the wonders of nature you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Nonni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Nonni Iceland/Hella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing